Dump Darwin

Posted

After a superb victory over the Eagles finals beckon. At the moment we could be facing the prospect of four consecutive games at the MCG.Instead, in a few weeks,we travel to Darwin to face the Crows. Not only do we relinquish a significant home ground advantage but the following week presents a major hurdle. After the energy sapping conditions of the Top End we have to face Port in Melbourne in what will he a test of all recovery resources. Whilst I understand the NT contract expires at the end of next year,surely it's time for a change. Strongly believe that sustained finals football and on field success will swell membership and the clubs coffers. It's one thing's sell games, reasonably comfortable with Alice, but surely Darwin is a bridge to far. Staggered that the club can't negotiate a bye week following or, at the very least, an eight or nine day break.Lose against Adelaide &/or the Power and this deal will be under the microscope and finals compromised.

Agree with this. Completely understand it's for monetary purposes but the fundamental point of the game is to win flags. In sport you should never give up your advantage. 

The Darwin match has to go for so many reasons.

To compare it with teams who play in Tasmania completely misses the point.

It is a four hour flight to play a game in energy sapping humidity.

Games are decided by very small margins (don't we know it) and to give up any advantage is plain stupid.

$10 from every supporter would see the financial reasons for this game disappear. There are no long term benefits to be had from playing in the NT. The population of the whole of NT is around the population of Geelong and Bendigo combined.

Bulldogs used to play in Cairns but they don't any more.

9 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

The Darwin match has to go for so many reasons.

To compare it with teams who play in Tasmania completely misses the point.

It is a four hour flight to play a game in energy sapping humidity.

Games are decided by very small margins (don't we know it) and to give up any advantage is plain stupid.

$10 from every supporter would see the financial reasons for this game disappear. There are no long term benefits to be had from playing in the NT. The population of the whole of NT is around the population of Geelong and Bendigo combined.

Bulldogs used to play in Cairns but they don't any more.

I am a supporter of the Darwin match for a couple reasons.

1. it provides sponsorship dollars with the NT government and helps the club grow while we consolidate membership. The back of jumper sponsorship delays shows that this is still an issue for the club

2. From a fixture POV, If we did not play the games in NT we would be playing 2 more away games interstate. We would not be playing four games in a row at the MCG, we would be more likely to be playing the Crows as the G followed by Port in Adelaide. 

It's a necessary evil in the meantime while we continue to build the club coffers. Once we get more exposure as a club and better fixtures, the NT games will be less of a requirement in the future.

Plus, The Bulldogs are still playing in Cairns http://www.afl.com.au/match-centre/2017/18/wb-v-gcfc

Edited by DemonWorshipper

I would like to see either a bye after the Darwin match or two games played in Alice Springs.  The weather there seems to lack the humidity of Darwin at that time of year.

Agree on the humidity point and that was clear from the match against Freo last year. The Darwin game has now been a part of our fixture for the past 8 seasons and the club's fitness staff have clearly learnt a few things about recovery from the match.

I honestly would prefer we played all our home games at the MCG but at this stage, the club is making the most of the opportunity to grow the team brand outside of the confines of the Melbourne metro area while providing Darwin with some AFL exposure. 

Adelaide are faring no better as they have a 6 day turn around (we have 7) and have to play Geelong.

Edited by hardtack

Honestly though. How does playing in Darwin grow the brand ?

3 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

I guess you never never know if you never never go :lol:

7 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

Have you been to the Darwin game, I have 3 times, if you go you will see how it grows the brand

We also have a growing membershio out of Darwin and the NT, adding to the record membership

As Nathan Jones says, anytime anywhere

6 minutes ago, DemonWorshipper said:

I guess you never never know if you never never go :lol:

We've been how many times... Its not a growth market. Its just whoring our games .

8 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

It is not about brand it's about dollars.

PJ said recently that the Darwin and Alice games are equivalent in financial terms to a 60,000 crowd at the MCG. 

No Melbourne based team draws that number when fixtured in Melbourne against Freo, Brisbane, Port, Adelaide etc. 

Since the AFL refuse to fixture us home games against other top Melbourne clubs, we have to find the money elsewhere. 

Goot

I know its about money.

We need to find it elsewhere and rid ourselves of the need to put the red light on.

Thise NT supporters are a bunch of ingrates. Most follow the SA or WA teams. No co-incidence we mostly play them over there. And those clubs would never sacrifice a high attendance home game to play over there. I look forward to when the begging bowl fixtures for us are rid of once and for all.

45 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

For what it's worth, my daughters gymnastics coach is from the Alice, says she started following the dees because they played there. Also says a big portion of the town now follows us.

7 minutes ago, --coach-- said:

For what it's worth, my daughters gymnastics coach is from the Alice, says she started following the dees because they played there. Also says a big portion of the town now follows us.

All due respect. Drop in ocean stuff.

Good on 'em for following Dees though.

59 minutes ago, Satyriconhome said:

Have you been to the Darwin game, I have 3 times, if you go you will see how it grows the brand

We also have a growing membershio out of Darwin and the NT, adding to the record membership

How many members have signed up from The NT?

Find out the actual number, i bet it is under 100

Youd grow the brand more with 4 billboards and a couple of laneway murals !! Just saying.

NT is about the shekels. Nothing more nothing less.

1 minute ago, beelzebub said:

Youd grow the brand more with 4 billboards and a couple of laneway murals !! Just saying.

NT is about the shekels. Nothing more nothing less.

Of course it is. 

"Free Money...Get your Free Money here"

Sir Guy Grand

(Peter Sellers)

I'm of the 'Get over it' opinion. We need to be able to prepare and play anywhere any week.

we have no say over where finals get played and with so many interstate teams in the 8 it's very possible a team could have to travel to a different state every week.

Trips to Perth, Darwin tassie etc will hold us in good stead come finals time. We'll have good routines in place to prepare, play and then back it up again

2 hours ago, Satyriconhome said:

I've never seen the club spruik how many members they get from NT. If it's more than  a couple of hundred I'd be shocked

It is not as though we have been fixtured in Beijing! Darwin is fine by me as long as it is scheduled the week before the "bye"! 

I am sure that (as a percentage of total population) Melbourne has grown its support base more in the NT than either Port or the Suns have managed in China (despite the Suns playing in the same colours as the Chinese flag)! The flight time to China is far greater than to Darwin and the smog is a lot less in Darwin zero)!

I would rather the Dees strengthened their links with a State that is passionate about Aussie Rules and which is the source of some of the more exciting indigenous kids to pull on footy boots than play in another country with no interest whatsoever.

If the AFL want equalization, they shouldn't even be allowing us or any other team to sell home games interstate. They should instead compensate us with their broadcast slush fund.

3 hours ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

I've never seen the club spruik how many members they get from NT. If it's more than  a couple of hundred I'd be shocked

I know,  for Beebub SWYL and others let's have 22 games at the G.

It's 2017