Posted
Just now, Leoncelli_36 said:

my MFCSS is getting started again, but this really is seeming more and more bizarre...No show at Family Day and now training with the reserve players. What has he done wrong?

Apparently he posted an Instagram on the same day as the Family Day, he couldn’t have done too much wrong as Goody didn’t take his phone or iPad off him. 

Posted
1 minute ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

Apparently he posted an Instagram on the same day as the Family Day, he couldn’t have done too much wrong as Goody didn’t take his phone or iPad off him. 

appreciate the sarcasm...i commented on him posting an instagram on Family Day as evidence that he wasn't injured. There clearly is something up...just trying to join some dots

Posted
1 hour ago, Satyriconhome said:

Ok you are missing the fact you could be wrong with your assessment of Wagner's footy abilities in comparison to say Brendan McCarney who I chatted about Wagner with,

Or my opinion, is that yes Wagner could still have areas of his game to improve, the progress of which have been hampered by injury, but this pre season, where he has completed every session, the improvement overall is there to see, to some at least

...I think Macca is a bit of a glass half full guy when talking about players.'

He was talking White up last year and he ended up being delisted.

I don't think we will ever get the full opinion of guys like McCartney.

Posted

Amongst others we have Wagner , Kent and JKH on their last contract year with the Dees.

Hard to see any of those three being on the list next year.

If I had to pick in order of those likely to make it my picks would be Kent, JKH and then Wagner. I say Kent simply because on 2106 form he showed he can play to AFL standard whereas the other two have been tried and showed little. 

Good luck to them all and let's face it there is nothing to be ashamed of in not making the final cut as long as you've given it your all.

Would love to see Spargo play. If he has the footy smarts anywhere near Caleb Daniel he will be a very welcome addition.

Posted

Harmes has had a great preseason and I suspect he'll play round one.  But I also seem to recall someone saying he had a niggle a week or so ago. 

After playing AFLX and JLT1 he doesn't need another game if he's coming off a minor injury.  And it gives the coaches the opportunity to look at someone else, i.e. Stretch.

Posted
39 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Amongst others we have Wagner , Kent and JKH on their last contract year with the Dees.

Hard to see any of those three being on the list next year.

If I had to pick in order of those likely to make it my picks would be Kent, JKH and then Wagner. I say Kent simply because on 2106 form he showed he can play to AFL standard whereas the other two have been tried and showed little. 

Good luck to them all and let's face it there is nothing to be ashamed of in not making the final cut as long as you've given it your all.

Would love to see Spargo play. If he has the footy smarts anywhere near Caleb Daniel he will be a very welcome addition.

All gone by years end!

Posted
12 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Why hasn't JFK gotten at least one run in either the JLT or AFL X series?

Starting to become the quintessential list clogger.

November 1963 he had an accident of sorts......

• Haha 7

Posted
15 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

10 years ago, yes, but I don't see it as a list clogger these days (given the state of our list).  I see him more the type of player we need on our list at season's end, so that the compulsory list management decisions are made easier.

Posted
3 hours ago, Tough Kent said:

Just passing on what I heard. 

Please put me on ignore. Why don't you just focus on loitering behind the players' tent after training and sending them invasive posts on their private Instagram accounts that they never respond to. 

Impressive, so you hacked my Instagram account tsk tsk

???????

Posted
2 hours ago, rjay said:

White was talked up, but his body wouldn't behave, at Casey to see if he can get some consistency and a decent run injury wise

Posted
2 hours ago, Deemania since 56 said:

Not a desirable post this one, either. 

He replied with something approaching an opinion of what I has been missing in regards to Wagner, so my post obviously got through.

The other 3 posters gave interesting replies the first time.

Posted
4 minutes ago, faultydet said:

He replied with something approaching an opinion of what I has been missing in regards to Wagner, so my post obviously got through.

The other 3 posters gave interesting replies the first time.

