Am waiting on a concrete truck....dont look at me :P

Posted

Im waiting....

Posted
2 minutes ago, dino rover said:

Im waiting....

For the t-r or the truck ? Truck's here...unlike :unsure: lol

Am sure theyll be worth the wait ..............

Posted
5 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

Please explain

Obvious..had to do whatever it took ^_^

Posted

Got my eyes peeled, but can't see anything at the moment...

Posted

reminds me of waiting for a bus in London... nothing nothing................nothing...........

then they all come at once  ..lol

any minute now I'm sure ;)

Posted (edited)

The soccer drill involved keeping the ball in the air, Jones' group failed miserably with the feet, so went with the head

Garlett did about 2 hours, worked hard and as per the norm looked like he had been for a walk, first session so blow out the cobwebs   pic on Instagram soon  edit maybe later  as forgot to put Garlett pic on phone

Posted
9 minutes ago, Demon Jack said:

Righto, I'll bite. I dropped into training for an hour or so this morning.

I didn't take any notes so I'm just going by memory. 

- The rehab group consisted of Oliver, McDonald Snr, Trengove, Kent, JKH, King and some bloke name Jordan Lewis.

- Garlett was present and ran laps with Hibberd, the latter looking extremely knackered after he finished his set. Meanwhile, Daniel Cross still looks in ripping shape. He ran the same amount of laps and barely looked fazed afterwards.

- The main group warmed up with some general stretches and running exercises. Nothing too special.

- Too my surprise, the soccer balls came out and the boys divided up into groups of five or six where they would try keep the ball in the air for as long as they could without using their hands. The group closest to me which consisted of the Skipper, Gus, ANB, Petracca and Hogan completed a nice set of 30 or so passes using only their heads.

- Next, the boys split into groups of two and the staff brought out a set of harnesses which would be put on a player who would walk forward while the other team member attempted to pull him back. Interesting little exercise that I haven't seen before yet at a Melbourne training session.

- A few kicking drills followed where coaches would attempt to put pressure on the player kicking.

- Noticed a lot of match simulation drills involving the boys splitting up into two seperate groups. Bit like a game of keepings off. Had too leave around this time so I didnt see too much.

A few other bits and pieces

- Oscar McDonald looks more filled out, but he had a couple of shockers in regards to disposal.

- It's a cliche, but plenty of players look in ripping shape at the moment. Stretch, Smith, Salem (looks incredible given the last six months), Hunt and ANB are all players who looked to have bulked up a bit.

- Petracca is so clean. He just doesn't make mistakes.

- Lewis is a beautiful kick. He had a kick to kick with TMac, JKH and Pedders and he didn't miss one target.

Apologies for not taking any notes. Expect a more detailed training report next time I attend a session.

Thanks for the report.

I was listening to SEN just before and Jake Melksham was on talking about what he'd been doing for the last 10 months, he also mentioned that Hibbered was a little overweight when he rocked up to the club for Pre Season but that didn't seem to surprise him, he said this wasn't the favourite time of the year for his mate Gibbered.

He also said he won't feel like a Melbourne player until he's played his first game but he's looking forward to it and is happy to be under Goodwin who he said for a head coach, is really approachable, he also said we will be playing a much more attacking game this year. As far as position, he was supposed to be originally playing half back but now after talking to Goodwin it will more likely be half forward/Mid.

• Like 15
Posted

Slight aside, but I'd like to see an aerobic running comp between Daniel Cross and 8 or 10 of the fittest guys across the AFL. Reckon Crossy would do quite well. 

Posted
23 minutes ago, Demon Jack said:

- Too my surprise, the soccer balls came out and the boys divided up into groups of five or six where they would try keep the ball in the air for as long as they could without using their hands. The group closest to me which consisted of the Skipper, Gus, ANB, Petracca and Hogan completed a nice set of 30 or so passes using only their heads.

- Next, the boys split into groups of two and the staff brought out a set of harnesses which would be put on a player who would walk forward while the other team member attempted to pull him back.

So, presumably we are either auditioning for a transition from the AFL to the A-League, or we are gonna contract our players out to needy farmers to work as human oxen, pulling the ploughs etc.  Neat!

Posted
1 minute ago, Vagg said:

So, presumably we are either auditioning for a transition from the AFL to the A-League, or we are gonna contract our players out to needy farmers to work as human oxen, pulling the ploughs etc.  Neat!

we probably borrowed the harnesses from our nrl neighboours the storm. a popular nrl exercise

Posted
1 hour ago, armstrong35 said:

Was working at the Essendon Football club today, let's just say they were very ordinary. Made work a lot better 

Working or casing the joint?

Posted

Apart from the coordination skills involved with the soccer drills, it is also good for kicking ball off ground etc

Clarry has been crook, sent for tests,  felt better today, I asked him

Trenners, what I thought building load up slowly so foot doesn't play up, all good

Posted
1 hour ago, armstrong35 said:

Was working at the Essendon Football club today, let's just say they were very ordinary.

And they still beat us this yr which makes it even worse. 

Posted
17 minutes ago, deeko said:

I'm down from Mildura for the weekend and watched my first ever training and took a couple random notes on the phone. First thing I noticed was how windy it was, much like a vfl game on how bloody cold it was. Don't know how you all handle it.

you Sunraysia lads...lol  You sound like my wife..all Brrrrrr

Great report btw..cheers