I hope Port eat some Nannas berries while they are over there.

I reckon it's us.

Seeing as though the NT arrangement isn't going so well if you believe the rumours, we'll instead 'host' this game and ditch the two NT games from next year. I'd assume the one game in China would generate just as much cash as the 2 crappy NT games we play.  

Edited by Bring-Back-Powell

50 minutes ago, TRIGON said:

Bombers would be a good fit... Nearer their suppliers.

was said on the radio that essendrug was strongly bidding for it.........hope they get it and the game is shifted to mongolia

5 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

I reckon it's us.

Seeing as though the NT arrangement isn't going so well if you believe the rumours, we'll instead 'host' this game and ditch the two NT games from next year. I'd assume the one game in China would generate just as much cash as the 2 crappy NT games we play.  

4 minutes ago, daisycutter said:

was said on the radio that essendrug was strongly bidding for it.........hope they get it and the game is shifted to mongolia

I hope not. Given we wont even be getting the gate, the only thing we'd be getting would be exposure to millions of people who could care less about AFL.

Unless the AFL pay us $1000's to do it with a bye the following week, i don't see the benefit.

2 hours ago, DubDee said:

I hope the Dees have nothing to do with this.   Footy is not a global sport - get over it AFL!

imagine coming back from China and having to play the next week?  wtf.

this is a serious competition not an AFL legends team touring the world

Both the NBA and NFL have played games for points in Europe and I'd gently suggest they are much more serious competitions than the AFL.

1 minute ago, Undeeterred said:

Both the NBA and NFL have played games for points in Europe and I'd gently suggest they are much more serious competitions than the AFL.

and i'd suggest europeans would have far more interest in nba and nfl than chinese have in afl

I get basketball, but why would Europeans have any more interest in American football than Chinese would have in Australian football? It's all about marketing, in the end, and providing an interesting product. People pick it up and will watch if its interesting.

33 minutes ago, Skuit said:

Not sure what there is to lose?

A home game and jet lag which could stuff the following few weeks. Kochie is talking from his melon sized ego.

You won't make any ground in China until you draft a China-born national and have them actually play. 

The next best bet is getting into the minds of Chinese students in Australia who are trying to assimilate. 

Playing in China for the sake of brand growth for a club is futile. From the game's perspective, broadly, sure, great idea, but this won't benefit Port all that much in the long run. At least not more than it did the teams that played in Toronto, LA, Chicago etc in the 80s and 90s and helped establish the sport over there.

I think Kochie is greatly overstating how beneficial this is going to be for Port.

The one and only way to win China is to feed into their insane sense of national pride. And to do that, you need one of them.

But hey, good luck, Port.

21 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

A home game and jet lag which could stuff the following few weeks. Kochie is talking from his melon sized ego.

Assuming it's in exchange for one of the home games we're already giving up in the Top End? And it's scheduled for the week before our bye? It's a bout the same longitude as Perth so I'm not sure there's any special issue with jetlag.

If it is us, the deal is NO Etihad home game...NO NO games in the NT and a bye the week after China game. 

Our sponsor from China Southern can fly us 1st class with the reclining sleepers. .whack their logo on the jumper for the game. .We will get a bunch of publicity and exposure.  But the AFL will not bend us over. We also will wear are home jumper! 

All IF's but we will see what unfolds 

Edited by Leoncelli_36

Koschie basically just got called out and told us he made the whole thing up as a publicity stunt and there will be no gane played there.  What a fl0g.  

Just saw him on the TV.  My God, what a [censored] this guy is! 

23 minutes ago, Leoncelli_36 said:

Koschie basically just got called out and told us he made the whole thing up as a publicity stunt and there will be no gane played there.  What a fl0g.  

Really. It's all a joke. 

Hilarious work Kochie

SWYL @ the Duck Inn Sports Bar Manila....

We should be the team playing port, we have already done the leg work up there.

13 hours ago, Undeeterred said:

id gently suggest that I dont give a rats about what american sports do.  

they have franchises.  we have clubs

31 minutes ago, DubDee said:

id gently suggest that I dont give a rats about what american sports do.  

they have franchises.  we have clubs

Your framework was 'serious competitions'.

17 hours ago, daisycutter said:

Unlikely to be a game against a team that would generate  a crowd in Adelaide. I expect it will be a game against a low-drawing crowd. My money is on PA v GWS.   

2 hours ago, AngryAtCasey said:

Sheeds wont rest untill every game in the season has a theme. Look at the bombers with Anzac game, Dreamtime game and now Country game. whats next? Eskimo game?, Convict game?, Dare i say Rehab game?

13 minutes ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

Unlikely to be a game against a team that would generate  a crowd in Adelaide. I expect it will be a game against a low-drawing crowd. My money is on PA v GWS.   

on SEN this morning Kochie sugested it would be good for Qld, WA and NSW clubs. Due to their tourism and trade agreements. All a load of crap as far as im concerned, However I hope it is one of them rather than us. I think you might be right with GWS will give the AFL an excuse to funnel even more money into that club.

2 hours ago, AngryAtCasey said:

" ESSENDON coaching great Kevin Sheedy has" then i stopped reading. fcs who writes this copy? sheedy himself?

we truly live in a world of afl hyperbole.....and it grates