Resilience - MFC Players V MFC Supporters (Merged Thread)

I feel like our club has been hijacked by people who dont really give a stuff about the Melbourne Football Club. They might care about filling their pockets and succeeding at establsihinhg a good business, but they arnt invested in the club like us supporters.

I find Roos' comments offensive, destructive and unproductive. Does he want us just to stop caring and not show up anymore?

We are still blaming Watts despite his best efforts in the the past five odd matches.This guy is still gutless,still makes stupid mistakes despite being a 100 gamer. He has had plenty of opportunities in the past despite [censored] week efforts and is only dropped for poor form by himself. Other players at the club have not been afforded that luxury,for some reason Paul Roos thinks this person will be something for us to be proud of,a bit like Coiln Sylvia was.I will ask the question what club that is currently in the eight would want JACK WATTS?

By the way I use to be a supporter of Watts when he played under Neil Craig,no more also I think Howe,Dawes,Grimes are not up to scratch. If it is too harsh for feeble minds don't read.

Roos isn't used to being strapped into a chair with a spotlight shone in his eyes and media gestapo demanding that he sign the papers.

He's used to them kneeling at his feet while he lightly radiates them with his premiership-winning glow.

He stuffed up plain and simple. "Misspoke" in modern spin terms. Christ knows what he was really trying to say. Don't read too much into it.

Only one way out for him, too. Win matches.

I will ask the question what club that is currently in the eight would want JACK WATTS?

A bloke who with good disposal by hand and foot, can mark, can read the play, and seems to know what to do with the ball every time he gets it?

Even with questionable ticker?

I reckon at least half of the top 8 would have a taste of Jack.

I can't help but feel that when we come good, it's going to be a rapid, and lasting, conversion.

My reasoning is as follows.

We've had exceptional adverse events with premature deaths closely involved with the club......Broadbridge, Wight, Stynes, Bailey, Flower. Now Daiher's really crook.

The Jurrah saga. Yes, it was a risk for us to put so much effort into him....Collingwood wisely let him go.I think the club suffered with all the problems he had, and our laudable attempts to assist him.

The tanking issue. There are those that say we'd have been negligent NOT to have done what we did, especially after the Kreuzer Cup. It seemed that you could get away with it , since Carlton( obviously), and Coll.,Ess., and Hawthorn all did it without repercussions. But ,not us...oh no, we were reprehensible shameful wicked cheats who now are getting what we deserve for establishing a losing culture.

Recruiting.yes...we haven't done it well. But I can't help thinking there's an element of luck in recruiting.We've made some monumental errors. But we don't seem to have picked up any ready made stars(like Cripps,Elliot,, Bontomtelli,etc). Almost all our first round picks get serious injuries in their first year.Many of our first round opportunities have been in drafts compromised by the expansion clubs.

Lack of star players. Other weaker clubs have had many more stars than us( eg StKilda....Harvey, Riewoldt,Lockett etc, North with Carey, Harvey,etc. and not only are they stars , but they are able to play on for 250-400 games. Netiz was a star, and he's our ONLY player ever to play 300. Before that you have to go back to Flower with 271. (I guess Jimmy was a star,too.) I know we've been criticised for poor development of our talent, but you'd expect more from our potential stars( imagine what a difference there'd have been with 300 injury free games from Schwarz, Lyon, Tingay, jakovich and Charles.!

Self-perpetuating AFL system where stronger clubs get better time slots for matches. The less success you have, the harder it is to attract sponsors.

Most of the above reasons for our lack of success are reversible. Whether it's by better luck, or better management, I think things will turn for the better quickly when they start to turn.

I'm tired of watching us lose, and not holding much hope of victory when I watch each week. But when we DO win, I get a hell of a lot of satisfaction. I'm confident that one day, soon, the wheel will turn. I'll certainly be sticking fat, hoping we'll come good in my lifetime( I've been saying that for 50 years!).

One thing I'll never do is boo Melbourne players, or shake my fist at them, yelling obscenities, as they leave the field after a bad loss. No one gains anything from that.

I'd like to see Melbourne play a more attacking brand of footy. I think that would create more of a perception of positivity, as well as help us win a few more games!

Yes, Mr Roos (and Mr Jackson),

Demon fans are negative as we repeatedly get told by various coaches, and other club officials that we have turned the corner and success is imminent, yet the team repeatedly fails to perform on a consistent basis.

We haven't won consecutive games for many years - we still get thrashed regularly despite being told that thrashings will be a thing of the past.

Yes - we are negative, because most of what we are offered by you and the team is negative.

Is this about to change?

I am sure that all true believers want to be positive: give us something to be truly positive about.

