Posted
15 hours ago, grey wolf said:

I had to pinch myself for as I walked up through my rainforest because their laying between the buttress roots of a giant red cedar that was probably a sapling when the first football was ever kicked in hope was a man smoking a cigar and I scratched my nose because it was can you believe it yes it was no crap it was it was JT himself and I greeted him with awe and he said hi grey wolf good to see you awake.

JT I chortled my dream is in tatters mate no prestia and no hurley and he blew cigar smoke up into the giant tree and looking directly at me he sighed and said no worries old grey wolf no need to worry because these things fall out for the best and we just light another pipe and open our minds to new possibilities and we can be a deeper blue and our red years can go on longer and if you take a drag on my smoke you might see it too and I did and I did it again and again and I saw it...

JT and TV were at the bar in the Portsea pub and they were earnest and roger in their conversation and I could hear it and JT said to TV don't worry about Hurley mate young OMac is the goods and BMc and SG and JR can make him as good as his bro and prestia wanted too much coin and young salem could still be anything and so here is the new idea todd and I was sucking in more smoke under the tree to hear every word and this is the new plan I heard...

So todd we will give the giants our 2017 first pick and they will give us pick 14 this year and so we end up with 14 15 34 42 and 44 at the draft and todd you know who we are after with these picks don't you and todd started laughing so loudly he fell off his chair and the cigar was finished.

WTF did I just read.

Posted
8 hours ago, grazman said:

Interestingly when Hardwick was on the couch Gerard directly asked him whether he'd trade Deledio for Steele and Marchbank.  Hardwick swatted it away, but it was a very direct question which I assume has some credence. 

Delidio will be 30 IF he gets onto the field in r1 next year, he isn't worth much.

Posted (edited)

Right now, like others, I think our primary need remains fwd-ruck.  Someone ~200cm who can at least compete in the air in the fwd 50 and bring it to ground, kick straight when they do mark it and ruck 5 minutes a quarter.  This year I think we'd struggle to accommodate that type in our 22 because we have so many young players on reduced minutes so we need the extra "mid", but going forward this problem should start to ease.  They are very hard to find though, you usually have to take a chance on a player like Vardy or Vickery who have known defects - that's why they are available, we've gotta believe we can fix them.  A la Hawks and Fitzpatrick.

Not this year, but in 2 years when we start to be really competitive I think we want to chase a player with mature class through UFA.  Players like Gibbs, Dal Santo, Deledio, Burgoyne, Stanton, Wells - not them specifically because they'll be too old obviously, but the next generation who I guess are 25-26yo now.  It's not obvious to me who they are!  They will cost us big $s but will provide the icing we need to take the next step.  

Edited by Fifty-5
Posted
On 8/21/2016 at 8:05 AM, stevethemanjordan said:

WTF did I just read.

'shrooms !!! :unsure:

Posted
On 21/08/2016 at 7:56 AM, grazman said:

I have heard  similar UB from a Richmond supporter with some inside connections they are chasing him, however with Prestia Punt Rd bound the issue will be cost.  At their last women's lunch in Canberra, a work acquaintance was seated next to Jack and she asked him if he was leaving.  He played a straight bat of course and gave the party line and I imagine as a Belconnen boy he would dearly love to stay at GWS. The problem for him is that their Academy (cough) keeps producing and he's no certainty to be in the 22 in any given week at the Giants - not so much with the Tigers .  

Interestingly when Hardwick was on the couch Gerard directly asked him whether he'd trade Deledio for Steele and Marchbank.  Hardwick swatted it away, but it was a very direct question which I assume has some credence. 

??? Dawes & Grimes to the tiggers, for Deledio + a 4th Rnd pick ???  thoughts.

Deledio could help us for 2 - 3 seasons, as we develop other skilled young players

Posted
On 20/08/2016 at 4:25 PM, grey wolf said:

I had to pinch myself for as I walked up through my rainforest because their laying between the buttress roots of a giant red cedar that was probably a sapling when the first football was ever kicked in hope was a man smoking a cigar and I scratched my nose because it was can you believe it yes it was no crap it was it was JT himself and I greeted him with awe and he said hi grey wolf good to see you awake.

