The combined Jaeger O'Meara and Dion Prestia Thread

1 hour ago, Grand New Flag said:

The club is all over Prestia and is quietly confident. The fact we traded out next seasons 1st round pick is of little consequence. We can trade 2017 first round for a start.  If Prestia says he wants to be traded to Melbourne, he will be a Dee in 2017.  Our performance this season is very important for Prestia and perhaps Hogan, but I also hear that contract negotiations for Hogan are going very well and he could be signed to a mega deal before round 1. Fingers crossed!!

Any idea how many years we're looking at for Hoges?

1 hour ago, Grand New Flag said:

The club is all over Prestia and is quietly confident. The fact we traded out next seasons 1st round pick is of little consequence. We can trade 2017 first round for a start.  If Prestia says he wants to be traded to Melbourne, he will be a Dee in 2017.  Our performance this season is very important for Prestia and perhaps Hogan, but I also hear that contract negotiations for Hogan are going very well and he could be signed to a mega deal before round 1. Fingers crossed!!

Based on his own comments, I seriously doubt it. As for Prestia, I think you're right when you say that it depends on our performance. But he may still have intentions of returning to Melbourne (city), and other clubs could come into play.

11 minutes ago, Good Times Grimes said:

i think it includes an "until death do us part" clause :lol:

50 minutes ago, Good Times Grimes said:

My guess would be +5, which would take him out to the 8 year free agent mark. 

1 minute ago, olisik said:

My guess would be +5, which would take him out to the 8 year free agent mark. 

I think that would probably be what Jesse and his management would be pushing for, with Melbourne likely pushing for a contract that'll take him until near the end of his career. It'll be interesting to see how it all plays out.

We should start a Poll on how many pages this thread will be by the end of trade week 2016.

Im guessing 120.

5 minutes ago, It's Time said:

We should start a Poll on how many pages this thread will be by the end of trade week 2016.

Im guessing 120.

Way unders..... We've gone 4 pages in 2 days...

20 hours ago, stuie said:

Or how about...

Jeremy Howe, Brad Ottens, Denham/Barnes...

Why did you name Jeremy Howe? He can't exactly return back to his home state and play AFL there..

13 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Why did you name Jeremy Howe? He can't exactly return back to his home state and play AFL there..

the tassie hawks? i'm sure i've seen that written somewhere :lol:

The Dees can trade their future 1st round pick of 2017,it is within the rules. However the AFL must do something to held the Northern clubs i.e Gold Coast,GWS and Brisbane otherwise you might as well have a 15 team comp. Other codes will  completely take control which will result in lack of revenue for the AFL.

5 hours ago, Good Times Grimes said:

Don't encourage him...

12 minutes ago, ENYAW said:

The Dees can trade their future 1st round pick of 2017,it is within the rules. However the AFL must do something to held the Northern clubs i.e Gold Coast,GWS and Brisbane otherwise you might as well have a 15 team comp. Other codes will  completely take control which will result in lack of revenue for the AFL.

actually gws, gc and brisvegas  have fairly decent lists if you check

gws and gc always knew they were going to lose some of their millions of first round picks. they will get good trades/picks for the ones they do lose and if they are smart they have plenty of options to strengthen their list. more options than other clubs. where they need most help is off the field

I am pretty confident Prestia will be back in Victoria next year however we are one of about 4 clubs chasing him and that will probably grow if the rest are confident he'll leave the Suns. 

We (and 3-4 other clubs) wanted to catch up with him this year but because he was contracted he told us to come back next year.

On 8 December 2015 at 7:31 AM, hells bells said:

We've been gunning for Prestia for 2 years at least. He is out of contract next year.  You'd have to have some confidence that the club has got a definitive strategy in place to get him to the club next year.  

The one thing this last trade and draft period confirmed is that this club is no longer amateur and ad hoc in its decision making. It is super deliberate and has a clear strategy that it now actually seems able to execute.

If we are still after Prestia, and if we have been for quite some time, I expect the club has devised a plan/proposal to attempt to secure him. If not, perhaps we have not been that into him (too exy in terms of cash or draft picks etc), despite the media reports.

This year grows more and more important the more I think about it.

The success and where we place will determine if we are suddenly a destination club or not. Not only have we traded away our future first round, but where we finish and how we perform will be vitally important for players like Prestia in coming to us and Hogan weighing up his future.

The ball is in your court Dees. 

3 hours ago, Ron Burgundy said:

The one thing this last trade and draft period confirmed is that this club is no longer amateur and ad hoc in its decision making. It is super deliberate and has a clear strategy that it now actually seems able to execute.

If we are still after Prestia, and if we have been for quite some time, I expect the club has devised a plan/proposal to attempt to secure him. If not, perhaps we have not been that into him (too exy in terms of cash or draft picks etc), despite the media reports.

I can't help but wonder if there were any discussions with GC during this year's trading of picks about setting up potential deals for Prestia next year. They already have our first pick in next year's draft. 

i'd like to ask those in this thread who have all commented and relayed their complete confidence in getting Prestia to Melborne for 2017 - do you have something concrete? or are you just pinning your hopes on rumour and innuendo due to well known family connections or fluff pieces in the press with similar innuendo?

22 hours ago, Grand New Flag said:

On 10/21/2015 at 11:08 AM, Grand New Flag said:

We have traded picks to trade for a player. We do not intend to take these picks to this years draft.

You're batting 0.333

• very early call on Neeld - safe hit
  • Dangerfield outfield catch last year - out
  • Picks used in 2015 draft - out

Edited by Fifty-5

4 minutes ago, Fifty-5 said:

You're batting 0.333

• very early call on Neeld - safe hit
  • Dangerfield outfield catch last year - out
  • Picks used in 2015 draft - out

you forgot about Paul Roos' appointment

Wouldn't it be great, if our midfield improved to the extent, where we didn't care less about whether we get Prestia or not?

14 minutes ago, Redleg said:

Wouldn't it be great, if our midfield improved to the extent, where we didn't care less about whether we get Prestia or not?

No such thing. I would care about getting Prestia no matter what midfield you were talking about.

I reckon by the end of next season, Dion will be in his manager's ear to get the deal done.

Won't be shattered if it doesn't happen. We're in a good place either way.

9 hours ago, Hobbits's said:

i'd like to ask those in this thread who have all commented and relayed their complete confidence in getting Prestia to Melborne for 2017 - do you have something concrete? or are you just pinning your hopes on rumour and innuendo due to well known family connections or fluff pieces in the press with similar innuendo?

There's nothing concrete other than we're after him along with several other clubs. We're in with a chance but that's it at this stage.