10 minutes ago, Ouch! said:

It is intentional contact isnt' it?  I've seen several examples where players have bumped into an umpire without even knowing they were there and possibly get fined at the most. 

If they didn’t think it was intentional, they would have fined him already. 

I assume they also would have got the umpires opinion before laying the charge. 

Suspect Ed Curnow will get a week, while Charlie will cop a fine.

11 hours ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

Looks to me like Charlie was just stopping the umpire from possibly getting too close to the scuffle. That’s what I’d argue if it were one of our players anyway. 

He potentially saved that umpires life, should get off and receive an award ?

I think Spargo gets a rest. 0 tackles against the Suns. I would think Garlett would be his replacement but Bugg is competing for the same spot also... 

Question is Garlett or Bugg? I would take Bugg on form but think he is unlucky here. Garlett will get nod before indeiginous round.

Weideman might get a rest with Sparky this week also. They can work there magic in the VFL. Tim Smith is his logical replacement with Pederson also competing for this spot. Tim Smith is rewarded for his form.

Tyson and Petracca are both in the gun for sub par performances in the last couple of weeks. I think Petracca is more out of form but Tyson is more likely to go out for Viney. Like-for-like.

OUT- Spargo, Weideman, Tyson

IN- Garlett, T Smith, Viney

I've been doing this thing lately where I quickly sneak around opposition forums leading up to our games against them.  Not sure why.  Maybe boredom, maybe just want to get an idea of how we are perceived by opposition club supporters.

For the most part, we aren't even mentioned, it's more about their own lineup.  They don't talk about who will match up on Hogan etc.  One thing is for sure is that they don't suffer from their own form of CFCSS.  Mostly very bullish about their chances.

And then there was this.  Do we think we are tough??

Dominator_7 wrote:
Their team is full of wannabe tough guy flogs. 
Oliver, Melksham, Lewis, Vince, Viney.
Need to bring the same Physicality we broough against the Drug Cheats. 
Got close to beating them both times last year, so we know we can match them. 
Gotta get things right at the selection table, and we’re a sneaky chance.
Absolutely spot on.
I like the fact they think they're 'tough'. I think we should do the same.
Reality is they can't back it up and when under pressure, they resort to sniping.
We bring the pressure, they won't cope...
Bring it on!! 

Go Blues
41 minutes ago, Dee tention said:

I think Spargo gets a rest. 0 tackles against the Suns. I would think Garlett would be his replacement but Bugg is competing for the same spot also... 

Question is Garlett or Bugg? I would take Bugg on form but think he is unlucky here. Garlett will get nod before indeiginous round.

Weideman might get a rest with Sparky this week also. They can work there magic in the VFL. Tim Smith is his logical replacement with Pederson also competing for this spot. Tim Smith is rewarded for his form.

Tyson and Petracca are both in the gun for sub par performances in the last couple of weeks. I think Petracca is more out of form but Tyson is more likely to go out for Viney. Like-for-like.

OUT- Spargo, Weideman, Tyson

IN- Garlett, T Smith, Viney

Record inside 50’s and you want to drop three players. I don’t want to be rude so I will say nothing. 

32 minutes ago, BigFez said:

I've been doing this thing lately where I quickly sneak around opposition forums leading up to our games against them.  Not sure why.  Maybe boredom, maybe just want to get an idea of how we are perceived by opposition club supporters.

For the most part, we aren't even mentioned, it's more about their own lineup.  They don't talk about who will match up on Hogan etc.  One thing is for sure is that they don't suffer from their own form of CFCSS.  Mostly very bullish about their chances.

Dominator_7 wrote:
Absolutely spot on.
Reality is they can't back it up and when under pressure, they resort to sniping.
Bring it on!! 

Go Blues

None of what that bloke says make much sense aside from calling Essendon the Drug Cheats. I liked his use of capitals 

On 5/14/2018 at 12:31 AM, WERRIDEE said:

No love for Tyson he's turn into the new Nibbler overnight.

I still have love for Tyson.

Surely it's Vince that gets dropped he's had less disposals and less DE% than Tyson the last 2 weeks.

Some realisation on Vince's actual contributions may be necessary. He, too, could do with some recovery time at VFL level. Jordan has proven to be an onfield mentor and example with his communication, demonstrated poise and his astute, heads-up passing to advantage. Tyson needs some time out - and Viney should come in right now. Spargo has been interesting but Garlett is lethal for any opposition particularly when he applies that impressive fwd defensive pressure that seizes an opportunity to score. Get Hannan on the wing - to break free with his classy skills - and passing. Pedersen should come into the side particularly with a potentially weakened Carlscum (the Curnows at this time of the week / tribunal) and for muscled work ethic. The Weed needs a rest rather than a ride. Bugg on the bench could provide some real aggro - to flavour the match in support of the Viney return. He may even have learned to improve his scoring in the last fortnight. ANB should have a holiday, too. Carna Dees!

