32 minutes ago, deefella said:

If we can’t get Gaff, I’m all for Hannerbery on the proviso his injury situation can be resolved??

other player I reckon we should keep a close eye on:

Fasolo( another pending injury situation)

Dalhaus

Sam Wright

Dayne Beams( you just never know)

anymore FA please inform?

I put a big list a page or two back

The perfect two recruits based on where we are now would be Steven may and Andrew gaff. 

Instead of Gaff, I'd consider McGovern or Liberatore over Gaff. We need another defender so McGovern could be FB with Lever off HB. Or Liba, Oliver, Brayshaw, Viney,....WOW! 

Edited by Panamapapers

I think the nature of our losses this year indicate demonstrate how valuable Gaff could be. 

He covers a lot of ground and is regularly in the eagles top runners.  That two way effort is something we miss.  It was visible in the last play against the cats,  it was massive against the saints and has played a part regularly as we watch teams stream past us and we don't follow. 

Put him in for JKH and we win this week. 

We need to be all in. 

Edited by deanox

44 minutes ago, deanox said:

I think the nature of our losses this year indicate demonstrate how valuable Gaff could be. 

He covers a lot of ground and is regularly in the eagles top runners.  That two way effort is something we miss.  It was visible in the last play against the cats,  it was massive against the saints and has played a part regularly as we watch teams stream past us and we don't follow. 

Put him in for JKH and we win this week. 

We need to be all in. 

not sure how many times it needs to be said but gaffs defensive game is a weakness, not a strength. i'd much prefer steven may. the peace of having oscar mcdonald either at casey or on the 2nd best tall would add years to my life

Wow Libba (son of Tony) leaving the dogs.  Have not heard that.  

Do we need another inside mid?

its gaff gaff gaff for me

go get our man back from the west

8 hours ago, Dr.D said:

not sure how many times it needs to be said but gaffs defensive game is a weakness, not a strength. i'd much prefer steven may. the peace of having oscar mcdonald either at casey or on the 2nd best tall would add years to my life

This is nonsensical.

"Gaffs defense isn't good enough so get Steven May" as if they play similar positions. 

Add Lever and Hibberd back into the side and our back 6 are fine.

We play a zoning defence that requires all the defenders to leave their man and run up the field to defend/hold up/pressure/spoil the next free player, while the midfield is meant to push back hard to cover the overlap that is created. 

Our problem is not defenders.  The best one on one defender in the competition will lose the majority of contests when one out and unassisted by team mates and OMac is a good zone defender. 

Our problem is two way running by midfielders who are meant to run back hard to cover space and run back hard with their direct opponent to make sure that don't pop up out the back. Our mids don't cover this kind of ground they only run forwards. We don't need Gaff to defend,  we need him to gut run. 

PS you're not going to get much peace because Omac will be in this side for the next 5-10 years unless he asks to be traded. The quicker you accept that, the easier watching footy will be!

Edited by deanox

On 7/16/2018 at 10:29 PM, rjay said:

Think outside the box...look for up and comers on the fringe at other clubs, don't just recycle the same names.

Trade our not getting a games or what we have surplus of & trade for needs...

Look to trade in to the first round with a package of players.

Vandenberg, Bugg, JKH or Tyson for a young defender (21-23yo) - have a look at Brisbane, Freo, Carlton, Dogs needs and their defenders.

Plus Gaff. 

Edited by H_T

Good theory today is that they’ll now let Gaff go as a free agent and use that compo pick - which will be after their first rounder - to get the homesick Tim Kelly from the puddy tatts

7 hours ago, chook fowler said:

We need to secure Gus before worrying about anyone else.

I agree. It would be good to get that deal done soon. 

Gaff or May would be a suitable target after that - providing their clubs don't match our deals and force a trade. I am not certain we have much currency in trade terms. Tyson may not even land us a second round pick. Who else do we move on that is of value? 

If you could replace a potential retiring Vince with Hannebery would you do it?

Would you upgrade Tyson for David Swallow?

What about replacing a Frost with Steven May? Would you find a way?

