Posted
5 hours ago, mongrel said:

Are we judging Kent predominantly on the back of his performances this season?

I agree he was poor on the weekend, especially his disposal and lack of pressure. Did not perform well at all.

But I feel like we're over analysing a pretty small sample of four games. I just don't think he's worked into form yet. Same could be said for a few players I think. His tackling is down this year, his inside 50's are OK.

Anyway I think his position is a hard one to play at the moment with our forward structure fairly out of whack.

Keen to see how he performs over the next few weeks to see if we can get the player of last year back .

His career has been disappointing to date.

Will need to show something before season end but my vote would be on trading him if we can get some value.

Posted
3 minutes ago, Deeoldfart said:

I generally like your work Wise, but I reckon you are being very generous to Dean on this one.  He's teased with the odd cameo, but,I can't remember a decent contribution from him when we've been down.  The weekend's game was the last straw for me.  It will take a string of very good games for me to climb back on his bandwagon, and I don't think he's got that in him. 

That's fair mate, although I don't think I defended him as much as you are suggesting.  It was more that I don't think the weekend should be a guide as I felt the small forwards were let down a little by the delivery and our ability to bring the ball to the ground.  Kent has been well below par this year, outside of one half against Geelong, and he needs to do far more for us going forward.  The problem we face is that the others we have tried haven't fared any better.  Is it time for Kennedy to get his chance?  Probably, but he has been convincing in his time at the club yet either.

Posted

He has great ability and at his best is a dynamic player who adds a great deal to the side.

But he's lazy, he doesn't work hard enough, and his worst is pathetic.

Unfortunately, he's trending towards the "worst" side of form right now.

Deserves to be dropped for the lazy performance on Sunday and his future rides on whether or not he is willing and/or able to commit to working harder. I fear, if not, he won't make it.

Posted
14 hours ago, america de cali said:

He doesn't do anything for the reputation and image of sleeve tat wearers. Compensating for what I wonder? 

I have a sleeve tat and it's not compensating for anything - it's just trying to distract from the horror that is my face.

Posted
23 minutes ago, mattjm said:

west coast are openly in the market for a small fwd.

kent is a sandgroper.

they have enquired about him in the past...

We would get almost nothing for him

Posted
5 hours ago, Tony Tea said:

Kent looks good running towards our goal, but has no idea what to do when he has to come up to meet the ball, then turn towards goal with an opponent between him and the goal.

No tricks.

Bevo would play him behind the ball.

Jason Dunstan would have made an ordinary HBFlanker.

Posted (edited)
16 hours ago, Skuit said:

Hannan has nailed down a spot? Silky smooth? I thought he played a good game also.

Did you hear his interview at the end of the game? Sounded like a really mature, well spoken and intelligent fella

Edited by DominatrixTyson

Posted

Does he look like Superman though? He's not a big lad, or a scary one.

Posted
16 minutes ago, Dappa Dan said:

He's come a long way, baby.

A8lfp0yCcAASHFo.jpg

Posted
4 hours ago, DominatrixTyson said:

When does Vandenburg come back? 

I think he is our new 4-6.

To say we need him is an understatement.

Posted (edited)
7 hours ago, Skuit said:

A8lfp0yCcAASHFo.jpg

A tetralogy of spuds.

Posted
7 hours ago, Skuit said:

A8lfp0yCcAASHFo.jpg

I just threw up in my mouth.

Posted
6 hours ago, Demon77 said:

I think he is our new 4-6.

To say we need him is an understatement.

When a side loses or has a bad trot, the tendency is to hyper-value those that are not in the side.  That is not an understatement.

Remember it was the experience of Jordan Lewis and Bernie Vince that cost us early doors?

Then it was Hogan....

Gawn (which is obviously massive)

We would have won if he played.......

This is Demonland, not fields or SEN....I hope.

Posted
11 hours ago, Dappa Dan said:

I'd love to see your undies after Kent runs his 11.2 second 100m towards you.

If you don't fear mass and speed, you are either brave, stupid, or have no idea of Newton and Co.

Posted
20 hours ago, america de cali said:

Knowing a few old school tat wearers, those who wear tats are like soup and there are two kinds. The first are like a bag of rough bones boiled for hours and make a hearty stock. The other kind are water added to instant noodles.

I have had my tatts for 30 years do I count as the former

Kent  is like the rest of our 'younger' players, consistently inconsistent 

Posted (edited)
5 minutes ago, Satyriconhome said:

I have had my tatts for 30 years do I count as the former

Kent  is like the rest of our 'younger' players, consistently inconsistent 

I guess at your age now you are only good for boiling for stock like an old chicken. But old tats have more street cred.

Posted
35 minutes ago, TGR said:

When a side loses or has a bad trot, the tendency is to hyper-value those that are not in the side.  That is not an understatement.

Remember it was the experience of Jordan Lewis and Bernie Vince that cost us early doors?

Then it was Hogan....

Gawn (which is obviously massive)

We would have won if he played.......

This is Demonland, not fields or SEN....I hope.

I don't believe Vandenberg would ever pull out of a contest like Mr Kent did on Sunday. 

Posted
13 hours ago, Rafiki said:

We would get almost nothing for him

Fair price at current value.

Posted (edited)
28 minutes ago, america de cali said:

I guess at your age now you are only good for boiling for stock like an old chicken. But old tats have more street cred.

We are never boiled, we are simmered gently to enhance all the rich ingredients we have acquired over the years, we tend to appeal to those with a more refined palette rather than your normal meat and potatoes footy fan

I take it by this that Kent is the whipping boy de jour

Posted
17 minutes ago, Satyriconhome said:

We are never boiled, we are simmered gently to enhance all the rich ingredients we have acquired over the years, we tend to appeal to those with a more refined palette rather than your normal meat and potatoes footy fan

I take it by this that Kent is the whipping boy de jour

Maybe how he's been playing has something to do with it

Posted

Kent can play but I think his attitude is out at the moment, I'd give him this week to show he can be stronger in the contest and not pull out knowing everyone will be looking to see if can redeem himself

Posted

Maybe he is sore with that crook back he had pre-season...I like him as a player when he's up and going but been underwhelming so far this season.