Posted

Need to do a supporter piece of long standing members/supporters "To Hell and back".  I reckon it would have a lot more relevance than players/club telling us they are hurting and ready to atone BS.  Bullish about this years prospects but i really don't believe as yet the players  do everything in their power to win.  They don't quite know what is required as yet. Until they can execute under pressure, the inexplicable losses vs an inferior opponent after a good win, the brain fades when a team is coming at us hard, the skill errors from lack of concentration will continue.  Hopefully we click this year, the excuses/reasons for failure is becoming unpalatable for a lot of supporters....our team should be good enough to compete for finals.  No excuses Demons, demand higher standards of each other, be accountable, do whatever it takes to win.... It is what good teams do!

Posted
2 hours ago, Lord Nev said:

Agree. I mean really, the thing people are complaining about is just the name. The actual production itself was fantastic.

Likely the same people that complained about it are the same ones we see hear complaining that the club's media department don't do enough and our website sucks and there's never enough marketing/communication...

We're all a bit sick of predictions that come to nothing. Lines in the sand etc.

We just want to see action on the field not words off it.

By all means do a video on pre-season and how the clubs ' new players are settling in , just give away the stuff about about 'the players are hurting just like the fans' etc. Its meaningless and just sets them up for ridicule.

Posted
1 hour ago, jnrmac said:

We're all a bit sick of predictions that come to nothing. Lines in the sand etc.

We just want to see action on the field not words off it.

By all means do a video on pre-season and how the clubs ' new players are settling in , just give away the stuff about about 'the players are hurting just like the fans' etc. Its meaningless and just sets them up for ridicule.

I don't disagree mate, but I don't recall seeing any predictions in "To Hell And Back"? I think a lot of people got a bit caught up in the title, whereas the actual content was more factual and documentary style, rather than a promotional piece full of promises.

Posted
9 hours ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

I know many will say "thank god" but I'm a bit disappointed the club hasn't continue this this offseason. Was a great entree to the season and had some good insights for fans. I wish they had the balls to say get stuffed to the detractors and just do what they want to do.

There's your title

Posted
3 hours ago, Lord Nev said:

I don't disagree mate, but I don't recall seeing any predictions in "To Hell And Back"? I think a lot of people got a bit caught up in the title, whereas the actual content was more factual and documentary style, rather than a promotional piece full of promises.

The facts are that in 2020, even after making the Documentary of the preseason, when the season was on the line, with our destiny in our own hands, both the Players and The Club failed to step up to the line. 
we get lost when under serious pressure.  That trait has been around for the 50 years i have watched the club. Many have tried to remedy the situation, none have been successful, yet. 

Posted
9 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

The facts are that in 2020, even after making the Documentary of the preseason, when the season was on the line, with our destiny in our own hands, both the Players and The Club failed to step up to the line. 
we get lost when under serious pressure.  That trait has been around for the 50 years i have watched the club. Many have tried to remedy the situation, none have been successful, yet. 

Completely agree mate, but that's got nothing to do with my point that "To Hell And Back" was really well made and interesting to watch though...

Posted
1 minute ago, Lord Nev said:

Completely agree mate, but that's got nothing to do with my point that "To Hell And Back" was really well made and interesting to watch though...

Yes it was fascinating, but hollow. Because nothing changed. That is why many supporters don’t trust the Club  

Posted (edited)

I heard somewhere that Eddie was trying to get a show just like it up for all teams, being as there is a huge market and 5 months scheduling free. A reality TV kinda thing, you know: "Meanwhile, out at Casey, yet another injury setback has the coaches scrambling to fill key positions blokes from the local pub." Cut to Goody interviewing bloated bogan couldabeens over a parma and pot...

Anyone else heard that?

Edited by Grr-owl
Bad gramr and spieling.

Posted
8 hours ago, Grr-owl said:

I heard somewhere that Eddie was trying to get a show just like it up for all teams, being as there is a huge market and 5 months scheduling free. A reality TV kinda thing, you know: "Meanwhile, out at Casey, yet another injury setback has the coaches scrambling to fill key positions blokes from the local pub." Cut to Goody interviewing bloated bogan couldabeens over a parma and pot...

Anyone else heard that?

There's a doco that's going to be on Amazon prime in the next week or so with a behind the scenes look at last season. I think there's 4 main people involved, Eddie Betts, Richmond's Pres (Peggy) and two rivers who I can't recall. Should be worth watching.

Posted
9 hours ago, layzie said:

Definitely had hell but not much back

Maybe it means going to Hell and then going back to Hell. We’ve definitely done that

Posted
7 hours ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

There's a doco that's going to be on Amazon prime in the next week or so with a behind the scenes look at last season. I think there's 4 main people involved, Eddie Betts, Richmond's Pres (Peggy) and two rivers who I can't recall. Should be worth watching.

Murray and Darling?

Posted
14 hours ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

If it's anything like The Test (the doco made following the Australian cricket team), it'll definitely be worth watching. And with the richest man in the world in charge of Amazon, you don't need to feel too guilty using a free first month subscription on it.

Posted
12 hours ago, Dee man said:

If it's anything like The Test (the doco made following the Australian cricket team), it'll definitely be worth watching. And with the richest man in the world in charge of Amazon, you don't need to feel too guilty using a free first month subscription on it.

Yeah theres some other great sports docos on there (the All or Nothing series) one was on the Aussie cricket team, theres a few following around NFL and EPL teams for a season as well. Would be great to get an MFC dedicated one, great publicity for clubs like ours. I think Eddie was already trying to get a Collingwood one up and running but they've obviously gone with a more generic one first time up.

• 3 months later...
Posted

BUMP

Watching ‘To Hell and Back’ after 12 rounds, it all makes sense, you can see so many links between what was documented in the series and the way we have played this year. My biggest takeaway is that there are elements you cannot control, like COVID and luck will always be a factor. But after watching it again and comparing to what we have seen this year, it has improved with age. (-;

Watching episode #2 with the recruiting and the post match Roos practice game definitely gave chills - have a watch again, you will definitely enjoy it more a second time.

The only sad bit is that Bennell didn’t work out…