Posted

its not too late OD, for Jack to become a boundary umpire.

but it will take a total change of spots for this cheetah to become a leopard. lets Not hold our breath.

Quality post.

Hilarious and insightful

Nice work.

Posted

this thread shows why Paul Roos is a genius and nobody here is

Well not nobody. There are some here that have rational views like Roos does.

Then there's plenty on here that declare careers over/players are to be taken to the gallows etc. after a bad game, or we have the next Ablett on our hands after one good one.

Not everyone suggested Watts and Howe be dropped.

Posted

Jack Watts and Jeremy Howe.

These two need to both be dropped to Casey this week, no exceptions.

They have no confidence, absolutely no defensive pressure (Jack Watts tackling is pathetic) take a leaf out of the first gamer Salem attacking the player, they fade in and out of games, rarely seen in some Qtrs .

They do no present when playing forward and they never push up to make an option.

Paul Roos needs to make a stand and Send them to Casey if this club is to go anywhere.

I haven't noticed a post from you AD22 since yesterday's win? Who will be your next targets?
Posted

I credit him mostly for perseverance, considering Howe was nothing short of awful early in the season. It must be great being a player knowing that once you get in the side, the coach backs you, and if one thing isn't working he'll try another. Being dropped seems to be a last resort.

If a player is playing a position with a chip on shoulder not wanting to be a defender, & the team are struggling, & not scoring readily, & losing, the player will most likely struggle in the position.

now when the team is clicking, & the players are reliant on Howe to fulfill his role, & the team has become potent, & threatening to win games, the player now feels like adding to the effort. he's working better, & Harder.

when his workrate & fitness lifts further, & he becomes harder at the contest, I'd like to see him also run through the middle rotations.

glad hes' not deep forward just playing robbo/jurrah style.

Posted

Quality post.

Hilarious and insightful

Nice work.

he's changed his spots RB. hasn't he. the chip has gone & replaced by Effort. even you should be able to spot that. Roos knows how to brush off chips. you should talk to him.

unless you are just happy for the red&blue to stay the course of the last 15 years. you do sound content with that.

Posted

Then there's plenty on here that declare careers over/players are to be taken to the gallows etc. after a bad game, or we have the next Ablett on our hands after one good one.

I was one that wanted them dropped, Watts anyway. My reasoning was based on on history though. Since the Daniher days we have had obviously talented players turning up to games giving 90, not 100%, and his been tolerated. This tolerance (call it perseverance) did not yield a positive reslut as the players in question did not mend their wicked ways. It appears now, however, that when Roos tolerates/perseveres with a player he does something different off the track than what the last 3 coaches have been doing - whatever it is, it is working.

Posted

I was one that wanted them dropped, Watts anyway. My reasoning was based on on history though. Since the Daniher days we have had obviously talented players turning up to games giving 90, not 100%, and his been tolerated. This tolerance (call it perseverance) did not yield a positive reslut as the players in question did not mend their wicked ways. It appears now, however, that when Roos tolerates/perseveres with a player he does something different off the track than what the last 3 coaches have been doing - whatever it is, it is working.

this is the Honesty I've been calling for from within the team/club. enter Roos & with him, leading teams; they also have the same beliefs of honesty.

the players are being guided to set their own values based on truth.

Posted

I was a major fan of Watts up until earlier this season.

I had always had him my favourite players since joining Demonland.

Earlier this season I gave up on him as a lost cause and wanted him dropped.

I've decided in future to trust in Paul Roos to make the decisions, surprisingly he seems to know more than me.

Posted

I've decided in future to trust in Paul Roos to make the decisions, surprisingly he seems to know more than me.

This is a revelation a number of posters on here have had in recent weeks.

I think it's a Demonland first, for the membership to collectively agree that the coach may know more than us.

Posted

After "a" bad game? Yeah ok.

Posted

read this thread from the start and fair dinkum there are some [censored] in here hahaha bloody idiots , its just insane at times , not just not the crap about howe and watts , Pederson copped an awful whack on here by the know alls (eat ya dump ya fools ) success is earned by effort and experience not the click of the fingers , jeez I dunno about you lot but ive never slagged off a bloke in a dees jumper if not good enuff fair enuff im sure they are doing their best , you want to vent fine call the bloke who recruits and GO THE DEES

Posted (edited)

this thread shows why Paul Roos is a genius and nobody here is

l'll second that, some of the douchbags who post on here are hilarious

Edited by baysidedave
Posted

Pederson copped an awful whack on here by the know alls (eat ya dump ya fools )

I've never understood this attitude. Yes he copped a whack or two, guess why? He was playing awful footy. Now for whatever reason, he is playing good footy. The fact he has come good in no way whatsoever invalidates what anyone said about him when he was struggling. What in God's name is the point in having a football discussion forum if you are just supposed to cheer everybody on regardless of what's happening on the field? I certainly wouldn't read this site if everyone just came in and talked players up without being honest and realistic about what they are seeing.

