Posted
4 minutes ago, old dee said:

Sue every since we started going to Darwin people have been using our losses the following week to justify their position of not want to sell home games.

The major reason we lost was we were not good enough. We are now good enough and today we won.

At the risk of enjoying arguing with you rather than the result, I don't disagree us being crud was the major reason we lost in the past.  But in a game of inches for top sides the last thing you need is any impediment that gives any advantage to the opponent.  So I won't dismiss the Darwin effect until there is firm evidence that it is insignificant.  Likewise I won't call for us to abandon Darwin until we know more.

Posted

As david king said many times our defence transition was unbelievable. Work rate and leadership

Posted
8 minutes ago, Return to Glory said:

You're better than me. I see 17 points up and picture a 1 point loss. Damaged.

Actually I was thinking when melksham was lining up for goal that he will miss it and they will go bang down the middle. I was trying to work out if they would have enough time to win. 

Luckily I didn't have to worry.  

Posted (edited)
16 minutes ago, praha said:

Definitely. He's a smart footballer, never panics, and has a real go. He's as reliable with the short kick as Jetta is, I'm never worried when he has the ball. He's a top draft pick that is highly respected by the football community for a reason. I thought he was done purely on the back of us having so many blokes that play his role but now that he's got the run he'll be better for it. The club would be crazy not to retain him purely on the back of his football IQ, which is high and valuable. There's a reason Richmond was willing to part with pick 12 for him. He's an asset for depth purposes.

always considered him to have high footy nous...today no exception. THAT"S his prime quality

Edited by beelzebub
what is it about phones and their need to correct non-needed things !! grrrr
Posted

How good is Hannan in his first season? His sidestep and general athleticism are such an asset. Got his trademark millisecond hand to foot goal. Becoming a nice midfield rotation already. 

And ANB's last month has been very impressive. Proving me wrong and playing some nice footy. Lost that panic mode and showing some really nice touch. 

• Like 33

Posted

Haven't seen the gameday thread and just saw it briefly alluded to above but WTF was Dixon doing sledging Jetta when he took him over the boundary line?  (2ndQ maybe)

Could he pick a less deserving person to sledge? Jetta was absolutely magnificent again!

Posted
2 minutes ago, Deestroy All said:

How good is Hannan in his first season? His sidestep and general athleticism are such an asset. Got his trademark millisecond hand to foot goal. Becoming a nice midfield rotation already. 

And ANB's last month has been very impressive. Proving me wrong and playing some nice footy. Lost that panic mode and showing some really nice touch. 

One of the recruits of the year.  Has been able to come in, play a role and play it very well.  Always good for a few goals and he's both strong in the air and clever at ground level.  When he builds up his tank with another pre-season then he could easily spend more time in the middle.

To me he's playing the role AVB would normally play for us, and you could argue he's playing it better.

Posted
18 minutes ago, Mickey said:

No word about how Trenners went. Only the 15 disposals and not many tackles. How did people see his game? 

Was ok, but only 1 contested possession is a worry, him and jkh are out when vince and jones are back, probably sits behind bugg to. But good on him  a lesser person would have given up and retired already

Posted
8 minutes ago, sue said:

At the risk of enjoying arguing with you rather than the result, I don't disagree us being crud was the major reason we lost in the past.  But in a game of inches for top sides the last thing you need is any impediment that gives any advantage to the opponent.  So I won't dismiss the Darwin effect until there is firm evidence that it is insignificant.  Likewise I won't call for us to abandon Darwin until we know more.

Sane position sue. I am really enjoying this win on a number of levels.

Posted
29 minutes ago, faultydet said:

But our effort all year hasn't changed, regardless of playing personnel available.

I thought Port may make it tight, but I had faith that the boys would not lower their effort levels.

It's really nice to finally have that confidence.

But if I may indulge myself, I'm not sure I have ever seen a more insipid milestone game than the one from Jack Watts today.

1 arm marks, 1 arm tackles. Simply pathetic, and I hope he is embarrassed by his effort.

You are a *%#^. Watts comes off a 4 week break and is a little rusty. You should be ashamed calling yourself a demon supporter. 

• Like 14
Posted
1 minute ago, Wiseblood said:

To me he's playing the role AVB would normally play for us, and you could argue he's playing it better.

Yep I'd say he's playing it better. More x-factor and more of an aerial threat. AVB played some good footy but the gap between best and worse was huge. 

Posted
26 minutes ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

We did it!

it was a must win!!!

And ... to top off the day ... Daisy signed my member card!!

hopefully the cards are "Smudgeproof" Uncle!

Posted (edited)
1 minute ago, bandicoot said:

You are a *%#^. Watts comes off a 4 week break and is a little rusty. You should be ashamed calling yourself a demon supporter. 

