Posted
8 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

If Brisbane badly want Dunn then I'm sure there is no harm in asking the question is there considering he probably still has another 2 years of good solid footy up in Brisbane.

Of course the answer will be no so then we move on. Not someone worth giving up a 1st rounder and a player Timmy Harrington..

Hahaha they wouldn't even meet with us knowing that was the offer, but great negotiating Schwabby!

Posted (edited)

Dunn couldn't be worth anymore than a third round pick to a club who need a defender. I can't imagine a player who played most of the season in the seconds would be worth anymore than this. 

Edited by Ethan Tremblay

Posted
44 minutes ago, mo64 said:

I'm pretty sure this is the reason that Brisbane are shopping him around. Usually clubs employing a new coach would retain a talent like Hanley, but clearly the club don't see him as a good influence on a young list.

A big no for me based on the reasons above and his age.

Haha i know right.. Then you have the recruiting guru Stuie willing to blow a 1st rounder on him! 

Posted

Yeah I agree I still think his steadiness and skill are worth more in a developing side. O Mac still far from convincing for mine, but thats just IMO.

I would rather keep Dunny and jetison Garland!

Posted
11 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Haha i know right.. Then you have the recruiting guru Stuie willing to blow a 1st rounder on him! 

Lions are wanting a top 10 pick, but you're right, Dunn should get the deal done...

:pj:

Posted

Personally, I'd rather keep for his contracted final year and give him the chance over pre-season to fight back for his spot.

If doesn't he plays VFL and can do as he pleases at the end of next year as a free agent. Garland on the other hand, he's just finished his first year of a 3 year contract, I'd rather move him on rather than him sitting on the list for another 2 years without getting a game like old mate Terlich.

I wouldn't be surprised if the Lions go after someone like Michie as well, but considering he's a rookie I don't think we can trade anything for him so he'd just be a DFA.

If we do say good bye to Dunn, Garland, Dawes, Newton, Terlich, Grimes and maybe Lamumba over the next year I think we would have a bit of cash to lure a decent Free Agent next year, especially if we continue to make another positive step in right direction next season.

Posted
1 hour ago, stuie said:

Soooooo he's 27 then, like I said.

No he's 27 years and 10 months which is closer to 28 and he will be 28 before pre season starts, that is a more accurate reflection of where he's at.

You can fool yourself if you think we would be getting a 27 year old, I'd rather deal with the facts.

BTW, Hibbered has nominated us so that should make you feel better.

Posted
2 minutes ago, daisycutter said:

why give essendrug an upgraded 2nd rounder?

Absolutely agree and as I said weeks ago the deal is done. Our current 2nd rounder is the deal. Expect it to be done on the opening Trade day.

Posted
55 minutes ago, stuie said:

Lions are wanting a top 10 pick, but you're right, Dunn should get the deal done...

:pj:

If you had top ten picks to burn then you'd do the deal, I'm sure that GC can afford to burn a first round pick.

Posted
8 minutes ago, Dante said:

No he's 27 years and 10 months which is closer to 28 and he will be 28 before pre season starts, that is a more accurate reflection of where he's at.

You can fool yourself if you think we would be getting a 27 year old, I'd rather deal with the facts.

BTW, Hibbered has nominated us so that should make you feel better.

So he is closer to to 28 than 27 even though he is 27?

Posted
9 minutes ago, Dante said:

No he's 27 years and 10 months

So he's 27 then. Unless he's a toddler and you want to start giving his age in months?

Posted
1 minute ago, stuie said:

So he's 27 then. Unless he's a toddler and you want to start giving his age in months?

Any person with half a brain would understand what I meant, he will be 28 before the season starts and probably before pre season starts, so if you think you are getting a 27  year old think again, before the paperwork goes through he will be 28.

Posted
1 minute ago, Redleg said:

Are you guys talking about Hibberd?  He is 26 turning 27 next January.

No, they're pointlessly arguing about Hanley.

