View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

New Leadership Group Announced

Posted

Jones (Capt), Dunn (VC), Grimes, Dawes, Cross, Lumumba...

Good call I reckon

What's the go with C.Garland? he's either taking a leaf out of Grimes's book and concentrating on his football, or he might of signaled he'll follow the path of his mate Chip?

Roosey's comments;

“James Frawley left [for Hawthorn at the end of last season] and Col Garland was pretty keen to really concentrate on his footy and Trenners (Jack Trengove) has a long term injury,” he told Dee TV.

Hard to argue against that group. I thought Bernie Vince might have got a look in, especially based on his performance last year. Jamar has been around a long time and is looking fighting fit but possibly in his last year or two. Interesting Garland has dropped out but given his performance last year maybe not so surprising. Hope BD is wrong about it signalling he will walk at the end of the year. I wouldn't jump to that conclusion.

Congrats to Lynden Dunn. Much deserved and really a remarkable turnaround over the past 2 years.

A good selection overall. Moderate size and Jones solo is the right call.

Elimination of co-captains strengthens the leadership roles and our captain & vice positions could not be in better hands.

Am very pleased to see Dunny recognised and heartened that the group saw so much in H to vote for him after just a pre-season.

Roosy's comments:

"Roos said the elevation of Dunn to vice-captaincy was “a terrific effort”.

“Probably externally he’s seen as one of those players who’s played in a number of roles and has been around the club for a long period of time, but externally people wouldn’t realise how much he’s valued within the Melbourne footy club,” he said.

Well done, Dunny.

Overall, I think they've nailed it.

This is by far the best leadership group I have seen for a long time. Guys with lots of experience and no kids coming in whatsoever with big burdans.

Thumbs up :roos:

Tremendous effort by Lynden Dunn. A real tribute to a bloke who has worked incredibly hard at his game.

It's weird to think he was drafted just after Matty Bate. One adapted his game while the other could not (or was not given the support and resources to do so).

It would be interesting to know what Dunn thinks the new coaching department has meant for his game.

Congats Dunny. Shows what hard work and great ethics will accomplish.

(Just leave the moustache at home. :blink: )

Edited by olgreydingo

Cracker leadership group. Who'd have thought 1-2 years ago that Dunn would be Vice Captain. Truely great effort.

I'll add my voice to the chorus. Great selections, all. And, stoked for Dunny! (Every Palace needs a good, solid Dunny...!! LOL)

I'm glad we don't have a leadership group of 15. I thought the trend was more leaders than followers a while back.

Pity that the Trengove/Grimes poisoned chalice now precludes youth. I thought there was a spot for Jack Viney. But then again most of us are external, and don't see the inner sanctum or George Stone's back of the room.

Really surprised none of the new draftees were included.

Terrific looking group well done to Chunk and Dunny, great reward for loyalty and consistent performance. Great to see an emphisis placed on experience.

I'm glad we don't have a leadership group of 15. I thought the trend was more leaders than followers a while back.

Pity that the Trengove/Grimes poisoned chalice now precludes youth. I thought there was a spot for Jack Viney. But then again most of us are external, and don't see the inner sanctum or George Stone's back of the room.

Getting excited about the season TGR?