The Jesse Hogan Panic Room - all contract talk here

• Author
2 hours ago, america de cali said:

Check out his  92, 94 and 95 losing GF efforts. Grand total of 33 possessions, 4 goals, 6 behinds and 2 tackles. For a player of his caliber that is woeful in anyone's language.

When Geelong were eliminated in the 91 and 96 finals his efforts were even worse.

He kicked 3 in the '92 GF and was arguably among the Cats' better players, and you can cross the '91 finals off your list, too, given that he missed most of it with suspension. 

Would you like to change the goalposts yet again?

And going back to the original point, has anyone ever suggested that his so-called sooky attitude somehow cost Geelong a flag?

Would you pass on a player if it was guaranteed that he'd average 4 goals a final over 16 finals appearances? I'd take that in a heartbeat. 

Even if you take out the mercurial '89 finals as an anomaly - and why would you? - he still finished with an average of 3+ goals a final over 12 finals.     

1 hour ago, ArtificialWisdom said:

If I was at the club I would be giving Carey a call and offering him a part time role at the club. Working with all the forwards. Maybe once a week or even just once a fortnight, work on everything from body language to technique and maybe even forwardline chemistry.

He could teach them life skills as well.

5 hours ago, america de cali said:

What do Mark Jackson, Allen Jackovich, Brendon Fevola, Matthew Richardson, Tony Lockett and Gary Ablett Snr have in common?

They are all retired?

5 hours ago, Demons11 said:

Not sure 

6 hours ago, america de cali said:

What do Mark Jackson, Allen Jackovich, Brendon Fevola, Matthew Richardson, Tony Lockett and Gary Ablett Snr have in common?

Didn't believe in God, looked like God, for God's sake, for God's sake 2, God was afraid of him and was God

33 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

He could teach them life skills as well.

You mean get them, lose them, get them again, lose them again, get them again.......watch this space

• Author
2 hours ago, Grapeviney said:

Would you pass on a player if it was guaranteed that he'd average 4 goals a final over 16 finals appearances? I'd take that in a heartbeat. 

Just for comparison's sake:

Buddy: 58 goals in 17 finals @ 3.4 per game

Carey: 60 goals in 23 finals @ 2.6 per game

Dunstall: 78 goals in 21 finals @ 3.7 per game

Lockett: 35 goals in 9 finals @ 3.8 per game

Matthews: 72 in 29 finals @ 2.5 per game.  

On 23/08/2016 at 7:25 AM, Lucifer's Hero said:

I heard it as Pro Dee did. It does seem he is still undecided and hasn't yet committed to stay.

Caro has good sources and double checks her stuff so it wouldn't surprise she is correct. I think she added something like 'one minute he tells the club he will the next minute says he won't'.

No wonder the club is getting frustrated.  Would imagine it wants it sorted soon so it knows well before trade week, to assess the list accordingly and plan recruits for this year and next.

On the positive side, the club has done all that it promised and he can see a clear direction for the club.  Its entirely up to him now.

Thankfully, EOS is upon us and he can get away for some clear air and head space. 

maybe his contract decision making is as flawed as his set-piece goal kicking decision making

32 minutes ago, daisycutter said:

maybe his contract decision making is as flawed as his set-piece goal kicking decision making

Are you suggesting his head tilts and he bobbles it, as he decides matters?

7 minutes ago, Bates Mate said:

He bought a puppy 

Did he name it Ross? Or Pav?

On 8/25/2016 at 3:43 PM, Mickey said:

He named it Roosy... going to be the marquee player for the new Hawaii team that he's starting :P

12 minutes ago, Mickey said:

As in Pavlov's Dog?

On 23/08/2016 at 3:59 PM, ArtificialWisdom said:

If I was at the club I would be giving Carey a call and offering him a part time role at the club. Working with all the forwards. Maybe once a week or even just once a fortnight, work on everything from body language to technique and maybe even forwardline chemistry.

I dont respect Carey's character

How about we trade Jesse for Shuey and Gaff 

..... more entertaining thennthe current line of convo haha

9k=.jpg

What's going on here?! He's laughing at us...and now he's going to take Harmesy as well!

A Full Forward who cannot kick is no value to us! Would much rather se him at CHF and rotate Watts and Weeds next year IMO.

Not sure if anyone see him as a full forward, he's just being eased in their given it's still just his second season of senior footy. Same as I don't see Brayshaw as being a half forward flanker (which he's played lately), sometimes we just have to a little patient and wait for them to mature. Hogan's accuracy is only slightly less that Tex Walker, who is much more of a full forward. 

On 8/23/2016 at 6:05 PM, Grapeviney said:

Just for comparison's sake:

Buddy: 58 goals in 17 finals @ 3.4 per game

Carey: 60 goals in 23 finals @ 2.6 per game

Dunstall: 78 goals in 21 finals @ 3.7 per game

Lockett: 35 goals in 9 finals @ 3.8 per game

Matthews: 72 in 29 finals @ 2.5 per game.  

And Hogan's stats....?!

39 minutes ago, picket fence said:

A Full Forward who cannot kick is no value to us! Would much rather se him at CHF and rotate Watts and Weeds next year IMO.

Hmmm...14 marks last week. Only 5 times close enough to kick goals ( kicked 1.3 and gave a simple one away to ANB in the goalsquare)..where exactly do you think he played for the great majority of the time last week ?

8 minutes ago, nutbean said:

Hmmm...14 marks last week. Only 5 times close enough to kick goals ( kicked 1.3 and gave a simple one away to ANB in the goalsquare)..where exactly do you think he played for the great majority of the time last week ?

FF With a licence to roam! His kicking technique is dreadful ! He misses too many sitters . This needs a MAJOR overhaul before next season! IMO

1 hour ago, 3183 Dee said:

9k=.jpg

What's going on here?! He's laughing at us...and now he's going to take Harmesy as well!

And Matt Jones.