2015 TAC Cup

Parish's greatest quality is that he never stops moving and has excellent forward motion in and around the contest. Sloane and Fyfe have this ability and I believe its a big reason why Essendon would like him in their need for another midfielder.

I think his competitiveness early on is miles ahead of Toumpas who from all acounts played a lot of outside runner in SA and is still working on his competitiveness around the contest.

But I do agree that he is raw and will take time to become a good midfielder. His disposal does need work. He will not be a Bontempelli straight away, however I think he has a chance to be with his ball winning ability and creativity.

This obsession posters seem to have with height and size as a midfielder is becoming pretty ridiculous.

Curnow might be a big-bodied player who can potentially become an AFL midfielder, but not once have I read anything about how his football related skills match up. Like his kicking. Which for the MFC, must be our number one pre-requisite when going to the draft.

They seem to be all the rage since Roosy jumped on board, but given our lack of skill level in general in all areas of the ground, I'm certainly not enticed by the sound of a big-bodied athletic type of player when there is no mention of the fundemental skills you need to become a good player at the highest level.

Kennedy and Mundy are natural footballers. Both of them kick well and are really good decision makers. They understand the game.

I think it's imperative for us to draft players who will compete hard at all times and be able to use the ball well. Big-bodied or not.

'His disposal needs work' is not something I want to hear when it comes to a potential top 10 selection at the draft. That's just [censored] ludicrous.

Why do so many underestimate the importance of being able to kick well?

I don't think it matters who we pick, the eventual standouts from this year's draft will be a raffle, like when Fyfe came from nowhere.

Hence, I'd roll the dice on potential with Curnow or Balic.

Maybe Parish, but I'm just not convinced.

Moves well in traffic, but I don't think he's as fast as you'd want him to be.

As I've said before, I think he'll have a slow Toumpas-like transition to next level.

I think the same with Parish, doesn't really grab me, nice player but no real stand out quality.

I would be looking at upside in this draft and wouldn't be disappointed with either Balic or Curnow.

This obsession posters seem to have with height and size as a midfielder is becoming pretty ridiculous.

Curnow might be a big-bodied player who can potentially become an AFL midfielder, but not once have I read anything about how his football related skills match up. Like his kicking. Which for the MFC, must be our number one pre-requisite when going to the draft.

They seem to be all the rage since Roosy jumped on board, but given our lack of skill level in general in all areas of the ground, I'm certainly not enticed by the sound of a big-bodied athletic type of player when there is no mention of the fundemental skills you need to become a good player at the highest level.

Kennedy and Mundy are natural footballers. Both of them kick well and are really good decision makers. They understand the game.

I think it's imperative for us to draft players who will compete hard at all times and be able to use the ball well. Big-bodied or not.

'His disposal needs work' is not something I want to hear when it comes to a potential top 10 selection at the draft. That's just [censored] ludicrous.

I agree with this. Would much rather see 'poise' and 'class' with some of these potential top picks. The very reason we chose Salem.

I think there is too much emphasis on size and 'breaking the lines'. What good are those things if you can't deliver the ball to a team mate.

I agree with this. Would much rather see 'poise' and 'class' with some of these potential top picks. The very reason we chose Salem.

I think there is too much emphasis on size and 'breaking the lines'. What good are those things if you can't deliver the ball to a team mate.

Yes. The beauty of Salem however is that he has a great combination of being really competitive as well as having elite kicking skills. Obviously there's not always going to be an opportunity to draft a player with who possesses both of those attributes to such a high quality.

But I'd still much rather hit the draft again with a good balance of both of those attributes. Players who are footballers first and foremost and who also have a fierce desire to compete. Specialised players like 'elite running' players or 'athletic freaks with X-factor' are just not in the picture for where our list is at right now.

We need to keep adding to this young group so that they stay together and play together unlike our last.

Viney, Petracca, Brayshaw, Hogan and Salem. All of them are fierce competitors. Whilst Viney, Brayshaw and Petracca are not elite users, they're all smart decision makers. They're footballers.

We need to follow this drafting trend and add to this core group with our first and second-round picks.

Stretch, ANB, AVB, JKH, Kent need to be good supporting players as part of that second-tier group of youngsters.

We've got a whole host of NQR's that will be moved on over the next couple of years.

I believe we also need to keep adding a couple of players like Vince and Cross over the next couple of years as some of these senior NQR are moved on.

Much work to be done until we see that first group form the nucleus of our side and who become the leaders of the club. We'll begin to see some sustained success when that happens.

I see absolutely no evidence of Curnow needing to work on his kicking. In fact, I'd say he's a really good user of the footy, by hand and by foot.

So you wouldn't look at Fyfe in the top 10 then?

I see absolutely no evidence of Curnow needing to work on his kicking. In fact, I'd say he's a really good user of the footy, by hand and by foot.

So you wouldn't look at Fyfe in the top 10 then?

I can't comment cause I haven't seen him play.

However from all the comments I've read, nobody has spoken about his footballing smarts, or any fundamental footballing skill. Just that he's raw, athletic and a 'big-bodied' player with the potential to move to the midfield.

