9 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

What plethora?

Tom is a forward now. Years of turnovers = no more backline.

Oscar, Frost and Lever are our starters. Joel Smith the back up medium, Wagner a 3rd tall option if needed but really a flanker type. Keilty a rookie list mature back up. That's it. 

Frost is a bit out of favour, Oscar isn't solidfied as a genuine long term option, Joel Smith limited experience, makes a lot of sense to bring in another one.

Tom Mac will be Forward 5 minutes if Weideman comes on mate. How many backs do you need? Richmond and the Bulldogs have won flags with how many dominant Key Positions Forwards?

Matches are won and lost in the midfield.

We added a dwarf 170cm forward mid, and an outside winger that averages 16 touches in the NEAFL. 

Petrucelle and Worpol were still on the board.

I hope I'm wrong, but I see the midfield as seriously lacking depth in a year or two when Vince, Jones and Lewis are gone. 

Edited by Watts Jurrah Dunn?

2 hours ago, Clint Bizkit said:

I trust Taylor but we have a lot of key defenders now.

But none at this age bracket... you stand still and you go backwards, always an eye on the future. That’s drafting..

1 hour ago, monoccular said:

So, Rocky, you already prefer a totally unproven teenager to OMc and possibly Frost.

Dont sit down too heavily: crystal balls ? tend to be fragile. 

Mind boggling comment from old Rocko. 

1 minute ago, Watts Jurrah Dunn? said:

Tom Mac will be Forward 5 minutes if Weideman comes on mate. How many backs do you need? Richmond and the Bulldogs have won flags with how many dominant Key Positions Forwards?

We added a dwarf 170cm forward mid, and an outside winger that averages 16 touches in the NEAFL. 

I hope I'm wrong, but I see the midfield as seriously lacking in a year or two when Vince, Jones and Lewis are gone. 

Flags are won with Rance, Astbury and Grimes as well. Or Morris and Hamling (with Roberts) shutting down Franklin. Or Brian Lake. Or Scarlett and Harley. 

If Weeds comes on we trade Tom McDonald or Hogan. Cross that bridge when we come to it. Weeds has all of Cam Pedersen's games to play first before taking games away from those guys.

Jones has plenty of time left. Vince and Lewis were both ordinary for most of the year. Getting Salem, Oliver, Brayshaw and Petracca fitter means they'll be the possession winners with Viney and Tyson. Along with Hunt, ANB, Melksham, Hannan, Harmes, Stretch. Give me those 12 with a lock down defensive unit and a functional forward line and I'll be happy.

3 picks of running players. 1 pick on a tall and I can see a tall defender being of much more value than a tall forward or back up ruck.

11 minutes ago, Watts Jurrah Dunn? said:

I hope I'm wrong, but I see the midfield as seriously lacking depth in a year or two when Vince, Jones and Lewis are gone. 

Looking forward to your constant updates on Petrucelle and Worpol over the journey.

Where did each end up?

2 hours ago, Watts Jurrah Dunn? said:

Petrucelle the next pick? Best available before needs.

Given the plethora of key and medium sized defenders we already have developing, I'm not sure about this one.

That’s assuming that Petruccelle was ranked by Taylor and co as the next best available...

I forgot Petty fell over and broke his elbow at Norwood training but that shouldn't be a problem. Good signs that he was out there training pre draft. 

Country SA defenders. Ingerson, Rivers, Petty. 

Does anyone know much about him or seen him play? We seem to have a few scouting experts in these parts. Would be keen to hear their thoughts.

Looking at his highlights package (I know, I know), he seems to read the ball beautifully and reminds me very much of our own Jake Lever. For a kid his age, his seeming ability to intercept mark is incredibly exciting. 

I only coach and I don't scout, but I don't recall too many young defenders with such an impressive intercept marking highlights package (outside of Weitering, who was always a top 3 rated kid).

Looks like a natural footballer and his disposal and composure looks impressive in the highlights pack. I'm pick him ahead of Frost for round 1 on that basis ... just kidding

2 hours ago, jackaub said:

OOOOO hh Great another pick that will take a few years Just what we neeed

wow over whelemed\

Players that come in their rookie year and play senior footy, let alone make an impact, are the exception not the rule. Years of looking at the draft for saviours may have clouded your vision but almost all players taken in the draft are "project" players.

1 hour ago, A F said:

Does anyone know much about him or seen him play? We seem to have a few scouting experts in these parts. Would be keen to hear their thoughts.

Looking at his highlights package (I know, I know), he seems to read the ball beautifully and reminds me very much of our own Jake Lever. For a kid his age, his seeming ability to intercept mark is incredibly exciting. 

I only coach and I don't scout, but I don't recall too many young defenders with such an impressive intercept marking highlights package (outside of Weitering, who was always a top 3 rated kid).

Have seen him play a couple of times and his marking and judgement of the ball in flight stood out. Was highly competitive too. Caught the eye as a key back, even while I was watching out for mids & fwds (I figured we were more or less stocked in that area). 

Perhaps we're also covering the spread with both McDonalds OOC at the end of next season.

This makes up somewhat for our horrible mistake in cutting former Norwood recruit Alex Georgiou.

7 hours ago, TeamPlayedFine39 said:

That’s assuming that Petruccelle was ranked by Taylor and co as the next best available...

What would they know? We have WJD here. 

Reminds me of Watts a little seems to read it easily and has composure when he kicks it . 

Gee Sam Hayes was an option at this pick but I trust the fd on this one , I reckon Petty could play as a genuine utility including 2 nd ruck .

Those mentioning Frost as a KPD... I think Frost has now transitioned into primary backup ruckman / wing role (or he should do).

Clubs will evolve to carry less ruckman and use more versatile backups, if they haven't already.

Watching his highlights against Vic Metro you can understand why he was SA's MVP.

6 minutes ago, Mach5 said:

Watching his highlights against Vic Metro you can understand why he was SA's MVP.

Was excited about this pick last night, but after watching those highlights I'm super confident Jason Taylor has found another beauty!

Funnily enough he reminds me a lot of our very own Jake Lever.

The selectors may have decided that he is a good get now in comparison to next years crop. We may be loading up on mids and another ruck next year?

There seems to be some angst about kids needing time in these posts. Not all the players can play round 1 next year. We need to trust our development!

Hard to do, but im more confident in their ability these days!

The irony is that now, with this guy on our list, some of the "petty" comments on this site might be serious!  LOL

31 minutes ago, Vagg said:

The irony is that now, with this guy on our list, some of the "petty" comments on this site might be serious!  LOL

And away we go!

5 minutes ago, defuture15 said:

MFC- Stop draggin my heart around!

They will " at the end of the line".

Get the feeling these draftees won't be "heartbreakers".

Edited by Redleg