View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Around the Grounds Round 15

11 hours ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

Rance spoils footy. 

Cometti : You can't teach that can you? Got his fist exactly to where the ball is.

What part of that can't be taught?

And to think Dennis used to be a coach, and not a bad one!

Saints looking woeful so far against Gold Coast.

Edited by Forest Demon

2 minutes ago, Forest Demon said:

Saints looking woeful so far against Gold Coast.

Too much celebrating last week??

1 minute ago, Deemented Are Go! said:

So who reckons st kilda have gone past us now ?!

It's more like we refuse to go past them....

Just now, Deemented Are Go! said:

The usuals - mo64, Clint, SWYL, BBP etc.  

Suns are looking much better now that they've gotten most of their good players back in to the side.  They aren't the pushovers they were in the first half of the season.

Just now, Wiseblood said:

The usuals - mo64, Clint, SWYL, BBP etc.  

not me. Riewoldt is the last Bastion for the Aints

Gee, I know he didn't do a lot against us, but I really rate Peter Wright. He is going to be a star if he continues on this trajectory. 

1 hour ago, Deemented Are Go! said:

Saints had a 5.5 day break between games + interstate travel; most predicted that Gold Coast would win today.

And it could be deja vu for us next week as we travel to play Fremantle in the NT after a 5.5 day break, unless our coaches see fit to force team changes.

• Author
1 minute ago, SaberFang said:

Saints had a 5.5 day break between games + interstate travel; most predicted that Gold Coast would win today.

And it could be deja vu for us next week as we travel to play Fremantle in the NT after a 5.5 day break, unless our coaches see fit to force team changes.

But our woes are self inflicted

A dumb game that looks a dumber move each year

Imagine if our finals aspirations were riding on the next two weeks

46 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

But our woes are self inflicted

A dumb game that looks a dumber move each year

Imagine if our finals aspirations were riding on the next two weeks

Well, they technically are.

Few would expect we stand any finals chances now (I think Poort will Bradbury if anyone does) but we can certainly forget it if we can't get a minimum 3 wins from our next 4 matches (Adelaide, Freo in the NT, Saints and Suns IIRC).

1 hour ago, SaberFang said:

St Kilda played last Saturday night so that's a 7-day break, 6.5 if you want to call it that because last week was a night game.

Meanwhile Gold Coast played in Tasmania last Sunday so they had a 6-day break.

Today's game was not about the break, it was about the fact that St Kilda are no better than we are and, IMO, they are in fact worse.

3 hours ago, Sir Why You Little said:

not me. Riewoldt is the last Bastion for the Aints

Yep once he goes, Montagna too, they are rooted.

1 hour ago, titan_uranus said:

St Kilda played last Saturday night so that's a 7-day break, 6.5 if you want to call it that because last week was a night game.

Meanwhile Gold Coast played in Tasmania last Sunday so they had a 6-day break.

Today's game was not about the break, it was about the fact that St Kilda are no better than we are and, IMO, they are in fact worse.

Apologies, thought they played Sunday arvo.

Either way, doesn't change the fact we'll have a 5.5 day break between games and are playing halfway across the country. If ever there were a year to play that mob at the G, it was this year. And despite all that, it's still probably our best chance to finally win a game in the NT though, so there's that.

3 minutes ago, SaberFang said:

Apologies, thought they played Sunday arvo.

Either way, doesn't change the fact we'll have a 5.5 day break between games and are playing halfway across the country. If ever there were a year to play that mob at the G, it was this year. And despite all that, it's still probably our best chance to finally win a game in the NT though, so there's that.

how does 6 days 4 hours suddenly become 5.5 days? i never understand this modern math stuff

If our game against the Crows finishes at approx. 6pm tomorrow and we play the Shockers at 7.40pm AEST next Saturday, the gap equates to 6 days, 1 hour, 40 minutes.

6 day break. simple. 

Dogs ability to continue to play on at all costs and take the game on was very commendable in that last 3 minutes. Ripping game.

Kind of wanted Sydney to win for some reason. I can't even put my finger on it but I hate seeing the Dogs successful, especially after the basket case they were left in 2 years ago. It pisses me off how much success they've had with a list that young and inexperienced, plus riddled with injuries, that they've uncovered ridiculously good players with such late picks.

There's also something about Beveridge that irritates me; his anti-WADA commentary does him no favours either. Oh, and it annoys me how good Bontempelli is and we missed him. Gah!

But I have no love of Sydney either. That would hurt more than the Tigers loss I reckon.

Weird feeling. Maybe it's just jealousy?

Edited by SaberFang

Just now, Demon Disciple said:

If our game against the Crows finishes at approx. 6pm tomorrow and we play the Shockers at 7.40pm AEST next Saturday, the gap equates to 6 days, 1 hour, 40 minutes.

6 day break. simple. 

you really need to go from start to start, otherwise if you played at 2:30 every saturday you'd never get a 7 day break

but we are getting a bit pedantic. point is that "5.5 day break" is way off the mark

Five teams in equal 2nd position, all on 10 wins 4 losses

Crazy stuff

7 minutes ago, Demon Disciple said:

6 day break. simple. 

It's not really a pure 6 day break though, is it. Players will spend hours in recovery following the match, probably getting home close to midnight Sunday.

And then they have a 4 hour flight on Friday. It's not as cut and dry as a 6 day break IMHO.

Should the Swans be worried about their failures to close out tight games?