Lewis for Gaff? Jordan to the box

20 minutes ago, MSFebey said:

If you could replace a potential retiring Vince with Hannebery would you do it?

Would you upgrade Tyson for David Swallow?

What about replacing a Frost with Steven May? Would you find a way?

Lewis for Gaff? Jordan to the box

All upgrades, but not sure we have the leverage to get them all, or even most of them

9 minutes ago, Moonshadow said:

All upgrades, but not sure we have the leverage to get them all, or even most of them

2/4 possible but yes agree, but wouldn’t that be a team and a half with those additions 

On 7/23/2018 at 8:48 AM, deanox said:

This is nonsensical.

"Gaffs defense isn't good enough so get Steven May" as if they play similar positions. 

Add Lever and Hibberd back into the side and our back 6 are fine.

We play a zoning defence that requires all the defenders to leave their man and run up the field to defend/hold up/pressure/spoil the next free player, while the midfield is meant to push back hard to cover the overlap that is created. 

Our problem is not defenders.  The best one on one defender in the competition will lose the majority of contests when one out and unassisted by team mates and OMac is a good zone defender. 

Our problem is two way running by midfielders who are meant to run back hard to cover space and run back hard with their direct opponent to make sure that don't pop up out the back. Our mids don't cover this kind of ground they only run forwards. We don't need Gaff to defend,  we need him to gut run. 

PS you're not going to get much peace because Omac will be in this side for the next 5-10 years unless he asks to be traded. The quicker you accept that, the easier watching footy will be!

i recognise that they are different players and different positions. but i never said i wanted an outside accumulator that is soft and unaccountable defensively.  I'd much prefer a key defender for obvious reasons. 

if anything we need speed through the midfield. the pies exposed us for leg speed when we played them. guys like stephenson, degoey, hoskin elliott just embarassed us on the spread so the last person i'd want is gaff. pretty sure he couldn't run 20m in 3s. he's quite slow.

One idea for a KPD is a cheap stop-gap recruitment for the next 1 or 2 years like Lynden Dunn was. I'm thinking a player like Heath Grundy or even Harry Taylor who have found themselves on the outer in the past two weeks.

If Vince retires, Lewis is more injury prone and Lever the re-injury risk im sorry to say will be for a year or two, another senior player could be useful. Though age is your obvious barrier. I'm just not sure there are any experienced 26+ year old defenders out there who are a temporary upgrade on Frost/Omac if we can't afford Steven May.

Edited by johndemonic

We need guys that can run hard all day and dispose of the pill. The best in the league at the moment are Gaff and Whitfield. Given Gaff is a potential free agent we need to go hard.

Hawthorn outsmarted us this year by not getting first possession and sitting back waiting for the likes of ANB, Bugg and Tyson to turn it over. 

We need quality ball carriers!

16 hours ago, bingers said:

No chance of getting Gaff.

If I was WC I would be throwing a truckload of cash at Patrick Cripps....a WA boy.

...that means letting Gaff go and we are in the box seat.

26 minutes ago, rjay said:

If I was WC I would be throwing a truckload of cash at Patrick Cripps....a WA boy.

If they lose Cripps, they're [censored]. Curnow is going to be a good player, but they need to get the ball to him.

I actually think along with North and potentially the Bulldogs, Carlton are the club that could well fold in the next two decades, unless things improve.

Bizarre given they've still won the most flags, but they're in real trouble.

I hope West Coast get him.

22 minutes ago, rjay said:

It will be interesting to see if Kelly extends at Cats. If not he could be targeted by Eagles with a compo pick for Gaff. Kelly would be far cheaper than Gaff and would help Eagles salary cap.

1 hour ago, A F said:

If they lose Cripps, they're [censored]. Curnow is going to be a good player, but they need to get the ball to him.

I actually think along with North and potentially the Bulldogs, Carlton are the club that could well fold in the next two decades, unless things improve.

Bizarre given they've still won the most flags, but they're in real trouble.

I hope West Coast get him.

Cripps has just today signed an extension...