Posted

This all smacks of the Clayton Oliver non story, I spoke to Jack at Family Day, he was all cool

To give an example of Demonland sourcing,  I joked with Robbo about how his rig was admired on here, Mark Stevens was stood next to us, he said "yes I saw that", all the journos are regular readers of Demonland

Posted
23 minutes ago, Night Crawler said:

Personally I was surprised how the poster was pretty much attacked for daring to mention something negative he had heard.

Not unusual around these parts sometimes 

Posted
4 hours ago, ProDee said:

No.  Just annoyance that a bloke who has had one good year in 8 gets ahead of himself.

It wouldn't surprise me if there was some substance to it - hearing his speech at the B&F last year my impression was that he seemed extremely self-satisfied, more-so than others who took the stage that night. 

Will be interesting to see how this plays out.

Posted
3 minutes ago, Satyriconhome said:

To give an example of Demonland sourcing,  I joked with Robbo about how his rig was admired on here, Mark Stevens was stood next to us, he said "yes I saw that", all the journos are regular readers of Demonland

Of course they do and all the other footy forums too. It's called "research" these days

Posted

Complete nonsense this... And those falling for it are the reason clickbait journalism exists.

Posted

Dependent on the player, depends on the validity of claims by the media for most posters on here. 

This preseason I have heard rumours or Angus Brayshaw being told to pull his head in for partying too hard, Michael hibberd coming back [censored] fit rather than fit fit now this Jack watts rumour. Would have loved Goodwin to have been asked about it, but he wasn't in the presser and to be fair it just seems like another Demonland rumour given air time

Posted

Could this be real? Yes, very much so.

Do I believe it? Not until Jack Watts is officially named by the club to miss Round 1. 

Wouldn't be the first time a journalist has circled Demonland for the latest MFC news and rumours.

Posted

The only thing I found strange in the leadup was that when our team was announced, Watts was not listed as a noticeable exclusion amongst the likes of Tyson, Kent etc.

He was simply missing from the lineup and not mentioned at all.

Posted
32 minutes ago, Wiseblood said:

Hardly.  Some posters questioned the validity of the rumour, myself included.  He wasn't attacked, but in saying that, when you post a rumour that is not based on anything but hearsay you're likely to get backlash from some.

When is a rumour anything but...?

Posted (edited)
25 minutes ago, Satyriconhome said:

This all smacks of the Clayton Oliver non story, I spoke to Jack at Family Day, he was all cool

Classic Saty.

Though I don't necessarily disagree with the first bit.

Posted

When did he come back in poor condition?  October break, Christmas break..? Surely we wouldn't be punishing someone for their condition four months ago??

Posted
2 minutes ago, daisycutter said:

i'd never heard of mitch cleary. seems he's from wa and works for crocmedia and keen to get noticed

Crocmedia = Bogan HQ

Posted
Just now, TeamPlayedFine39 said:

When did he come back in poor condition?  October break, Christmas break..? Surely we wouldn't be punishing someone for their condition four months ago??

and i've heard nothing but praise of his training form and attitude from posters attending training

Posted
31 minutes ago, sue said:

Of course it may be real, but I'm tempted to risk banning net week by starting a rumour about a high-profile player and seeing how long before SEN or some other slack journos fly with it.

BTW, for those who think his ommision in itself was suspicious, how about :  I was told by a source close to the club that Watts was in such good shape that there seemed little point in putting him in the team ahead of some of the marginal players who we wanted to have a good look at in a real game.  Seems a credible statement.

It'd need to be a team effort. One poster shares the rumour from one source, another backs them up after 'talking to someone who would know', then a couple of fake accounts on bigfooty.

It is almost unfair on the journo, you just know they'll bite.

Anyway, to me, the 'poor condition -> omission' things would seem more credible if it were a case of 'point source' rather than 'general'. Arriving hungover to a session during the Gold Coast trip, rather than being generally unfit.

Ooh, there we go, the rumour is getting some meat on it now.

Posted
49 minutes ago, ProDee said:

No.  Just annoyance that a bloke who has had one good year in 8 gets ahead of himself.

He owes his himself, his club and his teammates far more than that.

An element of confirmation bias iperhaps pd, in so far as you are choosing to believe what are only rumours. But if they do prove to be true i would be equally annoyed. Given where we are at in our evolution and the fact he has a new coach anything less than 100% commitment is unforgiveable. It might be lucky for me we bet last seaon not this one

Posted
6 minutes ago, daisycutter said:

i don't care what they're saying. i still reckon chip will stay.

Nah, we're just playing him to ensure we get maximum compensation. Roos is a genius.

Posted
2 minutes ago, daisycutter said:

i don't care what they're saying. i still reckon chip will stay.

I believe in Tom.

Posted
17 minutes ago, binman said:

An element of confirmation bias iperhaps pd, in so far as you are choosing to believe what are only rumours. But if they do prove to be true i would be equally annoyed. Given where we are at in our evolution and the fact he has a new coach anything less than 100% commitment is unforgiveable. It might be lucky for me we bet last seaon not this one

Unlike trade rumours these types that go to air by a sports show invariably have reasonable elements of truth to them.

But as I've previously stated, if posters don't want to believe their darling has come back from the preseason in anything less than A-one condition they can.

Having posted hear for 15 years it's fair to say I have a healthy disregard for the views of most.

Posted
Just now, ProDee said:

But as I've previously stated, if posters don't want to believe their darling has come back from the preseason in anything less than A-one condition they can.

The reverse is true also.  Others of us that have been posting here for 15 years are not surprised at all that you jumped on this rumour the minute it came to light.  We all have our biases, you're no different.