TEAM SELECTION AND MATCH PREVIEW - ROUND 5

Kent annoys me.

Despite his miracle goal from the boundary last week his kicking for goal is atrocious.

He demands to be picked and when he is picked it is as a goal kicker but then he misses far, far too many simple shots on goal.

Every time he plays.

I reckon reward goal kickers with a game the following week and fine them when they miss set shots from 30 metres out.

That's their job: they are picked in the team and paid to KICK GOALS. It'sĀ  no good getting heaps of the pill if they cannot do the deed.

Ā 

Not thrilled with selection this week. Why is Kent dropped? Why is JKH in? Why can't Pedersen get a game? Would be far better for our structure and allow Watts to play a pure forward role.

6 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Not thrilled with selection this week. Why is Kent dropped? Why is JKH in? Why can't Pedersen get a game? Would be far better for our structure and allow Watts to play a pure forward role.

As a reluctant expert, I'd suggest Kent (as has been suggested in infinite other posts) has failed in his defensive duties. The coaching staffĀ rate JKH and want to give him an opportunity and Pedersen, rightly or wrongly is cooked in the eyes of Goodwin and co...Ā 

Also @Dr. Gonzo, I'd suggest trawling through...lets see... perhaps the two pages previous to the post that you are looking to make, to see what all the other reluctant experts are postulating about...

1 minute ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Asked and answered previously I'd have thought but :

In Kent's case it is because he is a lazy campaigner. Picks & chooses when he wants to go. Plays "me first" rather than team first. I'm thrilled he was dropped. It might be the rocket he needs because he does have some ability

In Pedo's case he is not selected because he is bog-ordinary. Earnest but ordinary

JKH I'll admit is a mystery off the back of 1 Casey game after returning from a broken arm. I think he has talent but to paraphrase Jack Dyer, too often gets where the ball ain't

1 minute ago, Go the Biff said:

Asked and answered previously I'd have thought but :

In Kent's case it is because he is a lazy campaigner. Picks & chooses when he wants to go. Plays "me first" rather than team first. I'm thrilled he was dropped. It might be the rocket he needs because he does have some ability

In Pedo's case he is not selected because he is bog-ordinary. Earnest but ordinary

JKH I'll admit is a mystery off the back of 1 Casey game after returning from a broken arm. I think he has talent but to paraphrase Jack Dyer, too often gets where the ball ain't

Love that last line biff.

One of my all time favourites and in this case apt.Ā 

7 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Kent was average last week, JKH has been going well by all reports and Pedo is crap.Ā 

Richmond have brought in Markov who is seriously a quick player.

Looks like they have gone with a super quick side.

Ā 
4 hours ago, titan_uranus said:

How much worse does Melksham have to play before he gets dropped?

Would have preferred to have given Bugg another game than Melksham.

If he has another stinker he'll make way for Lewis the week afterĀ 

30 minutes ago, Danelska said:

As a reluctant expert, I'd suggest Kent (as has been suggested in infinite other posts) has failed in his defensive duties. The coaching staffĀ rate JKH and want to give him an opportunity and Pedersen, rightly or wrongly is cooked in the eyes of Goodwin and co...Ā 

Also @Dr. Gonzo, I'd suggest trawling through...lets see... perhaps the two pages previous to the post that you are looking to make, to see what all the other reluctant experts are postulating about...

Sorry for taking up your precious time, if it's such a hindrance to read then feel free to ignore my posts.

I did post my thoughts on selection before going back to read the thread. The defensive aspect to Kent makes sense however I dont see JKH as the answer and I would've thought Kent had earned at least another crack. He's the type of player who can bob up for 3 or 4 goals which is something we'll need on Monday. I think it's an error by the match committee, I hope to be proven wrong.

6 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

If he has another stinker he'll make way for Lewis the week afterĀ 

Don't put the house on it Dr.

I smell some favourtism.

29 minutes ago, Demons11 said:

Kent was average last week, JKH has been going well by all reports and Pedo is crap.Ā 

JKH has played one Casey game and never done much at AFL level. Too often goes missing. Kent may need a ticket but is also far more dangerous up forward, especially with Hogan back in bringing more balls to ground. Bad call in my opinion.

