Posted

Okay guys, where will he finish?

Will he continue to grow as a Demon and end up in the top 5 at season's end??? 

Or will he be content to languish in mediocrity and finish at the bottom of the heap? 

If it matters, I have been impressed with his output over the last two games and believe he will 'earn' those big bucks I was initially unsure we should hand over for him, hopefully over many years, including that seemingly elusive Premiership. 

I predict 5th and can't wait to see it unfold. 

I'd love to hear everyone's thoughts after 6 weeks of Footy.  Or not?

Posted

Well I'd love some explanation from Goodwin as to why he would allow Lever to do some kick-ins? Bloody outrageous. He has been pretty terrible this year. His kicking is poor and he has been chopped to pieces in most games by his forward. I'd like to see more rebound or see him play off a wing for a game just to see some run and carry. Goodwin wouldn't try it though as he is a very bland coach. 

It's very sad to see that at this stage our first draft pick is at 25. 

Posted

He'll finish around 8-11th in the BnF. Will play enough games to get high votes, but early poor games struggled. The last two weeks he has been great, and it is clear how much he reads the play and helps direct things. I expect he'll finish strongly.

Definitely leading him at the moment: Gawn, Jones, Hogan, Oscar, Hibberd, Salem, Petracca

Around the mark: Jetta, Oliver, ANB, Vince, Lewis, Wagner

Others who may come home: TMac, Viney, Hunt, Brayshaw

Posted

He is settling in and improving, some things take time especially when hes still being used as the second tall down back which wasn't his role with Adelaide.

He will dominate soon, no worries.

Posted
7 hours ago, Maxwell Edison MD said:

Okay guys, where will he finish?

Will he continue to grow as a Demon and end up in the top 5 at season's end??? 

Or will he be content to languish in mediocrity and finish at the bottom of the heap? 

If it matters, I have been impressed with his output over the last two games and believe he will 'earn' those big bucks I was initially unsure we should hand over for him, hopefully over many years, including that seemingly elusive Premiership. 

I predict 5th and can't wait to see it unfold. 

I'd love to hear everyone's thoughts after 6 weeks of Footy.  Or not?

Top 8

Posted

10th. he is still adjusting. and i agree with one of the above posters.. he should not be taking kick-outs! 

Posted

Credit to whoever got the backline going in the last couple of weeks, seems they’ve all clicked including Jake. 10 year player, just hope he shows a little more composure with his kicking is all, just seems a little rushed but no doubting his courage and endeavour 

Posted

He started terribly, but he has improved every game.  He was outstanding against Essendon (call it a MFC breakout game) and very good against Richmond. He is a class player, was sensational last season and Adelaide's best in their GF lass.  If he stays injury free he will finish top 5 in the B&F.  We have not paid overs.

Posted

Starting to look more settled. And the back six looking more in sync. i would'nt say he wad outstanding against ess gnf (made too many kicking errors) but it certainly was his best game for us. I suspect erhiad suits him as like adelaide oval the pockets are smaller than rhe g

His kicking is a worry and i fear won't improve much as he has a poor technique. 

But you can see how well he reads the ball and i look forward to him going up a level from here on in.

Posted
12 hours ago, Petraccattack said:

He is settling in and improving, some things take time especially when hes still being used as the second tall down back which wasn't his role with Adelaide.

He will dominate soon, no worries.

Tend to agree with this post. Not too sure he should be used at CHB or as a 2nd tall, as his skills set seems to be set in concrete from the HBflank and coming into an intercept role from the side or to pass it off to a teammate. Whatever, he is young for a player of his stature and I guess is versatile but his settling into the game plan, and his new teammates, should be starting to bear fruit from now. In a big way, too! We must get a refreshed CHB to tie down that position more securely.

2 minutes ago, binman said:

Starting to look more settled. And the back six looking more in sync. i would'nt say he wad outstanding against ess gnf (made too many kicking errors) but it certainly was his best game for us. I suspect erhiad suits him as like adelaide oval the pockets are smaller than rhe g

His kicking is a worry and i fear won't improve much as he has a poor technique. 

But you can see how well he reads the ball and i look forward to him going up a level from here on in.

Yep, he was 'good' against the Dons without any real brilliance as it is expected that he will continue to improve. The kicking mantra is also true for Lever - this needs to improve considerably to hit targets reliably - and is a trait that applies to many MFC players of the current era.