We are starting to move the footy fast enough and well enough for Jeffy to really capitalise and turn his opponent inside out. I love Spargo but happy for him to have a rest. It's Jeffy time!

Viney - no brainer

15 hours ago, Red and Blue realist said:

The umpire seemed to be barking instructions to the players, so it would be hard to argue he was just making space and didn't know who it was. Pity the vision doesn't show his face to see if he had a glance or not. The umpire was very surprised to have someone make contract with him.

Do the umpires get invited to the tribunal, and does the Star Chamber Christian Fuhrer  ask their opinions?

2 minutes ago, Roger Mellie said:

We are starting to move the footy fast enough and well enough for Jeffy to really capitalise and turn his opponent inside out. I love Spargo but happy for him to have a rest.

It's Jeffy time!

Viney - no brainer

We all love watching their discards - Betts, Kennedy, Touhy, Jacobs etc - inflict terrible pain on Carlton. Give Garlett a Go!

1 hour ago, Miracle said:

Record inside 50’s and you want to drop three players. I don’t want to be rude so I will say nothing. 

I was at the game on the weekend. I thought we need to do better in crumming from the marking contests inside 50. Yes,  the game opened up in the second half. But the first half our pressure inside 50 and keeping the ball in was poor. 

Higgins for the Tigers has gone back to the VFL already after kicking multiple goals in the AFL. Spargo can do the same. Bugg and Garlett are pressuring for spots and are season footballers. It’s Sparkies first year.

Weideman is doing well and contesting which allowes Hogan and T Mac to play up the ground. However, T Smith is banging down the door. Toss of the coin at selection. The question is can Tim Smith play Weidemans role better and for longer? 

Who comes out for Viney? Like-for-like. Left-foot for left-foot. Tyson for mine.

59 minutes ago, monoccular said:

Do the umpires get invited to the tribunal, and does the Star Chamber Christian Fuhrer  ask their opinions?

Is it a case of a player (s) enforcing where the umpire can go - within which space - that the players concerned might prefer?

4 hours ago, BigFez said:

Dominator_7 wrote:
Absolutely spot on.
Bring it on!! 

Go Blues

Wasnt last year the year when we thought we would target cripps and where hogan and lewis got done for cheap punches? I'm glad we've decided to move on from that and decided to focus on our own game (Hawthorn game excepted)

viney for tyson makes sense in terms of mid-for-mid, but the others under pressure would all the small pressure forwards like anb, hannan, plus spargo - didn't realise spargo had laid zero tackles; i still think he's a super handy player but when we won by 69 points and still out-tackled the oppo it's unusual for a pressure forward to not lay one

as such, i guess garlett comes in in his place

it's very hard to know what role viney will be able to play first up at afl-level - i understand he played 70% of game time, but how much was thru the midfield at casey? that's low for an afl mid, especially an inside clearance player

vince and weideman are vital to our structure in my view, and i don't want either of them rested or dropped

On 5/14/2018 at 4:11 PM, daisycutter said:

should be good footy weather for sunday (so take into account when looking at in/outs, big/small etc)

Sunday 20 MayCollapse

Rainfall

From 1:00 AM 4:00 AM 7:00 AM 10:00 AM 1:00 PM 4:00 PM 7:00 PM 10:00 PM
50% chance of more than (mm) – – – – – – – –
25% chance of more than (mm) – – – – – – – –
10% chance of more than (mm) – – – – – – – –
Chance of any rain 10% 10% 10% 10% 10% 5% 5% 5%

Temperatures

At 1:00 AM 4:00 AM 7:00 AM 10:00 AM 1:00 PM 4:00 PM 7:00 PM 10:00 PM
Air temperature (°C) 10 9 8 12 15 16 13 11
Feels like (°C) 8 7 6 9 13 14 11 9
Dew point temperature (°C) 9 8 8 10 9 8 8 8

UV

UV Index – – – – – – – –

Significant Weather

From 1:00 AM 4:00 AM 7:00 AM 10:00 AM 1:00 PM 4:00 PM 7:00 PM 10:00 PM
Thunderstorms No No No No No No No No
Snow No No No No No No No No
Rain No No No No No No No No
Fog No No No No No No No No
Frost No No No No No No No No

Humidity & Wind

Wind speed km/h
knots
Wind direction W W W W WSW SSW WNW N
Relative humidity (%) 92 92 100 87 66 59 68 79
Forest fuel dryness factor 8.1 8.1 8.1 8.3 8.3 8.3 8.3 8.3
Mixing height (m) – – – – – – – –

Hah.... in sausage sizzle; out raincoat !

On 5/14/2018 at 4:54 PM, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Both Curnow boys sent directly to the tribunal for intentionally touching an umpire.

Ed will certainly be suspended, but I didn't see the Charlie one. Charlie starred against us last year in the second encounter.

... must have been the vatican tribunal.

10 bloody mary's, and your off.