Fyfe was at least deemed to be someone with fantastic football smarts, ability to read the play and great hands and on top of that, I'm not sure Fyfe would be the player he is today had he come to us... Fyfe was still a natural footballer. Even though kicking is not a strong point.

Can anyone answer whether or not Curnow has good natural footballing ability? What are his football specific attributes like?

Yeah, he's a big body, but I'm not sure how "raw" he is. From what I've seen, he is an outstanding contested mark and a very good, long kick of the ball. I haven't seen his field kicking too much to be fair, as most of his touches have been close to goal, however I honestly haven't seen him miss a target in open play. His hands at ground level are also outstanding, gets his arms free and is very clean.

I don't think the query on him is his fundamental football skill. He is sound in that area. The question that hangs over his head going into the draft is whether or not he will be an accumulator at AFL level, because he hasn't played a heap of midfield over the past year, and I don't think he has the height to be a number 1 key forward in the big time.

I've got a feeling if we keep our first pick we will take Curnow. The thought of a midfield the size of Brayshaw, Petracca, Tyson and Curnow is fairly enticing!

We can always trade for that extra speed and skill, think Freo trading for Danyle Pearce.

if hes that quick & tall, size,,,, its hard to go past that.

that tall -player who can play mids, & create havoc forward is dynamite.

whichever way things roll, we will end up with a very good footballer with our 1st pick, just as last year.

Yeah good point Dom. I think even though we have ANB and Vince (for another year or two) to run through the mid, It might be good to have another tall to move forward like Freo and Hawks do.

If we can get one more dream mid in FA like Prestia or Trelour I think the midfield would be in very good stead.

For pace you look for outside runners which Melbourne has practically none at the moment. I think it is possible to pick up late picks and FA who have those qualities.

& rookies you, mongrel... :P

Hypothetically, if we lose by >45pts to GWS and Essendon upset Collingwood by >1pt, we'll get pick 4. Can't shake the feeling their players are well and truly cooked though; that Gold Coast match in round 21 was probably the game that locked in the bottom 4.

Anyway, they desperately want the higher draft pick, especially when it's public knowledge they need to a full list rebuild via the draft. They'll be happy to bank a loss and we'll be happy to bank a win.

Edited by Lamashtu

the obsession stmj, with big bodies goes along, with having to be skilled as well... I don't know any posters who have said forget the disposal skills, but from those who watched him & reported in, they say he's a very good user of the ball.

going on this, its natural to get excited at the footy prospects on someone of his size, with speed as well.

Hypothetically, if we lose by >45pts to GWS and Essendon upset Collingwood by >1pt, we'll get pick 4. Can't shake the feeling their players are well and truly cooked though; that Gold Coast match in round 21 was probably the game that locked in the bottom 4.

Anyway, they desperately want the higher draft pick, especially when it's public knowledge they need to a full list rebuild via the draft. They'll be happy to bank a loss and we'll be happy to bank a win.

If Collingwood win, they jump to 10th or 9th, before the draft. pushing they're pick back, up to 3 spots later. I don't thik they want that to be the case, if the 'dons win, they move up the ladder one spot, depending on % ...

I reckon the dons players would love the feeling of a win to end they're ordeal... They are the equal of the pies anyway, on paper, less this seasons form. with the pressure over them. now hirds been removed, I think the players may jump for.

If Collingwood win, they jump to 10th or 9th, before the draft. pushing they're pick back, up to 3 spots later. I don't thik they want that to be the case, if the 'dons win, they move up the ladder one spot, depending on % ...

I reckon the dons players would love the feeling of a win to end they're ordeal... They are the equal of the pies anyway, on paper, less this seasons form. with the pressure over them. now hirds been removed, I think the players may jump for.

Only if Port lose to Peel Thunder and GWS lose to us (in which case the Collingwood/Essendon result won't make any difference to us; we'll have stitched up pick 6).

But you're right; if Port, Geelong and GWS all lose, Collingwood definitely don't have much to play for other than a 3 pick downgrade in the draft. I could see some creative coaching preventing that from happening.

Terrible ball drop curnow-200x320.jpg

Can be fixed, but yes, on the limited amount I've seen of him.

Lets go of the ball high & leaves a lot of room for error, but he has a good leg action.

Looks like the type who drops it high then his foot goes searching for the ball, so you get an ok ball rotation and trajectory but the direction is iffy.

Looks like his non-preferred to be honest...

Please tell me he's a right-footer?

Looks horrible if not!

(Edit - Meant right-footer).

Good point.

I've just seen him do a few kicks where his foot is searching for the ball and it influences the direction of the kick.

Ball drops can be worked on though, I reckon his mechanics are ok.

If that's his off foot, that's a positive. How often have we been upset by our players being too one-sided?

What are the odds of us doing a Tyson/Salem style deal and downgrading our first pick a little? We'd probably be right around the range to grab Curnow.

If we want him, we probably won't entertain downgrades. Curnow's range is probably 5-14.

If Lions or Carlton get first round comp picks (never mind both) we may not get the chance to make the call on him.