Posted
23 minutes ago, Satyriconhome said:

So it's all about winning for you then, last week's game was a really good game of footy, apart from the last kick I enjoyed and appreciated it

I agree on really enjoying the game last week, but I'd be lying if I said I didn't care at the time that we didn't win. And I could have been looking in the mirror when I looked at my 8 year old son who had his hands on his head with a grimace on his face when Gawn missed, and I know his level of emotional investment is well below mine.

I'd much prefer the feeling of victory over the disappointment of a loss.

Posted
44 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

We will need to put a lot of work into Beames, Zorko and Cameron

They will need to put work into Oliver, Petracca, Jones, Hibberd, Lever, Hogan and Fritsch

Posted
22 minutes ago, Satyriconhome said:

So it's all about winning for you then, last week's game was a really good game of footy, apart from the last kick I enjoyed and appreciated it

Absolutely for me it’s all about winning. 

Posted
1 minute ago, Demons11 said:

They will need to put work into Oliver, Petracca, Jones, Hibberd, Lever, Hogan and Fritsch

It's generous to put a player with one game to his name in that company.

Posted
1 minute ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

Absolutely for me it’s all about winning. 

Absolutely 100%, the quality of standard or enjoyment factor was the furthest thought in my mind and most others after the siren  judging by reactions on the walk out of the G. 

Can’t even imagine for the people watching at home.

Posted
1 minute ago, Demon77 said:

Absolutely 100%, the quality of standard or enjoyment factor was the furthest thought in my mind and most others after the siren  judging by reactions on the walk out of the G. 

I can safely tell you that after Gawn missed, I was at no stage thinking “boy that was an entertaining game! I enjoyed that immensely!”

Posted
2 minutes ago, Demon77 said:

Ability to reflect positively on a game - especially a loss - comes after the initial emotional stab dissipates, but only if you allow it. Plenty on here don't. I usually stay off this site for a few hours after a bad loss to avoid posting anything rash.

I can't relate at all to anyone who claims not to feel disappointed after losing.

Posted
35 minutes ago, Satyriconhome said:

Winning is all that counts, YES

For you, it is a social outing with your boys, you made that obvious a long time ago...

Posted

Maybe Brisbane haven’t improved all that much and St Kilda were just as bad last week as they were yesterday.

Melbourne by 122 points, Fritsch to kick 4. 

Posted
29 minutes ago, Demons11 said:

We have the most pessimistic supporters in the AFL.  

It really pisses me off how so called supporters are so negative towards our team.  

Its rd 2 of the footy season for [censored] sake, have some confidence.

watts your age D11 ?

Posted
1 hour ago, Sir Why You Little said:

This dead quarter rubbish has been around for the 3 seasons Goodwin has been with us. 

Yep, before that under Neeld it was dead 4 q's.

Bailey had dead games and Danners had dead seasons...

...so we must be getting better.

Posted

Was more concerned about this game before yesterday, St Kilda are a disgrace and a good Lions performance agains that outfit proves nothing more than St Kilda are bottom 6 material too.

Posted (edited)
9 minutes ago, DV8 said:

watts your age D11 ?

38, I’m just as long suffering as the next person but this team is a new team and we should all be excited about the direction we are heading. 

Edited by Demons11
Posted
35 minutes ago, Nasher said:

It's generous to put a player with one game to his name in that company.

I was being mischievous with the last one

Posted

I think this game last year cost us finals just as much as the Pies game. We had them dead to rights and took the foot off the pedal when we should have buried them. That missing 1/2% of F&A came from this match.

Hopefully we've learnt our lesson and absolutely punish them this time around.

Posted
3 hours ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

My reference was to their disposal skills (ie abililty to find targets/not turn it over) being better than ours.  To my mind their mdifield (Martin, Beams, Zorko, Taylor, Christiansen) match the fierceness of ours (Gawn, Jones, Oliver, Salem, Tyson).

So a genuine question A F: in what way do you think our skills are better than theirs?

Their mids and half backs turn it over far more than ours. Today's results will bear me out, mate.

Posted

What we know from the small sample of last week is that Brisbane were able to get on top of the Saints in clearances and contested ball so that keeps them in the game, though this was partly due to the Saints essentially having no midfield which is a problem we don’t have. Saints still ran out reasonably comfortable winners despite this.

As the season rolls on it will prove to be a more even competition this year than last. Brisbane will be no exception to that. But if we’re serious at all this season we need to win this one. Brisbane will be competitive and their first home game adds additional X factor, but they are ultimately a developing side with a coach entering his second season. Dropping these games is something we simply can’t afford to do again this year.

Dees for the win. A close margin wouldn’t shock me. A loss definitely would.

Posted
6 minutes ago, P-man said:

What we know from the small sample of last week is that Brisbane were able to get on top of the Saints in clearances and contested ball so that keeps them in the game, though this was partly due to the Saints essentially having no midfield which is a problem we don’t have. Saints still ran out reasonably comfortable winners despite this.

As the season rolls on it will prove to be a more even competition this year than last. Brisbane will be no exception to that. But if we’re serious at all this season we need to win this one. Brisbane will be competitive and their first home game adds additional X factor, but they are ultimately a developing side with a coach entering his second season. Dropping these games is something we simply can’t afford to do again this year.

Dees for the win. A close margin wouldn’t shock me. A loss definitely would.

FWIW they lost 2/3 of their home games last year so I doubt that will be a major advantage to them.

Posted
2 hours ago, Deemania since 56 said:

We have to feel 'nasty' tonight, against Brizzy. Give 'em hell for four quarters and make the plays. A tidal wave only grows. 

Spot on.  Really looking for the side to take the next step and become ruthless and clinical in the way we play these lower ranked sides.  Don't give them a sniff early and then don't take the foot off the throat at any stage.

Didn't think he was screaming out to be picked round 1, but I really think Thomas Bugg will be an important inclusion today for his hardness and nasty niggle factor...just needs to get his kicking boots on and head right for his set shots.

Posted

I want to see us annihilate opposition this year. Four points is great but let’s start banking some percentage for once.

Looks like tonight will be pretty humid and warm so you’d expect it to get a bit scrappy. Hopefully we can still cream this mob.

Posted
36 minutes ago, FireInTheBelly said:

I think this game last year cost us finals just as much as the Pies game. We had them dead to rights and took the foot off the pedal when we should have buried them. That missing 1/2% of F&A came from this match.

Hopefully we've learnt our lesson and absolutely punish them this time around.

Posted
50 minutes ago, Demons11 said:

38, I’m just as long suffering as the next person but this team is a new team and we should all be excited about the direction we are heading. 

No your not, by a long way.  But where we came from (D's) is also relative, talking 50/60's.

Many here were tantalized by stories of this great club, back then, and were then tormented by a lifetime of disappointment.

So truth is if you haven't experienc3ed it then you really don't know the full storyline of emotional hurt. 

Us oldies should relate in some way, with the aboriginal storylines of the past 200 + years.

Posted
23 minutes ago, DV8 said:

No your not, by a long way.  But where we came from (D's) is also relative, talking 50/60's.

Many here were tantalized by stories of this great club, back then, and were then tormented by a lifetime of disappointment.

So truth is if you haven't experienc3ed it then you really don't know the full storyline of emotional hurt. 

Us oldies should relate in some way, with the aboriginal storylines of the past 200 + years.

How old are you ?

Posted
26 minutes ago, DV8 said:

Try having a father that saw 7 of the 12 and an uncle that played in 3.

I was born just in time to think that a 5 win season was a good one.