Just takes a bit of effort, you being on a high horse and everything, have opinion on every player on the list just don't feel the need to continually post about tem, unless I have a differing opinion of course

Posted
1 hour ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

'Geez isn't it great that we have real depth across every position'

Or

'Anybody who is not a new draftee and isn't picked for 1st game is a list clogger'

Interesting debate

Posted
5 hours ago, Tough Kent said:

Just passing on what I heard. 

That's the problem.

Privacy issues aside, passing on information that you heard as information that you heard is one thing.  Asserting it as fact that you can "take to the bank" is very different.

Posted
4 hours ago, rjay said:

... I don't think we will ever get the full opinion of guys like McCartney.

The two aren't incompatible. His full and honest opinion may well be "glass half full". But then isn't that what he's there for, to get the best out of our developing players?

Posted (edited)
9 minutes ago, bing181 said:

That's the problem.

Privacy issues aside, passing on information that you heard as information that you heard is one thing.  Asserting it as fact that you can "take to the bank" is very different.

He has a groin issue mate. Was reported on here after it happened. Was confirmed to me. I stand by it. I can’t believe how some people on here like to argue over semantics. 

Edited by Tough Kent
Grammar
Posted
2 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Was one of the best trainers at the club in his first year. Since then - just hasn't wanted it enough IMO. Should be right up the front of the running groups instead of just another also ran. Goodwin showed him a lot of faith last year, picking him as soon as he was fit, same with ANB. ANB rewarded that faith getting super fit and giving his all on game day. Jay knows where the footy is going and can be a beautiful kick. With some toughness and real desire he could be a handy high half forward despite his lack of size and only average pace.

I remember I'd see him out on the town a fair bit (in my and his younger days). Not that he'd be doing anything wrong but some guys desperately want an AFL career, others are so good or so bad it doesn't matter and some have enough talent and work hard enough to stay on the list but not to really get the most out of themselves.

Posted
17 minutes ago, Tough Kent said:

He has a groin issue mate. Was reported on here after it happened. Was confirmed to me. I stand by it. I can’t believe how some people on here like to argue over semantics. 

Don't sweat it, mate.  The only reason it got this far was because one poster couldn't handle the fact you had a scoop and he didn't.  We all know how petty he is, so just ignore it.

Posted
2 hours ago, Satyriconhome said:

Just takes a bit of effort, you being on a high horse and everything, have opinion on every player on the list just don't feel the need to continually post about tem, unless I have a differing opinion of course

Do me a favour, and stop replying to my posts unless you have an actual reply that's relevant to my question.

I asked for opinion on a players skills because I cant see any. The other 3 answered perfectly, you did not.

Posted
5 hours ago, rjay said:

I don't know about that, Mrs Worship went to a meet and greet with him last year and he told her Clarrie was operating at about 30% of his potential at the time and a number of the other younger players were similarly placed. White apparently didn't continue to improve and certainly wasn't helped by injuries

Posted (edited)
10 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

I'm starting to think Frost is a bit overrated around here. 

Not saying Wagner will be the next Steven Silvagni or Matthew Scarlett, but apart from the odd exciting dash since he's come over, is Frost really a better option than Wagner?

The match committee have really fallen out of love with him and I can't see how Frost will be anywhere near the round 1 side.

Nev Jetta barely played last pre season. I reckon Frost's inclusion this week says he'll be well and truly in the mix for Round 1.

I wouldn't say Frost is that overrated either. He has his limitations, sure, but he can play big or small, as well as an important sweeping role with his pace.

I'm not sure if Wagner will make it, but he has a nice poise about him and with some more confidence would be a nice eventual replacement for Lewis when he hangs up the boots IMO.

Either way, Wagner is being given the chance by the MC to put himself forward for Round 1 too.

Posted
3 hours ago, Tough Kent said:

" ... will be off legs all week."

Posted
4 hours ago, bing181 said:

" ... will be off legs all week."

Last I’ll say on this but maybe they were happy with the progress he had made over the last 4 days so they go him out for some gentle straight line running. Not that hard to comprehend.