Specialist coaching in this regard would be extremely valuable - and it should be sustained coaching at that - there is a tendency for clubs to simply assume that players can kick the ball well, accurately and hit targets. In Lever's case, this is not the situation, yet. His ball drop, for starters, is shonky and very high. I thought that his 'reading of the ball' in the Ess game was the best he has shown with us, so far. 

Posted
19 minutes ago, Grand New Flag said:

He started terribly, but he has improved every game.  He was outstanding against Essendon (call it a MFC breakout game) and very good against Richmond. He is a class player, was sensational last season and Adelaide's best in their GF lass.  If he stays injury free he will finish top 5 in the B&F.  We have not paid overs.

He was a solid contributor but lets not get carried away. Kicked it out on the full twice under minimal pressure if my memory serves me correctly. The performance against Essendon should be the minimum for a player of his reputation.

Posted
16 minutes ago, Watts the matter said:

The performance against Essendon should be the minimum for a player of his reputation.

and pay packet

Posted
1 hour ago, Watts the matter said:

He was a solid contributor but lets not get carried away. Kicked it out on the full twice under minimal pressure if my memory serves me correctly. The performance against Essendon should be the minimum for a player of his reputation.

Good call mate. Have belief at this moment in time, but don't worry, I'm not getting carried away, as a Dee's man I've become accustomed to disappointment, just feeling positive at present, wishful thinking perhaps. 

Posted

I love you blokes! Your eyes are imbued with an optimism I wish I shared. He has been awful, a bit better the last two weeks. Had we not paid a fortune he would have been dropped

i think he finished 14th in Adelaide B and F. That's about right for us isn't it?

Posted

He will only be as good as our forwards and mids let him.  If like we have seen so far this season there is no pressure out of our forward 50 and through the middle he can't get into the intercept positions.  If however we can slow the ball movement down he will be an extreme effective player for us.

Posted (edited)

Had one very good game against the Tiges.  Not much to see otherwise.  Should eventually find his mojo though.  No kick ins pls Coach!

Statistically have him ranked 23rd out of the 28 players that have played more than one game so far this season.  Vs his fellow defenders he ranks marginally ahead of Frost (27th) and Hunt (26th) to this point.

Optimistically might finish around 10th in the D'land votes if he can find some consistency in performance.

Posted (edited)
13 hours ago, Farmer said:

I love you blokes! Your eyes are imbued with an optimism I wish I shared. He has been awful, a bit better the last two weeks. Had we not paid a fortune he would have been dropped

i think he finished 14th in Adelaide B and F. That's about right for us isn't it?

FFS, the kid just turned 22. Yeah he's first month was disappointing but I don't think people understand how long it takes to work out how your fellow teammates play let alone he's fellow defenders play. People everyday start new jobs & careers and don't walk in from day 1 knowing exactly what's going on, football is no different.. If not harder. If Jake Lever doesn't go down as one of if not the best key position back this clubs had I'll eat my hat... Give him time to settle in, he's still 4-5 years off the prime age for a footballer. I know on GF day in a few years to come who I want at CHB.

Edited by JV7

Posted
3 hours ago, JV7 said:

FFS, the kid just turned 22. Yeah he's first month was disappointing but I don't think people understand how long it takes to work out how your fellow teammates play let alone he's fellow defenders play. People everyday start new jobs & careers and don't walk in from day 1 knowing exactly what's going on, football is no different.. If not harder. If Jake Lever doesn't go down as one of if not the best key position back this clubs had I'll eat my hat... Give him time to settle in, he's still 4-5 years off the prime age for a footballer. I know on GF day in a few years to come who I want at CHB.

In fairness to all the posters, the topic is how how will go this year. So far he has struggled as has been pointed out. This thread isn't focussed on what he will be in 5 years time (as this has been done to death in other Jake Lever threads).

He is likely to finish higher in the clubs best and fairest than the Demonland player of the year due to the nature of each voting system. I am doubtful he will finish in the top 10 of either system.

Posted
On 5/3/2018 at 9:48 AM, Grand New Flag said:

Sensational enough last year to finish 14th in their B and F. Really can't believe the nonsense written about this bloke. Starting to feel sorry for him. Totally unrealistic expectations.  Still, at least he's well paid