Pedersen is not crap, he's not gonna be a game breaker but he is a marking target, runs hard, can kick a goal and most importantly can receive Spencer and allow Watts to stay at home inside 50/across half forward creating scoring opportunities.

41 minutes ago, doug williams said:

Kent annoys me.

Despite his miracle goal from the boundary last week his kicking for goal is atrocious.

He demands to be picked and when he is picked it is as a goal kicker but then he misses far, far too many simple shots on goal.

Every time he plays.

I reckon reward goal kickers with a game the following week and fine them when they miss set shots from 30 metres out.

That's their job: they are picked in the team and paid to KICK GOALS. It'sĀ  no good getting heaps of the pill if they cannot do the deed.

I agree with you, except he isn't picked as a goal kicker. Ā If he was you'd be happy that he gets 3-5 shots on goal every week and understand that some weeks he'll nail them and others he won't. If he was playing as a forward pocket, like Jeff, he'd have this luxury; his main KPI being generating shots on goal.Ā 

He plays half forward. Ā And his KPIs are also good quality inside 50s and keeping the ball in (forward pressure), as well as having shots. Unfortunately he doesn't do these things well. Ā And he misses too many shots to get away with failing his other positional KPIs.

Ā 

Ā 

4 minutes ago, old dee said:

Don't put the house on it Dr.

I smell some favourtism.

Someone will make way for him and if it's not Melksham its out of Stretch, ANB, Vince, Harmes and JKHĀ 

Bugg 5 goals and 30+ touches tonight at Casey. Is this a selection shocker?Ā 

I thought Bugg was serviceable last week; I fear we may be making changes for the sake of it.Ā 

Lets not get started with Melksham.Ā 

Agree with all other changes.

2 minutes ago, Deemented Are Go! said:

I thought Bugg was serviceable last week; I fear we may be making changes for the sake of it.Ā 

Must say we seem to be making more changes than results and VFL form would suggest however I suspect that there are some firm convictions as others have mentioned as to how the game plan should be executed.

I am starting to wonder if the coaching staff are playing to the game plan rather than to win and therefore with an eye on the future.

Could be an interesting season.

2 minutes ago, Deemented Are Go! said:

Didn't think he or Kent should've been dropped. Bugg always plays a role and is consistent.Ā Not surprised he destroyed it in the VFL. He's too good to play there. Think both those guys offer more than JKH, who seriously lacks pace, ball winning skills and goal scoring skill. Don't understandĀ them rushing him in after one average VFL game.

I tipped us to win during the week but after the strange team selections with us ditching speed I reckon the Tigers will torch us. Hopefully I'm wrong because I really wanna beat those pretenders!

9 minutes ago, Deemented Are Go! said:

It's not looking great right now. Just hitting form by the looks of things.

1 hour ago, Danelska said:

Sorry, but don't buy this. Ā Why would the MFC bother re-signing Pedersen atĀ the end of last season if it was the case?

Still I'm happy enough that we at least brought in Smith, as he looked alot like a goer in his first outing against Geeeelong.

26 minutes ago, Deemented Are Go! said:

I had a go at Melksham this week, but then the AFL issue came out and it may have affected him worrying about what would happen.Ā 

He was ok the first two games.Ā 

Can't see us winning this game unfortunately.

Some of the selections are just meh for me.

42 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

JKH has played one Casey game and never done much at AFL level. Too often goes missing. Kent may need a ticket but is also far more dangerous up forward, especially with Hogan back in bringing more balls to ground. Bad call in my opinion.

Pedersen is not crap, he's not gonna be a game breaker but he is a marking target, runs hard, can kick a goal and most importantly can receive Spencer and allow Watts to stay at home inside 50/across half forward creating scoring opportunities.

I would prefer Hogan, Smith, WeedĀ and Watts over Pedersen. Ā He has been on our list for 3 maybe 4 years and has had 5 good games. Ā They kept him only because Dawes was delisted. Ā 

Kent maybe dangerous when running forward but has laid 1 tackle in 2 weeks. Goodwin is setting a standard which is great for the club. Ā It's a team game

Ā 
3 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Meh??? Yeah bring in our best forward and targeted off season recruit and we are definitely worse off. Mate pleaseĀ 

3 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Maybe the selectors think "meh" can win.Ā