Posted

If we had dropped Howe and Watts like some of you keyboard warriors called for we would have no way won against Adelaide or Richmond

so you are saying the rule of thumb should be 'don't drop anyone no matter what'

Posted

There's nothing wrong with wanting players dropped either and your reason there is a rational one. I'm more referring to people giving up on players and being dramatic about their form. While players are on our list it's the coaches job to help them improve, not just cut them mid year due to frustrating performance.

In Watts' case I don't think dropping him would've improved him, it would've been detrimental. And in the end that's what it's about, not punishing players because you're frustrated by them.

Posted

I'll tell you what I love? A couple of posters coming on here and reading a few posts from previous weeks and then lampooning posters for having those earlier (quite valid) views. Well done. Doesn't take a lot of insight.

I thought Howe was very close to being dropped, but glad Roos kept the faith. Whereas, with Watts, I knew that dropping him wouldn't do anything - Roos and his match committee had to keep the faith with him at AFL level and the tide would turn. Sure enough, it has. But as C&B rightly points out, that shouldn't invalidate any of the earlier held views. Both were playing ordinary football and their desire and impact was rightly questioned. It's fantastic for us and them that they've slowly turned it around though.

Posted

I've never understood this attitude. Yes he copped a whack or two, guess why? He was playing awful footy. Now for whatever reason, he is playing good footy. The fact he has come good in no way whatsoever invalidates what anyone said about him when he was struggling. What in God's name is the point in having a football discussion forum if you are just supposed to cheer everybody on regardless of what's happening on the field? I certainly wouldn't read this site if everyone just came in and talked players up without being honest and realistic about what they are seeing.

exactly C&B.

.... the same types as those wringing their hands & with flushed complexions, are the reason nothing has been done for 45 + years with regard to Premierships. just go along with the company theme, no matter what.

well guess what hand wringers, since the member numbers had dropped off, & since attendances had dropped off at games, & players were also protesting they wanted Out, guess what has happened.

The AFL has stepped up, & we now have Peter Jackson, Paul Roos & his team, a new el' Presidente`, & a new vigor. all because the people & players had had enough.

So whilst you'll sat tight on your hands, things were happening because people protested. made their frustrations known & felt, by their absence from the pay stalls of food alley.

Posted (edited)

l'll second that, some of the douchbags who post on here are hilarious

and other douchbags as you call it wanted Jeff 'the shed' Kennett & his two toned jackets as president, with his BroeBeating mate, that old Lib thats organising the trashing of Australia's Egalitarian culture.

hilarious AFL-Jeff-Kennett-Hawks-297x202.jpg & whiskers Beetlejuice19172431.jpg

Posted (edited)

There's nothing wrong with wanting players dropped either and your reason there is a rational one. I'm more referring to people giving up on players and being dramatic about their form. While players are on our list it's the coaches job to help them improve, not just cut them mid year due to frustrating performance.

In Watts' case I don't think dropping him would've improved him, it would've been detrimental. And in the end that's what it's about, not punishing players because you're frustrated by them.

dropping players to the 2nds isn't giving up on them. its meant as both a chance to regroup & work on some areas that need attending to.

In Watts case it seems now that it wasn't necessary, thankfully & he has made the switch to effort.

Now without the voiced concerns of the supporters & members of our club, its possible that nothing would change & we could still be in the same position as a month or so back.

its the people that are forcing this club to change.

not the same old same olds whom sit on their tongues whilst clapping their hands politely.

Posted

They both played very good games on the weekend and for the most part the last couple of weeks - still, I'd like to see how they go against Hawthorn, Geelong, Port, Freo, Pies before claiming they have both turned the corner. They've set the standard now they need to show consistency.

Posted

so you are saying the rule of thumb should be 'don't drop anyone no matter what'

no. I am saying when you have 2 players who are abit down on form, you dont just rage drop them, rather play them into form. Howe and Watts are also too important to drop, we have no one to replace them and their positions. I am glad Roos keeps faith in players

Posted

lol

The kind of crap he got was not "Jeez, he's playing awful footy..."

It was (maybe I should do a search?) utter damnations on his ability as a player, his standing as a person, and the decision for the club to trade for him (even though we lost virtually nothing in doing so).

So, a yeah a few people can go eat some humble or just EAD.

Because that's how this works...

Posted

think ive made this comment before,JH playing down back and learning to sweep will take a year minimum .

if the coach goes ahead with this,grit your teeth and be patient,its not that easy to cope with this change.

the hardest thing for jeremy to learn will be when to GO and when to stick.

players like birchall,johncock,bradley and even guy mckenna took a while to learn this caper.

o have confidence in JH and the coaching staff to judge this call.