Posted

Will be great to hear what he has to say, for about 10 seconds, then for some reason my brain starts to tune him out.

On an different note, has anyone else noticed that he does the saliva sucking through his cheeks thing a lot.  If you do not know what i mean, listen to him him talk and hopefully it will explain itself as i cannot do any better than that!

Posted
5 minutes ago, AzzKikA said:

Will be great to hear what he has to say, for about 10 seconds, then for some reason my brain starts to tune him out.

On an different note, has anyone else noticed that he does the saliva sucking through his cheeks thing a lot.  If you do not know what i mean, listen to him him talk and hopefully it will explain itself as i cannot do any better than that!

And you reckon you tune him out!

Posted
13 minutes ago, AzzKikA said:

Judd does the same thing.

Posted
20 minutes ago, AzzKikA said:

He's actually breathing in mate with pursed lips and a 4mm gap centrally.  Also he nods his head when he listens.  Also his muscles of mastication contract intermittently during listening.

While you guys were waiting for Schwabby's whiteboard Wednesday, I was watching a Roos presser.

If you are going to do forensics, give us the cake as well as the icing.

Posted
6 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

Hadn't noticed that one, then again, haven't really listened to him......at all.

Posted
Just now, TGR said:

He's actually breathing in mate with pursed lips and a 4mm gap centrally.  Also he nods his head when he listens.  Also his muscles of mastication contract intermittently during listening.

While you guys were waiting for Schwabby's whiteboard Wednesday, I was watching a Roos presser.

If you are going to do forensics, give us the cake as well as the icing.

Ummm...ok...sorry!?

Posted

I want to rename my first born Paul Roos even though she is a girl. That's how much I love Roos.

But even his appearance on the footy show could not get me to watch it.

Posted
Just now, nutbean said:

I want to rename my first born Paul Roos even though she is a girl. That's how much I love Roos.

If anything it would be even harder for me to watch, I'd feel embarrassed for Roos. He's always a professional and Newman will be doing his best to bring down the club and insult him. The audience will laugh and find it funny because they're idiots. 

Pauline Roos?

Posted

Bring on the old footy show curse.

Bec Maddern will ask sensible questions.
Brayshaw will probably link in the North game.
Newman won't offer much.

Anyway, always good to have the club get some publicity. 

Not sure why a TV or radio network hasn't signed up Max Gawn to a regular gig yet. Possibly the funniest bloke in footy and gives good opinions on the game as well.

Posted
2 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

Newman won't offer much.

Not sure why a TV or radio network hasn't signed up Max Gawn to a regular gig yet. Possibly the funniest bloke in footy and gives good opinions on the game as well.

Gawny is indeed hilarious, have also wondered why he doesn't get a gig on any footy show, well maybe for the fact he's still playing.

Posted (edited)
5 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

Newman won't offer much.

Matter of time I would've thought. You could tell how much the journos enjoy talking to him in his latest presser. Some people are just naturally funny and Max is one of those.

Edited by P-man
Posted (edited)

It's a waste of time listening to Roos.

But if you're keen count how many sentences he starts with, "Yeah, ..." 

Edited by ProDee
Posted
7 minutes ago, ProDee said:

But if you're keen count how many sentences he start with, "Yeah, ..." 

or, "Look, absolutely.."

Posted
7 minutes ago, ProDee said:

But if you're keen count how many sentences he start with, "Yeah, ..." 

Brendon Bolton, Luke Beveridge, Ross Lyon and Kenny Hinkley are all good to listen to, but I don't believe a word that comes out of their mouth. Occasionally Rocket Eade is good to hear from. Bucks speaks super well. Chris Scott has a good sense of humour.

Al Clarkson is really the only coach who I try to pay attention to, as he's the best coach in the league by the length of the Flemington straight, but even then he's very good at not answering the questions and telling people what they expect to hear. 

I'm not sure there's a coach of a losing side who's truthful and engaging and not just because they are either fighting with the media or telling jokes. Rightly or wrongly coaches can't say anything critical of the players, assistant coaches, other staff or even fans without copping it these days. And if they blame themselves then that's a problem as well. So all we get is not stop talk of structures and process.

Posted
44 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

If anything it would be even harder for me to watch, I'd feel embarrassed for Roos. He's always a professional and Newman will be doing his best to bring down the club and insult him. The audience will laugh and find it funny because they're idiots. 

Pauline Roos?

is TFS the right wing version of Q&A?

Posted

Damian Barrett. That's the bloke's name Paul. Why is he always having a go at Demons?

Posted

Couldn't care less if people have never rated his discussions over the last few years.  He has kept it simple, general and boring... and thus he has kept the heat off the players and the club, something a new coach wouldn't have been able to do.  That gets a big tick in my book.

• Like 15

Posted
1 hour ago, nutbean said:

RuPaul is apparently a girl's name.

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

So did the joker In the Batman series.

Edited by Biffen

Posted

The media as a whole suddenly seems to love the Demons. Dees players seem to be featured on tv and in the paper rather frequently, generally in a positive light.

Posted
1 hour ago, Left-Field said:

Gawny is indeed hilarious, have also wondered why he doesn't get a gig on any footy show, well maybe for the fact he's still playing.

The fact that Gawn is actually funny precludes him from working on TV and Radio.

Posted
57 minutes ago, P-man said:

Matter of time I would've thought. You could tell how much the journos enjoy talking to him in his latest presser. Some people are just naturally funny and Max is one of those.

I've noticed his interviews have got a little more serious of late,although the larrikin is still there.i,m sure ready to be unleashed.whenever.

I recall from somewhere he was asked to tone it down.

I'm 188cm,and stood next to him at Casey,huge,fit looking bloke-- I like the way he always has his

mouth open when going for taps.Big beard with a hole in it.

Posted
2 hours ago, AzzKikA said:

Isn't that a method of wine tasting?

Posted
15 minutes ago, Maple Demon said:

The media as a whole suddenly seems to love the Demons. Dees players seem to be featured on tv and in the paper rather frequently, generally in a positive light.

Everyone loves a winner