Posted
11 minutes ago, Uncle Fester said:

The last couple of weeks remind me of the 87 finals. For a brief, but glorious, moment the sun shone on everything we did. What a time to be a demon.

I reckon this will be a longer and more profitable journey.

I have that very same feeling Uncle. 

At that time we all enjoyed Robbie finally being part of a (Winning) side. 

Today it is just so satisfying that Chunk, loyal to the core, is doing his thing amongst a talented group and enjoying  the team success that he has earned and craved. 

In footy, as in life, persistence pays. 

Posted
4 hours ago, Jaded said:

I’m literally still shook from this win. Shook to my core. 

Woke up at 6:30am in Paris. Went to get a croissant and a terrible coffee then sat and watched the game (on a terrible WiFi connection that froze sporadically), and literally could not believe what I was seeing. This was a team and a game I have not seen before. It was actually perfect. The way we played, our skill execution, our spread. Unbelievable. 

I think finally we are September bound!!!

Btw, Viney is a dead set freak. He was phenomenal in only his second match back. Beast mode well and truly activated. 

Bad coffee, dodgy wifi. Nothing sadder than a former first world country.

Posted

I see a lot of similarities with the Lions circa 2001. Indifferent start to the season but showed promise. Then clicked. They had a similar list of great talent spread and versatility. Hogan is starting to look like a J Brown. No other side is playing like us at the moment. Signs were there in the Geelong game when we had them pinned on the ropes especially in the second half. The offensive surge is relentless. The defence plays high risk high reward football because it can afford too. 

Posted
14 hours ago, Demon Disciple said:

Big game next week.

Chunk's 250th, but also because thanks to the AFL scheduling team, Dogs have a 7.5 day break and we have a 5.5 day break.

26 degree heat and 5 day break = very light week on the track.

Yeah, this was playing in my mind last night night. Giving the Dogs two days, 26°, interstate travel. Hope they made their flight last night. And hope any ASADA drug tests didn’t stop someone catching that flight (alà Clarrie with broken finger) 

Posted

I especially liked Petracca, after his third, willing Hogan and those around him to ‘keep going, keep working’ despite being 13 goals up. 

Gus was simply magnificent. 

We’ve still got all of June, July and August to go before the main stage. A footy season is a marathon, not a sprint. The boys are playing hard, skilful, exciting footy. The pressure must be immense. It’s great to watch. 

Its funny being a lifelong Demon. Who gets anxious in the last qtr when the demoralised, 15 goals down opposition kicks two-in-a-row?! 

On to the Dogs...

Posted
7 minutes ago, Jim ‘One Game’ McCoy said:

Its funny being a lifelong Demon. Who gets anxious in the last qtr when the demoralised, 15 goals down opposition kicks two-in-a-row?! 

I was getting anxious because I wanted another 100 point win. Oh how selfish we’ve become ?

Posted
15 minutes ago, Jim ‘One Game’ McCoy said:

Too true.  A poll on at what point in the game did you stop being anxious would be interesting.  In my case a few minutes into Q3 (which is a record since the 1960's).

Posted
10 hours ago, don't make me angry said:

But wait we have not beaten anyone good in the last 5 weeks, we are ahead of our self, our players are cocky they need to pull their heads in, the crows were missing lots of players, is that what other supporters will be saying this week, picket fences do you still think we will miss the 8, MFCSS is in the past.

You can rest easy DMMA ...there is only 1 PF

Posted
13 minutes ago, sue said:

Too true.  A poll on at what point in the game did you stop being anxious would be interesting.  In my case a few minutes into Q3 (which is a record since the 1960's).

About 10 minutes into the third. Jesse kicked a goal and I thought 'we got this'.

Posted
14 minutes ago, sue said:

It's a valid point, I was observing myself over the last few wins, probably being calm mid way through the 3rd. BUT still wanting them to pursue it really hard - as it would feel too much like our old fragile selves to let a glut of goals through.

Posted (edited)
7 hours ago, Sir Why You Little said:

You adding humour...

Where??

When he told us he was down at the club everyday during the Neeld era and there was nothing wrong that he could see.

Edited by Colin B. Flaubert
Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, mongrel said:

Gus doesn't register a single vote in todays Age.....

Played almost the perfect game yesterday. How good was it to see all the players get around him after he kicked the last goal. 

Edited by Ethan Tremblay

Posted
6 hours ago, Jaded said:

I’m literally still shook from this win. Shook to my core. 

Woke up at 6:30am in Paris. Went to get a croissant and a terrible coffee then sat and watched the game (on a terrible WiFi connection that froze sporadically), and literally could not believe what I was seeing. This was a team and a game I have not seen before. It was actually perfect. The way we played, our skill execution, our spread. Unbelievable. 

I think finally we are September bound!!!

Btw, Viney is a dead set freak. He was phenomenal in only his second match back. Beast mode well and truly activated. 

Try a "Pauls Pattiserie" chain option if you can find one close enough Jaded. Not the greatest coffee ever but a significant step up on most of the independent corner cafes there

Posted
38 minutes ago, mongrel said:

Gus doesn't register a single vote in todays Age.....

VOTES
J. Lever (Melb) 8
J. Hogan (Melb) 8
J. Viney (Melb) 8
M. Gawn (Melb) 8
B. Vince (Melb) 8

Posted (edited)
46 minutes ago, Jim ‘One Game’ McCoy said:

ts funny being a lifelong Demon. Who gets anxious in the last qtr when the demoralised, 15 goals down opposition kicks two-in-a-row?! 

I actually got grumpy. I did a bit of 'FFS! Bury them!' mutters, and then I laughed as I remembered I hadn't seen a display like that in so very long. It's nice to feel arrogant for a change.

Edited by Uncle Fester

Posted
28 minutes ago, sue said:

Mine was when David Mackay couldn’t run out of sight in the dark in the goalsquare during the final quarter which gifted the Milkshake a goal. 

It was short-lived though as Salem decided to repay the favour a minute later. 

Posted
4 minutes ago, Rusty Nails said:

Try a "Pauls Pattiserie" chain option if you can find one close enough Jaded. Not the greatest coffee ever but a significant step up on most of the independent corner cafes there

There's a few ex Melbourne baristas doing apparently good coffee (confirmed by a coffee nerd mate when he was there)

just look for Tatts a massive beard  beanie half falling off back of head and skin tight calf length jeans

Posted

I have several theories:

1.  I passed away 5 weeks ago and am now in Demon Heaven where we win every week.

2. They have discovered a cure mfcss ( unlikely as I still got worried when the Crows rallied at the start of the last)

3. We might be a good side (bearing in mind if Gawn had slotted that goal we would be 8-2). 

Posted
12 hours ago, willmoy said:

....and the best umpired match this year

Funny how when your winning all the decisions go in your favour

Posted
3 minutes ago, Drunkn167 said:

From Gawnys presser this morning 

He ran past us after the Carton game, turned around and said, "I cant stay and chat, im running late."