Posted

Was Michael Pickering delisted at the end of 1993?

Also was Andy Goodwin?

Can someone tell me why they went?

Thanks

Posted

Both went at the end of 93.

Reasons? I'm guessing a bit of age (both were 30) and a bit of making room for younger guys coming through

Posted
With respect to both lads, I reckon they might have been delisted because they weren't good enough.

I'm pretty sure Michael Pickering at least was shot in terms of his body being able to withstand the rigours of footy. I think it was his knees. Just as an aside, both Goodwin and Pickering joined the Dees in 92 from Richmond and finished their careers in 93. I think we got them both for trading "Strawbs" O'Dwyer.... back in the days when teams didn't really research as heavily into player injuries as they do now.

Posted

Ah i see thanks all..

I have this dvd of old footy and Andy Goodwin is on it getting hit by a Crows player and then swinging punches in a reserves game against North Melbourne.

Posted

Both went at the end of 93.

Reasons? I'm guessing a bit of age (both were 30) and a bit of making room for younger guys coming through

Michael Pickering was a very good footballer & played a few good games for us. Unfortunately his body didn't stand up too well & injuries got the better of him.

Goodwin was a bit of a cross between a Nicho & Ferguson - a reserves footballer who is a ok as a backup for a few games a year.

Posted

Goodwin was a football thug who would not survive a season in the AFL these days. Limited skill but had absolutely no fear for the contest or the fight. A fitness fanatic and one of the hardest trainers around. Just bugger all skill. Perfect fit for one of Sheedy's hit men.

Finished off in the VFA/VFL where he regularly intimidated opponents by his presence and his less than angelic treatment of them.

Possibly still playing today somewhere where he would certainly belt the opposition........if he could catch up with them!

Posted

Goodwin was well respected in Tassie football circles, remembering he was here when we had a fledging statewide competition.

By respect I don't mean respect born from fear, rather respect for his work in lifting Devonport from consistant loser, to a very very good side, which some considered unlucky not to win a flag.

I spoke with Goodwin a few times after matches, as hard as he was on the field, he wasn't as silly as some made him out to be.

• 1 year later...
Posted

"I have this dvd of old footy and Andy Goodwin is on it getting hit by a Crows player and then swinging punches in a reserves game against North Melbourne."

Aaahhhh! Andy Goodwin.

He belted Rod Grinter once while playing for Richmond.

I think it was retaliation for Grinter belting Pickering.

The Adelaide player was probably Nigel Smart (No 5).

We beat them at Football Park that day. Jacka kicked 5 including one out of the ground.

I was on the same plane as the players back to Tullamarine

Goodwin's face was lopsided with swelling from Smart's hit which floored him.

Andy played a big part in our win that day.

I can only remember us winning there v Adelaide one other time.

Was it when Schwarz tapped out to an unmarked Leoncelli to steal the game?

Posted
Goodwin was well respected in Tassie football circles, remembering he was here when we had a fledging statewide competition.

Yep Sleeve. I remember as a kid as a mad North Hobart supporter, quite a few beltings at the hands of Goodwin's Devonport side. I had no idea he had played for the Dees until fairly recently. Popular opinion around these parts (land/ology) was that he was a thug with no skill. From watching him in the TFL when I was young, that's not how I remember him at all. He was the player you had to stop if you wanted your side to win.

Posted

Yeah wouldn't quite call him a thug, just pushed the boundaries as far as they could possibly go.

Certainly not the most skillful guy going around but got the most out of his body and was playing last year even for Yarra Glen (his reckless playing style finally got the better of him and he's had to give it away cos of a couple of bung knees)

Posted

That was over there, and we won the game, yeah.

I still remember that play.

Posted
Goodwin was a football thug who would not survive a season in the AFL these days. Limited skill but had absolutely no fear for the contest or the fight. A fitness fanatic and one of the hardest trainers around. Just bugger all skill. Perfect fit for one of Sheedy's hit men.

Actually talking to someone today, apparently the Melbourne players used to have bets between themselves as to how many players he would knock out in the first 5 minutes during games in which the coach picked him solely to hit people.

2 funniest memories I have of him are our runner and 2 trainers restraining him from jumping the fence to attack a member of the crowd and then in a match the opposition flattened a kid playing his first senior game before the bounce so Andy ran around the centre square (so he wouldn't give a free kick away) with his fist raised above his head. The bloke saw him coming and fell to the ground, ump turned round and thought Gooders had hit him and automatically yellow-carded him (local footy has a soccer type card system)

• 2 months later...
Posted
Actually talking to someone today, apparently the Melbourne players used to have bets between themselves as to how many players he would knock out in the first 5 minutes during games in which the coach picked him solely to hit people.

2 funniest memories I have of him are our runner and 2 trainers restraining him from jumping the fence to attack a member of the crowd and then in a match the opposition flattened a kid playing his first senior game before the bounce so Andy ran around the centre square (so he wouldn't give a free kick away) with his fist raised above his head. The bloke saw him coming and fell to the ground, ump turned round and thought Gooders had hit him and automatically yellow-carded him (local footy has a soccer type card system)

:lol:

Posted
"I have this dvd of old footy and Andy Goodwin is on it getting hit by a Crows player and then swinging punches in a reserves game against North Melbourne."

Aaahhhh! Andy Goodwin.

He belted Rod Grinter once while playing for Richmond.

I think it was retaliation for Grinter belting Pickering.

The Adelaide player was probably Nigel Smart (No 5).

We beat them at Football Park that day. Jacka kicked 5 including one out of the ground.

I was on the same plane as the players back to Tullamarine

Goodwin's face was lopsided with swelling from Smart's hit which floored him.

Andy played a big part in our win that day.

I think it was Michael Murphy for the crows last minute of game

Posted
:lol:

Although the second one was infuriating at the team looking back on it I don't think I've ever seen a more comical thing happen on a football field.

Now if only someone had videoed it . . .

:P

• 1 month later...
Posted
Although the second one was infuriating at the team looking back on it I don't think I've ever seen a more comical thing happen on a football field.

Now if only someone had videoed it . . .

:P

haha gold ! :lol:

do you have any other stories you'd like to share on the great man ?

Posted
haha gold ! :lol:

do you have any other stories you'd like to share on the great man ?

There's a few, but that was by far the funniest along with him jumping the fence to chase a spectator who said something about his daughter.

Apparently he's made a return to footy (again) this year for Yarra Glenn.

Funnily enough he was one of the most laid back blokes off the field you'll ever meet and if you saw him in the street you'd have no hesitation in going up and saying hi. But on the field lol . . .