Posted
1 hour ago, Deespicable said:

I can't see too many changes this week as most players were either impressive (Vince, Tyson, Watts, Jones etc) or serviceable last week and the ones who didn't get it much (Garlett, Hoges, Dawes) aren't likely to be cast aside because of a poor game in the wet when marking is nigh on impossible for forwards.

The only players who you can make a decent case for omitting are Harmes and Kent, who we've all floated as omissions at various stages over the past few weeks and the selectors have remained loyal to.

Both are hardworking, heavy tackling guys and are rated by Roos as a result. I just reckon that Kennedy's good form in VFL shows that contrary to popular belief, it is OK to drop a player to the twos and get an improved performance and confidence level back. His BOG effort will probably earn an instant recall and Harmes would be the one IMO most likely to get a week back there to aid his development. If it is going to be wet again (which it isn't at this stage) then you could make a case for brining in another hardworking mid Michie or Grimes for Kent. But otherwise it will be status quo.

If Garland is fit, then he will be considered but he has to oust either O-Mac or Frost and both played fairly well, so I suspect they won't rush Col and he'll have to wait another week.

I imagine Frost will play on Cox, O-Mac on White and T-Mac on Clokey. 

After watching last week's VFL game, the two other players (Grimes and Michie aside) who have now made regular claims for selection are White and Spencer.

It looks to me that White will have to wait until Wags is injured or warrants a rest or we play a side with only two talls and dispose of a big defender.

As to Spencer, he has to wait for a Gawn injury or a game where a club has two ruckmen to hurt us. Given that both Gawny and Spencer have been scoring the odd goal when rested up forward, he could be plonked up forward - possibly a shock tactic at SCG where you have to go big down the spine, but not at MCG I suspect.

So I'd punt on: In Kennedy. Out: Harmes.

We can be positive that Spencer would take more overhead marks than Dawes and he would definately be better in the ruck.

Spencer in Dawes out.

Posted
7 hours ago, DemonLad5 said:

Kent may have not been tacklingm but he was still kicking goals, what small forwards are meant for. BenKen wasn't kicking goals. Hence why he was dropped over Kent. Kent had 13 disposals and 2.0. I think he set a few up too. Harmes had 10 touches and 0.1. I love Harmsey and he'll be a good player but he goes before Kent in this instance.

One goal was a gimee that Hogan stuffed up

Posted

Dawes is privately educated and from a decent family.

It's not that he can't ruck.

It's that he doesn't want to.

It's too passe.

Posted
2 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

I agree jnr whatever way I look at it Kent has been poor for three weeks and last Saturday was a continuance  of that trend.

Add no tackles and those statts look even worse.

In 2016 a forward  is meant to have a defensive side.

Posted

Dunny was injured in 1st qtr of Casey game. Hammy I think?

Posted
56 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

And wasn't the other one a toe poke off the goal line? He was horrible. His effort has been very poor for a few weeks. Even the game he kicked 4 his effort/work rate was pretty poor

Posted
14 minutes ago, jumbo returns said:

Dawes bash fest.

Hasn't really killed it, but he came to the club when it was at its lowest ebb and lifted standards in so many ways.

But, let's sink the boots in....

I hear this occasionally but I really don't know what ways, so many ways are.

Posted

Plenty on this site know that I know Footy!! 

So I'll weigh in and say that Dawes is vital to our structures and his presence is very meaningful to our Psyche!

He WILL play Q B and play very well! 

Conditions didn't suit but liked his continued effort!

As I said I Know FOOTY!!

Posted
9 minutes ago, picket fence said:

So I'll weigh in and say that Dawes is vital to our structures and his presence is very meaningful to our Psyche!

As I said I Know FOOTY!!

You're just taking the [censored] on here these days aren't you?

Posted
2 hours ago, Biffen said:

Dawes is privately educated and from a decent family.

It's not that he can't ruck.

It's that he doesn't want to.

It's too passe.

One of the most stupid posts i have ever seen on demonland. 

Posted
45 minutes ago, jumbo returns said:

Dawes bash fest.

Hasn't really killed it, but he came to the club when it was at its lowest ebb and lifted standards in so many ways.

30 minutes ago, rjay said:

I hear this occasionally but I really don't know what ways, so many ways are.

16 minutes ago, jumbo returns said:

C'mon, you want to keep bleating to the 'can't mark' mentality?

No, I'm not bleating at all....I'm just wanting to know what you are talking about...

Posted

Changes for QB

70 for 35 

Posted
41 minutes ago, jumbo returns said:

Can't be bothered.

His value has extended beyond the footy field.

Thanks, that was illuminating...

Posted
1 hour ago, jumbo returns said:

Dawes bash fest.

I have been on about him for three years rjay.

yes we got him when no one else would come.

but let's not forget we out bid the Dogs and paid over the odds.

He has been an average player when he has been on the field.

He has played less than 30% of the available games since joining.

Value for money? Terrible.

The guy is a forward who cannot mark over head and a pinch hit ruckman who does want to pinch hit.

Buggered if I can see his worth.

Posted
1 hour ago, picket fence said:

As I said I Know FOOTY!!

Haha Picket c'mon mate you know footy?

Surely you are now taking the [censored].