10 minutes ago, Whispering_Jack said:

The injury to Jack Viney for what looks like several weeks at the pointy end of the season is a definite blow to the club. 

Viney to miss round 17 clash

He’s not an easy player to replace.

Every game Jack Viney plays from now on will be a bonus in my opinion, whether it’s foot or toe, it is obvious he has changed the way he walks/runs which will cause “hot spots”

Edited by Sir Why You Little

Goodwin said something about the scan showing some activity again in the area he had trouble with last time.

Not good at all and such a pity that he will (in all probability) not get a chance to renew hostilities with Duckwood. 

he'll be managed to the best of the ability of the club. In many way's he still coming back from the foot injury and their may be some flare ups in the short term and hopefully it settles down over time?  I rather him miss games know and knock it on the head early for the long term.

Will miss him vs the Cats and Crows but can easily beat both even without Viney and Lever.

Reckon he might come back vs Gold Coast, if not he will play vs Sydney.

18 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Every game Jack Viney plays from now on will be a bonus in my opinion, whether it’s foot or toe, it is obvious he has changed the way he walks/runs which will cause “hot spots”

I take it you are a doctor or sports science specialist treating him???

Nice bit of hyperbole WYL.

18 minutes ago, monoccular said:

get a chance to renew hostilities with Duckwood. 

Sadly I believe the entire Geelong midfield will have taken off the adult nappies, something about them really turns Viney into a hunter, was looking forward to him smashing them. ?

Just now, Moonshadow said:

No, personal experience Moonie

The big question for mine is who slots into his position going forward.

Do we do a 'like for like' swap and bring Tyson straight in?

Do we push a flanker (ie Harmes) into the middle long term and go for someone like Bugg (just an example) to play that flank role?

Do we take someone from a back flank like Salem and give him more midfield time?

While it's a big blow to lose him, I think we can be creative in covering for it without losing too much on field.  We did win plenty of games earlier in the season without him and there is no reason why we can't continue to do that.

26 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

It may have changed how he runs, but it hasn't changed the way he plays which is terrific.  If they decide to put him on ice for the season then I'm confident he can return in 2019 and recapture his best form.

11 minutes ago, Dee Zephyr said:

Have we got a nickname for Spargo yet?

Brilliant third quarter, strong tackles, nice running goal.

There was some very good understanding between him and Garlett throughout the game around our forward 50. 

Spartacus, the (legendary) rebellious Roman gladiator

2 minutes ago, Wiseblood said:

The big question for mine is who slots into his position going forward.

Do we do a 'like for like' swap and bring Tyson straight in?

Do we push a flanker (ie Harmes) into the middle long term and go for someone like Bugg (just an example) to play that flank role?

Do we take someone from a back flank like Salem and give him more midfield time?

While it's a big blow to lose him, I think we can be creative in covering for it without losing too much on field.  We did win plenty of games earlier in the season without him and there is no reason why we can't continue to do that.

Has to be Tyson

We've got team balance just right and has to just be like for like.

Definitely leave Salem where he is - he was fantastic today.

I'd like Bugg back anyway - we are better with him.

Just now, Wiseblood said:

It may have changed how he runs, but it hasn't changed the way he plays which is terrific.  If they decide to put him on ice for the season then I'm confident he can return in 2019 and recapture his best form.

Maybe. But it will be game by game management. 

Foot problems don’t go away usually, they are managed. That i know from personal experience. Putting loads through different parts of a foot are always going to cause problems even for regular folk, loads on a footy players feet would be off the dial, so i will enjoy each game he plays

4 minutes ago, Undeeterred said:

Has to be Tyson

We've got team balance just right and has to just be like for like.

Definitely leave Salem where he is - he was fantastic today.

I'd like Bugg back anyway - we are better with him.

You would think Tyson gets first crack, but the one knock on him is that he hasn't exactly set the world alight this season.  They may feel like doing something a little different to see if they can cover it better.

4 minutes ago, monoccular said:

Spartacus, the (legendary) rebellious Roman gladiator

I posted in the post match thread and I’m assuming you quoted me there...so how does your reply end up on the Viney thread? Am I seeing things mono?

1 minute ago, Dee Zephyr said:

I posted in the post match thread and I’m assuming you quoted me there...so how does your reply end up on the Viney thread? Am I seeing things mono?

No idea how that crossed threads.  Maybe some confused umpire has hacked this site looking for his betting site?

13 minutes ago, Moonshadow said:

Irony is that Mr. Hyperbole wouldn't have let Viney return so quickly after plantar fascia surgery in 2017.

You reap what you sew.  I don't feel sorry for the club or Viney with this foot saga.  Totally preventable.

It doesn't matter who we bring in, we won't get anything near like for like for Jack. This just sucks, a massive blow.

Tyson is logical, maybe Vandenberg might be an option in a few weeks when he builds form.  Whoever it is won't be close to Jack. 

Went to goshes today for a kick with my son and a couple of his mates.  All of us as soon as we walked onto the oval commented on how hard the ground was.

14 minutes ago, TGR said:

Irony is that Mr. Hyperbole wouldn't have let Viney return so quickly after plantar fascia surgery in 2017.

You reap what you sew.  I don't feel sorry for the club or Viney with this foot saga.  Totally preventable.

Sadly i agree Mr TGR. 

You can never rush a foot injury. The weight going through it, will always find the weak spots

Edited by Sir Why You Little

1 hour ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Settle down mate, they are not taking his leg. 

Why are people saying Tyson will replace Viney, he was overlooked as a late in and Hannan played instead .

Edited by Petraccattack