Then we will be positive.

(Then we may even consider turning up to the penultimate meaningless Sunday afternoon game of the season at bloody Doglands.)

Roos had it easy coaching the AFL-sponsored COLA Swans.

Now he is seeing what life is like at a club that doesn't live on easy street.

It is up to him to rise to the challenge, or walk away with a badly tarnished legacy.

In that time Grimes also broke his collarbone and I would guess is about five kilograms of muscle lighter than he was back then.

He became a vegetarian during that time hence why he looked so gaunt and weak.

We're negative... because as we all know, every other club's supporters would be happy-clappy in the choir and leaving with a grin.

It's interesting. I went into the Geelong game thinking we had absolutely no chance. My sister thought we'd win. I then went into the St Kilda, Essendon and Carlton games thinking we'd spank them. I was wrong. I'm at the stage of thinking we could just as easily beat Freo this week, given how pitiful we've been.

I think I've been reasonably positive this year. That's why I've found it so frustrating. If you go in with low expectations and apathy, you don't end up being as negative. If you have expectations, you end up being incredibly negative when your players dish up crap.

Obviously, the negativity that we're talking about is the self-pitying, no-hope attitude, but personally from the top of this season I had higher expectations. For mine, this can't be an excuse this year. When your side is so inconsistent, you approach every match with some sense of dread.

I feel like our club has been hijacked by people who dont really give a stuff about the Melbourne Football Club. They might care about filling their pockets and succeeding at establsihinhg a good business, but they arnt invested in the club like us supporters.

I find Roos' comments offensive, destructive and unproductive. Does he want us just to stop caring and not show up anymore?

I find your comments offensive, destructive and unproductive.

What should we do with you? Listen to you, and not have such thin skin?

It's interesting. I went into the Geelong game thinking we had absolutely no chance. My sister thought we'd win. I then went into the St Kilda, Essendon and Carlton games thinking we'd spank them. I was wrong. I'm at the stage of thinking we could just as easily beat Freo this week, given how pitiful we've been.

I think I've been reasonably positive this year. That's why I've found it so frustrating. If you go in with low expectations and apathy, you don't end up being as negative. If you have expectations, you end up being incredibly negative when your players dish up crap.

Obviously, the negativity that we're talking about is the self-pitying, no-hope attitude, but personally from the top of this season I had higher expectations. For mine, this can't be an excuse this year. When your side is so inconsistent, you approach every match with some sense of dread.

Don't worry we have got this one.

He's describing MFCSS - for those who are unaware - MFC Supporter Syndrome.

"What can go wrong, will and it will actually be worse and if it looks like it is getting better, it's not, it's just an illusion to make our pain more pronounced."

He's not wrong, but the problem is that after last week everyone thinks he is talking causation; our negativity caused us to lose, our 'vibes' got in the way.

I don't believe he thinks that, and anyone who does can f___ off.

He just loves waxing lyrical and found his way over to an argument best left for when we don't get outplayed by the worst team in the league.

The problem with this is that it's a blanket statement and it shits on the supporters who don't have MFCSS like say... me. And many others. Clearly you don't suffer from MFCSS either, rpfc.

It is ridiculous that Roosey, other club supporters and the media think there is a veil of negativity around our pathetic, doomed, fisted forever Demons.

To quote the big man "That's Fooking Hilarious!".

Having donated many threads to the veil of negativity over the years, I will now sail blithely into my second childhood. I hope to see six flags as I did in my first.

Give me an example where he blames himself, because I haven't heard it.

Happy to be proven wrong mate.

He said the other day that they don't know why we are going so badly at the start of games and it was up to him and the coaches to work it out and fix it. That is him taking responsibility and blaming himself and the coaches.

I know this is negative but Fyfe isn't playing this weekend....we don't get to play against the best. How bad is that?

Since 1964 we have won no premierships.

Hawthorn have won eleven.

Carlton eight

Essendon five

Richmond five

North Melbourne four

Geelong three

No we have no reason to be negative.

Mountain out of a molehill. Move on.

i wanted to post something positive on this thread

so here goes...

i.... eeerrh....arrrh....ummm....

think i'll take a rain check

The problem with this is that it's a blanket statement and it shits on the supporters who don't have MFCSS like say... me. And many others. Clearly you don't suffer from MFCSS either, rpfc.

I have casual MFCSS. Like after we won in Geelong I thought to myself - "Well, they will never let us win there for a decade."

As if there is a person on here that doesn't have the syndrome... We are just aware of it.

Mountain out of a molehill. Move on.

Unfortunately Sue our once proud club was once a mountain and has been turned into a molehill.