Posted
4 hours ago, mo64 said:

Not sure what relevance Minson has to your argument. I'd never play Spencer as the no.1 ruckman for that very reason.

As for the Dogs key defenders, due to injury, Beveridge has played those that he's had at his disposal. Morris, Hamling and Adams have all been played as stay at home defenders. He obviously saw the need in that area when he started the job because he's brought in Hamling and Adams since he arrived.

Minson is the example of a good older player who does certain things better than the younger options who has been routinely left out for young more athletic alternatives. 

The Dogs have mostly used 2 key defenders with Wood as a 3rd tall and a bunch of small rebounding flankers. Sometimes only 1. Rarely have they played 3 genuine talls. Morris is a great CHB and then they've played Adams, Hamling or Roberts at FB depending on fitness. If Dunn was at the Dogs I think he'd be fighting for that one spot as well. 

Bevo has done a great job with Picken, Wood and some other older guys in new roles. But I doubt he would've had any interest in a half fit immobile Dunn that was playing at the start of the year. His strong finish to the VFL season is papering over the cracks that were evident in his AFL form. Which means either he's found form and fitness as the year has gone on or the VFL is just such a step down he appears that way. 

Posted
6 hours ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

That is my take also.  He had 22 kicks and 2 handballs.  Big kicks are fine with the kick ins (there were 5) but the other 17 were field kicks; at least half were bombs to a pack or no one.  That isn't the way our backline functions now.  As you say, it is fast movement often using hand ball to get out and then let the ball carrier run with it. 

I think he had plenty of opportunities over the last 3 years to get fit and follow coaches instructions and the time to show he can/will play the coaches 'team first', fast-moving game style has passed.  And a change may be the best thing for him and his footy career.

Its always sad to see a long-term player go but if his pick helps us trade in a back up ruckman or ruck forward then it will be good for us. 

Well said LH.

Must say I watched Dunn closely last Sunday to see if he was exhibiting the 'run on" style that the MFC are now playing. Like others I did not see it.

In another post someone mentioned that he was playing more of a "back stop role."

Others more familiar with Casey may like to comment as to whether he has shown success at the current MFC style and if as I suspect that success is limited I see little value in retaining Dunn. The senior player one is looking for is a Heath Shaw type ie one who can take the ball, run and deliver to advantage. (Sounds a little like Lamumba but that is the land of dreams perhaps.)

Posted

The other thing I noticed with Dunn on the weekend was a continuation of the predictable kick-in from the opposition's behinds. The little kick to himself, three or four paces outside the goal square and then a long kick to a pack on his RHS. Exactly the same as most kick-ins when he was in the seniors. It may have been under instructions, but whether or not, it was awfully predictable. 

Posted
11 minutes ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

The other thing I noticed with Dunn on the weekend was a continuation of the predictable kick-in from the opposition's behinds. The little kick to himself, three or four paces outside the goal square and then a long kick to a pack on his RHS. Exactly the same as most kick-ins when he was in the seniors. It may have been under instructions, but whether or not, it was awfully predictable. 

you forgot to add 'close to half way up the ground'

Posted
2 minutes ago, RalphiusMaximus said:

Want to throw in Hogan and Viney while you're at it? 

Lol So you're saying you rate Dunn as highly as Hogan or Viney?

Ok then...

Posted
8 hours ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

That is my take also.  He had 22 kicks and 2 handballs.  Big kicks are fine with the kick ins (there were 5) but the other 17 were field kicks; at least half were bombs to a pack or no one.  That isn't the way our backline functions now.  As you say, it is fast movement often using hand ball to get out and then let the ball carrier run with it. 

I think he had plenty of opportunities over the last 3 years to get fit and follow coaches instructions and the time to show he can/will play the coaches 'team first', fast-moving game style has passed.  And a change may be the best thing for him and his footy career.

Its always sad to see a long-term player go but if his pick helps us trade in a back up ruckman or ruck forward then it will be good for us. 

They mentioned on the coverage that 17 of his 19 kicks had hit the target sometime in the last.