I didnt have a go at him for the same reason but how long was Tyson out and he hammered it today so the poster has some merit. 

Edited by leave it to deever
Posted
Just now, bandicoot said:

Any player has zero excuse for weak efforts, regardless of time out from the game.

Watts was beyond insipid today, save his nice effort on the boundary in the last few minutes.

He re visited his worst games of his career today.

Only a [censored] would think otherwise.

Posted
19 minutes ago, Sylvia Saint said:

Hibberd is recruit of the year. 36 touches, rarely wasted, and that [censored] tackle at the end of the third. We are not worthy.

Neville 'brick wall' Jetta not far behind. Put that in your pipe and smoke it Dixon you giant ugly turd.

got to be at least even money fav for the Bluey ?

Posted

Hannan is streets ahead of vandenBerg. I liked what AV brought to the side but he was essentially a straight ahead truck with minimal skill. Hannan has an elite skill set, fantastic 1-on-1 and goes as hard as any. Very good player.

• Like 14
Posted

As for Trenners, I'm not a fan at all (though like everyone else I wish him success) but I thought he was fine. Considering it was his first game in how [censored] long? (When was his last win?)

He didn't look off the pace too me and made no stupid Bernie mistakes by foot or elbow. 

• Like 14

Posted
3 minutes ago, old dee said:

Sane position sue. I am really enjoying this win on a number of levels.

so....forget darwin.. bring on Tassie !!!  :pj:

Posted

Lewis behind the ball was massive! His leadership and setting the boys up reminded me of Luke hodge. 

Without him I worry port may have stolen that game. 

I also though trengove was solid, looked very composed with the ball. 

Hogan found a bit of form. 

Posted
9 minutes ago, Deestroy All said:

I could hear yelping from Footis-scray....  some poor fellow  called Bevo....bugger   bugger   bugger !!

Posted
24 minutes ago, Sylvia Saint said:

Hibberd is recruit of the year.

lol recruit of the year...

Recruit of ever.

Posted
54 minutes ago, Wiseblood said:

That, my fellow Demons, was a finals type game.  At times it was super to watch, at others times it was a scrappy affair where you needed to put your head over the footy and do the hard stuff.  And we won.  When Port had a real dip at us, and we all knew it would happen, we didn't drop our heads or move away from the stuff that makes us a good footy side.  We stuck to the task, rolled with the punches and got such an important victory for us.

One person who I'd like to single out is Melksham.  Yes, guys like Hibberd, Jetta and others were absolutely fantastic today and you would argue both would go close to best on ground.  But when we needed goals and a calm presence forward of the ball when we struggled to hit the scoreboard, he was the man.  He's been criticised this season, and in some ways it was justified, but he is more than proving his worth to our side right now.  I'm stoked for him.

We are a couple of wins away from playing finals and we've got so much more improvement to come in many players who have missed lots of footy, not to mention our captain returning in a week or two.  These are exciting times and how good is it to be a part of?  

DEMONS!

Mmmmm. Fantastic. I watched it on Fox first half, then turned the sound down in the third quarter and listened on ABC Radio, then couldn't stand the tension, and just watched Foxtel in silence. 

Was a great win. Such guts in the second half, and brilliance in the first: dare I say it was Bulldogs like from last year. We could win the next five - GWS are certainly vulnerable to that style of play. 

Go Dees!

Posted
Just now, Abe said:

Lewis behind the ball was massive! His leadership and setting the boys up reminded me of Luke hodge. 

Without him I worry port may have stolen that game. 

I also though trengove was solid, looked very composed with the ball. 

Hogan found a bit of form. 

Not for me ....I reckon about 5 of his handballs were to a player under much more pressure than himself. 

I agree re Hogan.

Props to Jetta, Hibberd, Tyson and Gawn.

Posted

Very reassuring performance.

We are playing excellent transition football. You could tell Port were coming and just needed the slightest amount of blood in the water to really get a run on.

We saw this and started chip kicking, milking the clock and ensuring the ball remained in our forward 50. 

I knew that we just had to weather the storm and then we would get the goals that would break their back. Never once did I think they would roll over us.

Pig Hibberd is a clear BOG for mine. Clarry gets a tip of the cap as well but sometimes I would like to see him kick with a bit more purpose. I understand he is usually extricating it from a pack but when he puts his mind to it, he can be devastating when kicking to a target.

Now the next question is how we beat Norf. This is as good a chance as any we have had. While I like Plugger McDonald forward (not just because of his gun barrel straight goal shooting but also the smart decisions he makes there), we may need to throw him onto Ben Brown. 

Goldy may remain in the twos. None of the good ordinary types who terrorized us for years are there.

Let's kick on boys!