JT I chortled my dream is in tatters mate no prestia and no hurley and he blew cigar smoke up into the giant tree and looking directly at me he sighed and said no worries old grey wolf no need to worry because these things fall out for the best and we just light another pipe and open our minds to new possibilities and we can be a deeper blue and our red years can go on longer and if you take a drag on my smoke you might see it too and I did and I did it again and again and I saw it...

JT and TV were at the bar in the Portsea pub and they were earnest and roger in their conversation and I could hear it and JT said to TV don't worry about Hurley mate young OMac is the goods and BMc and SG and JR can make him as good as his bro and prestia wanted too much coin and young salem could still be anything and so here is the new idea todd and I was sucking in more smoke under the tree to hear every word and this is the new plan I heard...

So todd we will give the giants our 2017 first pick and they will give us pick 14 this year and so we end up with 14 15 34 42 and 44 at the draft and todd you know who we are after with these picks don't you and todd started laughing so loudly he fell off his chair and the cigar was finished.

grey woof, is that you Blighty ?   how many coaches know about native Red Cedars & buttressed trunks?  unless they're Qldr's?  or landscapers? 

Are you lookin for a job down here?

By the way, I had a dream as well, & it sounds just like yours.  But it was in a TiPi, out bush, with squaws in full headdress, & not much else on,  but bare skins on the floor & the flickering flames of the fire, teasing the shadows.

Posted
22 minutes ago, DV8 said:

??? Dawes & Grimes to the tiggers, for Deledio + a 4th Rnd pick ???  thoughts.

Deledio could help us for 2 - 3 seasons, as we develop other skilled young players

These are my favourite type of trade siggestions. Multiple players we don't want equals one good player doesn't it?

Maybe we could ask Freo if they'd take Dawes, Grimes, Michie, Terlich and Matt Jones for Fyfe! 5 for 1....surely they win that!

Posted

North Melbourne are looking at potentially not offering contracts to Harvey (92 Supercoach points per game), Waite (92) and Dal Santo (90). Fremantle are looking at offloading Barlow (98). Adelaide are yet to offer Scott Thompson (88) a contract. At Geelong, Bartel (92) has an option on a contract, but is not feeling the love. GWS will look at the future of Johnson (84). Hawthorn is still weighing up the futures of Mitchell (105), Burgoyne (94), Gibson (92) and Hodge (89) (although I think they will all go on and I doubt any would leave the Hawks). Essendon must cut Kelly (95), although it is possible he gets picked up again.

All these players average over 80 points per game. In comparison, we have only Gawn (121), Viney (98), N Jones (98), Vince (94), Tyson (92), McDonald (88), Grimes (86) and Watts (86) who are managing this.

While I am conscious that as players get older, they tend to get slower and their production declines, I also feel that clubs are still too willing to cut older players who are still playing good footy. IMO it is a good strategy to offer veterans a one-year deal as they don’t cost anything in terms of draft picks and only take up a list spot/salary cap space.

I will also add that I am of the view that it is generally better for the MFC to aim for short-term gains because the higher we finish up the ladder, the more the club can position itself as a destination club for recruits the following year.

The counter argument to recruiting veterans is that they will take the spot of younger, developing players and deny them AFL experience.

The question is if we should look at any veteran recruits given where we are at as a club?

And before we get into a debate as to the merits of average Supercoach points as an indicator, I will say I like them because they provide a single data point as to a player’s production. (I am not sayig they are perfect.) Unlike AFL dream team points, they also take into account ball use with clangers counting as negative points. I would add that any debate on this should take into account the fact that the top ranked Supercoach players this season are also generally the ones leading the coaches and media votes.

Posted

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/afl-abolishes-draft-loophole-that-allowed-clubs-to-gain-an-advantage-by-stockpiling-backend-picks/news-story/112f1b7e18eda1f3127038e1a48a1477

What garbage that the AFL are abolishing this. We manage to take advantage first up, and the big clubs have a whinge!

Bet if it was Collingwood or Hawthorn that used this last year, it would still be in operation.

Posted

Another pointer to these scumbags not wanting Dees back up there.

Posted
22 minutes ago, willmoy said:

Another pointer to these scumbags not wanting Dees back up there.

