Posted
5 minutes ago, david_neitz_is_my_dad said:

It's a good team on paper. I'll say that much.

Posted

Backline looks great

Midfield strong

Forward line OK

Im in the “confusion room” when it comes to Spargo remaining in after last weeks game? Can’t kick, can’t tackle, can’t mark, can’t score, cant get his hands on the footy. maybe good in the future but this is 2019 not 2022. I’d have Any of the emergencies before young Charlie, hell I might even have JKH

Posted
19 minutes ago, Sargent Shultz said:

Im in the “confusion room” when it comes to Spargo remaining in after last weeks game? Can’t kick, can’t tackle, can’t mark, can’t score, cant get his hands on the footy.

I agree although it was one of Spargo's better games, Lockhard has been better and more productive all year and all of the emergencies left out have been better than him as well as C Wagner and Sparrow. Someone seems to want to give Spargo a career he has not earned.

Posted
23 minutes ago, Sargent Shultz said:

Backline looks great

Midfield strong

Forward line OK

Im in the “confusion room” when it comes to Spargo remaining in after last weeks game? Can’t kick, can’t tackle, can’t mark, can’t score, cant get his hands on the footy. maybe good in the future but this is 2019 not 2022. I’d have Any of the emergencies before young Charlie, hell I might even have JKH

Spargo STILL IN????? FMD

Posted (edited)
8 minutes ago, Deehumanizing said:

I agree although it was one of Spargo's better games, Lockhard has been better and more productive all year and all of the emergencies left out have been better than him as well as C Wagner and Sparrow. Someone seems to want to give Spargo a career he has not earned.

Speechless! I just do not get it! Surely surely ANB, jkh and Billy Stretch are more deserving of a game??

I actually thought JKH coming back after extended layoff was not too bad!

Totally mystifying!!

Posted
6 minutes ago, picket fence said:

Speechless! I just do not get it! Surely surely ANB, jkh and Billy Stretch are more deserving of a game??

Totally mystifying!!

When the delisted list comes out in 3 months, will you be bemoaning JKH and Stretch being on it and not Spargo?

Posted
1 minute ago, John Demonic said:

When the delisted list comes out in 3 months, will you be bemoaning JKH and Stretch being on it and not Spargo?

Yep!

Posted
Just now, picket fence said:

Yep!

I advise you watch the 3rd quarter of the Semi final, Hawthorn vs Melbourne, 2018 stat.

Posted (edited)
52 minutes ago, Sargent Shultz said:

Backline looks great

Midfield strong

Forward line OK

I suggest that you stay in the "confusion room" until things become clear to you. Trust you recover soon, take the meds, (and can actually post again with some degree of attention to how a proper sentence is written and punctuated btw). Another Spargo basher who is writing off a second year player. And love your dumb Nazi monicker to boot.

Edited by maximum bob
spelling
Posted (edited)
5 minutes ago, picket fence said:

Yep!

Odd. Anyway my point is that Spargo is in his 2nd year and needs to be played in a big game to see if he can flourish and how that will aid his development. We haven't seen his ceiling. The other two have had enough chances and have shown a very low ceiling imo.

Edited by John Demonic
Posted
13 minutes ago, picket fence said:

Totally mystifying!!

Best team we’ve put onto the park all season and you still complain. Just once I’d like to read something positive from you Picket - and not that you are “positive” that Oscar will be back in the ones next week.

Posted
1 minute ago, maximum bob said:

Trust you recover soon, take the meds, (and can actually post again with some degree of attention to how a proper sentence is written and punctuated btw). 

Whoever wrote this should not be lecturing anyone on punctuation. 

3 minutes ago, Chook said:

I advise you watch the 3rd quarter of the Semi final, Hawthorn vs Melbourne, 2018 stat.

What is your point rather than getting others to research something. What are we meant to look for? I watched the game why do you think it is relevant now?

4 minutes ago, John Demonic said:

We haven't seen his ceiling.

