Posted (edited)
15 minutes ago, RalphiusMaximus said:

Is Parish sill behind Oliver? 

His last three games have been good, apart from that he’s been mostly average. Still has a while to go to catch Oliver. He’s definitely come a long way though, much more composed. 

Edited by Ethan Tremblay

Posted
1 minute ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

How’s the bruises on Fantasia’s arm from Stratton pinching him? Bizarre from Stratton. 

Reckon we can expect to see a lot of that vision during the week.

Hawks looking pretty cooked now with him as captain 

Posted
17 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

How’s the bruises on Fantasia’s arm from Stratton pinching him? Bizarre from Stratton. 

That’s dog act and even worse that’s being done by a captain.  Team’s getting well beaten and you’re sneaking around pinching your opponent. Inspiring.

Posted
19 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

If you did that at suburban level football you would end up on the ground with your nose all over your face. 

Posted
22 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

Disgusting. Afl needs to fine him and it’ll be done

Posted
4 minutes ago, Earl Hood said:

If you did that at suburban level football you would end up on the ground with your nose all over your face. 

Totally. You’d be drinking meals through a straw for 6 weeks. I would hope if Stratton did that to one of our lads Viney and Melksham would send him home with a broken rib or three. 

Posted
38 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

Saw that at Casey when Jurrah was FF.  His opponent was trying to get a rise out of him.  Jurrah just ignored everything he tried.  You could see him think it over, then reach out and pinch his arm just to see if he got anything.  Jurrah didn't even twitch, so he gave up. 

Posted (edited)
30 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Stratton will be a marked man now. 

What a weak act

Brown and Gold Crap ? 

I still have mental images of him in our 2018 heavy loss to them with that arrogant gloating grin saying crap to our forwards. It's just the pathetic left over dregs of that premiership era on display now. They could bully but back it up with scintillating footy, but now it's just bullying without any bite. Garbage captain.

Edited by John Demonic
Posted (edited)
50 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

It's bizarre indeed 'Ethan'...

What was even more bizarre is the umpire who just laughed when Stratton was slapping Cameron's arms a couple of weeks back.

All this could have been stopped there & then if the giggling (rhymes with dog) had of paid a free kick.

So now what happens if the opponent starts to pinch back or slap arms back, the game will look sillier than it already is.

...but that's what I would do, pinch him back twice as hard and maybe give him a nip twister for his trouble.

Edited by rjay
Posted

Umpires are so gormless. Instead of trying to be the players' mate, they should be tough and crack down on this rubbish. And the AFL are always rattling on about the look of the game. This is childish behaviour from Stratton and he should be treated like a child. Punish him. Pay a free kick against him and if he protests or gives some lip, pay 50 meters against him. Tell him if he keeps doing it, he will be reported. Umpires need to grow some and take control sometimes. This can be stopped easily but no one shows any initiative or any guts to stand up to these smart guy players. 

Posted

It is fair dinkum always Hawthorn with this rubbish. Always. Their argument will be there's nothing in the rule books stopping it. They've been bending the rules of the game for as long as they've been in the game.

Next time someone's in a marking contest with this peanut, if the balls going over the back, pull his [censored] pants down so he can't run, and away you go. Anything in the rule book about that? Make him look as stupid as his haircut does. Oops, am I allowed to say that?

Posted

Have tactics like these always been a habit of Stratton’s? Probably gone under the radar in the past, but nowhere to hide now when you’re a captain of a club. 

Posted
11 hours ago, RalphiusMaximus said:

Is Parish sill behind Oliver? 

Yes.  By a long, long way.

Posted

Suns in Townsville today... one would think they would start conditioning for their move to Tasmania.

Pity the Saints... Shanghai one week... Townsville the next albeit with the bye

Time to move to a 17 game season and remove these fixturing oddities.

Posted

A nice 27 degree day in townsville. Why are they playing there? 

If I saw Viney or Jones standing there wasting energy on pinching an opponent I'd be annoyed. Even though it was an essendon player being pinched does hurt and the bruises on his arm looked nasty. Apparently Stratton did the same the week before on Charlie Cameron. 

Posted
4 minutes ago, dees189227 said:

AFL...

apparently this is the 40th venue at which the saints have played over the years.

On the fixture I have gradually become in favour of 17 rounds... two byes per team (split to four games a week ) plus a bye of desired for State of Origin.

Would not reduce the TV returns and I suspect would increase average attendances dramatically in Melbourne.

Posted
1 minute ago, dees189227 said:

If I saw Viney or Jones standing there wasting energy on pinching an opponent I'd be annoyed. Even though it was an essendon player being pinched does hurt and the bruises on his arm looked nasty. Apparently Stratton did the same the week before on Charlie Cameron. 

They’ve got to suspend him for a week and send out a memo to all clubs that it won’t be tolerated. Why can’t the goal umpires who have plenty of time and opportunity to observe these incidents simply inform the field umpire at any given interval, or put them in the book themselves? How hard is it? 

It’s not just pinching which causes visible bruises, either. Defenders do it to the areas of the midfriff which are hidden by the guernsey and it is extremely painful. It’s not part of the game at all and frankly constitutes assault. Raking studs on the back of a player’s legs and ankles is the other one umpires often do nothing about. That should be punished as well. In suburban footy these are the types of dog acts which cause a player to swing an elbow into a jaw or punch some ribs in frustration. Then we blame that bloke for lashing out. 

Outlaw it all and throw the book at any kind of thuggery that doesn’t have any place in modern footy. It’s not tough, it’s not brave and it’s not in the spirit of the game. Stratton needs to ask himself this morning - “would I have done it to Tex Walker or Buddy?” Of course not. Pull your head in then.