It's more about appeasing the bigger clubs I think. If we continue to be shrewd, this won't impact on our ability to continue our rise up the ladder.

Posted
37 minutes ago, AngryAtCasey said:

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/afl-abolishes-draft-loophole-that-allowed-clubs-to-gain-an-advantage-by-stockpiling-backend-picks/news-story/112f1b7e18eda1f3127038e1a48a1477

What garbage that the AFL are abolishing this. We manage to take advantage first up, and the big clubs have a whinge!

Bet if it was Collingwood or Hawthorn that used this last year, it would still be in operation.

A good decision IMO.

With GWS trading pick 7 to us (9), we essentially pushed everyone after this pick back a pick and took an extra player away from these teams selections. If we weren't the team benefiting from it I would have been [censored] off.

Posted
1 minute ago, dazzledavey36 said:

So besides Hibberd is there anyone else we are genuinely interested in??

We don't know. Mahoney and Co always play their cards close to their chest. 

Not much out there though

Posted
7 minutes ago, Mickey said:

We don't know. Mahoney and Co always play their cards close to their chest. 

Not much out there though

Watson.

Posted
On 8/23/2016 at 1:43 PM, dazzledavey36 said:

So besides Hibberd is there anyone else we are genuinely interested in??

Seems we just have a few players we're going to dangle out there and see if we can get any value, if not we'll probably just grab hibberd, i reckon most of our next premiership side is already here so just getting the development in.

Posted

Jack Grimes and Jack Trengove would almost get us third round picks.  Besides that I can't see what else we have to offer around maybe Chris Dawes but I think we need to keep him.

Posted

We need to be ruthless this trade period, Its been a promising season but theres still  a lot of work to do and I am sure we are still trying to land a big fish or two.

Posted
22 hours ago, beelzebub said:

'shrooms !!! :unsure:

I had some on toast this morning. Yum.

Posted
15 minutes ago, Petraccattack said:

We need to be ruthless this trade period, Its been a promising season but theres still  a lot of work to do and I am sure we are still trying to land a big fish or two.

What with, a bit of stale bread?

I can't see us being ruthless, because we've pretty much re-signed everyone with currency. We may acquire some C graders through exchange of picks or offloading comparative players, but that's about it.

Posted
18 hours ago, Melb16 said:

These are my favourite type of trade siggestions. Multiple players we don't want equals one good player doesn't it?

Maybe we could ask Freo if they'd take Dawes, Grimes, Michie, Terlich and Matt Jones for Fyfe! 5 for 1....surely they win that!

Deledio is currently 29yrs as we speak. He isn't really in they're future plans. they are not in the running for next 2 years.  So he will end up delisted by 2018 as they are rebuilding.

they obviously have culture issues at tigerland which have not beeen fixed.  They seem to be like we were amateurish.  So they need some of what we've had matures to help changer things.

The guys I've mentioned have been through the wrong ways,  & have witnessed first hand the right ways, recently.  They will have learned how to go about correcting the wrongs in footy clubs.

This is what the tigers need more than more kids entering into a filthy den.  kids need a good culture to develop within.  this has to occur first before you bring newbies into a diseased environment.  

They're are no inoculations for this disease.

michie, terllich, jones, your showing youre immaturity and ignorance, of cultures in footy.  you seem to think its all about talent, but it is not.

its all about what is done with the talent, how it is grown.

Posted

I still think we need another gun inside mid and another zippy back flanker with pace and class. The ruck/forward situation isn't as big a deal in my mind, but ruck depth is. I wouldn't be against us targeting an experienced ruckman as back up for Gawny.

Posted
21 minutes ago, A F said:

I still think we need another gun inside mid and another zippy back flanker with pace and class. 

Really ?  Potentially Hunt, Melksham, Hibberd, Salem, etc.  I know Hunt is the only speedster, but I'm not sure it will be an issue.  Melksham's pace is good, but may lack the finishing skills.  There's also Frost who takes it on from the back-half.  I reckon the back-line is coming together nicely if we land Hibberd.

Another inside mid ?  I would've thought a classy outside mid was far more pressing.

Posted
3 hours ago, AngryAtCasey said:

Surely the clubs it hurts to the most are the northern clubs.