We have seen enough of his floor and more is not a help now. The team needs to get use to being competitive rather than giving a guy games in hope for the future. He has not been good all year and most of last year. The only reason to play Spargo now is to increase his trade value, which means we are tanking.

Posted (edited)
3 minutes ago, Deehumanizing said:

We have seen enough of his floor and more is not a help now. The team needs to get use to being competitive rather than giving a guy games in hope for the future. He has not been good all year and most of last year. The only reason to play Spargo now is to increase his trade value, which means we are tanking.

Spargo played well last year, he was an important link up cog between the mids and forwards. Jeffy was dropped last year all year, which shows you how Goodwin values that kind of link up player that plays a role. He's not playing as well this year, as he hasn't had enough quality around him to be that icing on the cake player. I think he will get better as the team gets stronger personally. I guess we have differing opinions on his value last year.

Edited by John Demonic

Posted

Hogan for Spargo and we’d have our strongest team ON PAPER in the last 20 years.

We’re a strong chance on Monday

Posted
28 minutes ago, Neil Crompton said:

Best team we’ve put onto the park all season and you still complain. Just once I’d like to read something positive from you Picket - and not that you are “positive” that Oscar will be back in the ones next week.

Best team put on the park would have been improved but for..... What?? Blind faith?

Nar sorry cannot go with this! 

Posted
22 hours ago, Nasher said:

Final bench for mine would be Hibberd, Weideman, Garlett and Spargo. 

In: Lever, May, Hore, Salem

Out: Kennedy-Harris, O.McDonald, Stretch, J.Wagner

Goody may go with Preuss instead of Spargo, but I don’t think so.

Against Grundy and Cox, surely Preuss plays

And Spargo FFS how is he still in? Would take ANB, Stretch or JKH any day over Spargo

Posted
19 minutes ago, John Demonic said:

Spargo played well last year, he was an important link up cog between the mids and forwards. Jeffy was dropped last year all year, which shows you how Goodwin values that kind of link up player that plays a role. He's not playing as well this year, as he hasn't had enough quality around him to be that icing on the cake player. I think he will get better as the team gets stronger personally. I guess we have differing opinions on his value last year.

Cheezus H Christmas

Cannot kick beyond 35-40 m

Cannot mark

Is slower than a wet week in Melb

Cannot stick a tackle

Doesn't t hit the scoreboard

Really ???

Posted
51 minutes ago, maximum bob said:

I suggest that you stay in the "confusion room" until things become clear to you. Trust you recover soon, take the meds, (and can actually post again with some degree of attention to how a proper sentence is written and punctuated btw). Another Spargo basher who is writing off a second year player. And love your dumb Nazi monicker to boot.

Hmmmm, seems quite a few people on this thread agree with my POV. I think good grammar is optional, especially when typing on an iPad. May be time to change the SS monicker now Hogan has gone. Rather than have a go at me, how about explaining to everyone else why Spargo should  be in the team- enlighten us all with your wisdom and amazing grasp of the English language. 

Posted
25 minutes ago, picket fence said:

Cheezus H Christmas

Cannot kick beyond 35-40 m

Cannot mark

Is slower than a wet week in Melb

Cannot stick a tackle

Doesn't t hit the scoreboard

Really ???

So what?? 

Posted
2 hours ago, david_neitz_is_my_dad said:

Looks a well balanced side.

I reckon it could be one of those rare occasions where they line up as selected. I hope Fritter plays on the wing. I like the idea of Fritter on one wing and the ginger ninja on the other.

Posted

I'm not sure if anyone on this website listens to the Deebrief podcast but this week just gone they interviewed Fritsch and he named Spargo as one of the best leaders at the club. So that may go some way as to explaining why he is still in the team. 

Posted

Spargo is fine. Has earned his place, certainly in relation to the other small forwards down there. Not to mention, not sure who he's keeping out ... Bedford?

Team looks solid, just missing Melksham and Jetta for mine, Vandenberg would be handy as well.