Posted

Barrack for another team? Yeah, right. Why would anyone do anything so daft? Can't imagine the stupidity it would take to change sides; to change to a team other than Melbourne; to go to the footy or watch telly and cheer for another team. Utterly bizarre. I would never, ever barrack for a team other than Melbourne. (Except for those 16 years I barracked for Carlton.)

Posted

Barrack for another team? Yeah, right. Why would anyone do anything so daft? Can't imagine the stupidity it would take to change sides; to change to a team other than Melbourne; to go to the footy or watch telly and cheer for another team. Utterly bizarre. I would never, ever barrack for a team other than Melbourne. (Except for those 16 years I barracked for Carlton.)

It will take 48 years of wholehearted support for Melbourne to have any chance of forgiveness for your 16 years of sin.

Posted (edited)

It will take 48 years of wholehearted support for Melbourne to have any chance of forgiveness for your 16 years of sin.

i'd leave it up to lordweaver to dole out the penances bbo

unless of course you're planning to get frocked. i hear there are a lot of vacancies lately

Edited by daisycutter
Posted

Glass half full. I've barracked for Melbourne more than twice as long as I barracked for Carlton.

Posted

i'd leave it up to lordweaver to dole out the penances bbo

unless of course you're planning to get frocked. i hear there are a lot of vacancies lately

You know what Lordweaver is like DC. It's all about corporal punishment or ,frequently, major punishment. He also frowns upon frocking - at least out of wedlock.

Glass half full. I've barracked for Melbourne more than twice as long as I barracked for Carlton.

Almost there Tony.

Posted

A decade ago my wife changed teams from Essendon to Melbourne.

Is there a special place reserved for her? Heaven or Hell?

Nice Idea but if she changed once she can change again... Not to be trusted Ha ha

Posted

Agreed. And at this point in life, I'm not emotionally ready to enjoy sustained success. By that, I mean three good seasons in a row. Or two.

I'll freak out when we win three games in a row.

Posted

As a young lad I changed allegiance in the preseason to Geelong as they'd been moderately successful the previous year, making finals, whilst MFC had wallowed in the bottom 8.

That next season the roles were reversed.

About 2/3 of the way through I switched back and have never questioned my loyalty since.

Although there are times in recent years I wondered what it'd be like if I'd have stayed with the Cats.

Posted

As a young lad I changed allegiance in the preseason to Geelong as they'd been moderately successful the previous year, making finals, whilst MFC had wallowed in the bottom 8.

That next season the roles were reversed.

About 2/3 of the way through I switched back and have never questioned my loyalty since.

Although there are times in recent years I wondered what it'd be like if I'd have stayed with the Cats.

I am positive you should have Machsy.

Posted

How could anyone think of leaving mfc how could you sleep knowing the ghosts of big bob johnson and tassie would be lurking at the foot of your bed waiting for you to doze off ,wore no.7 on my jumper in 50s ian mclean ,champion wingman he died at age 35,how can anyone give up that sort of historey

Posted

How could anyone think of leaving mfc how could you sleep knowing the ghosts of big bob johnson and tassie would be lurking at the foot of your bed waiting for you to doze off ,wore no.7 on my jumper in 50s ian mclean ,champion wingman he died at age 35,how can anyone give up that sort of historey

It is not that history they might want to give up.

It is 1965 to mid 80's when we did not make the finals once

Or 2007 to 2013 when we were irrelevant to the competition, got done for tanking, lost by 186 points and had the worst AFL coach in forty years.

Get the drift?

Posted

Or 2007 to 2013 when we were irrelevant to the competition, got done for tanking, lost by 186 points and had the worst AFL coach in forty years.

Get the drift?

the club is built on history i saw it between 50s and 60s and during jn and nd eras you are not a true supporter of the melbourne football club how can you call yourself old dee when you appear to be about40ish

Posted

and no i dont get the drift

Posted

the club is built on history i saw it between 50s and 60s and during jn and nd eras you are not a true supporter of the melbourne football club how can you call yourself old dee when you appear to be about40ish

the worst coach we ever had was dennis jones ,went the rooms after a thrashing from fitzroy ,heres jones sucking on a big bottle of beer telling the players to train harder if they want to win we walked out laughing

Posted

Mate, buddy, life long friend, intelligent person and dees supporter.

You have made my year

Posted

Get the drift?

dont get the drift dick head

Posted

Mate, buddy, life long friend, intelligent person and dees supporter.

You have made my year

i am not your mate or buddy ,wake up ,we are a great club with a great future

Posted

i am not your mate or buddy ,wake up ,we are a great club with a great future

Blarneymfc you have totally missed the point.

I mate those comments because you said I was fortyish .

Sadly you are way off the mark.

Get it?

Posted

My best mate changed clubs when he was young, in Primary School. He went from Collingwood to North Melbourne so I can't hold that against him.

There's that old saying that Footy is a religion in Melbourne and for me it's kind of accurate. It's like a fundamental belief, it's not something that I can just change my mind over night. Let's take life after death. you either believe in life after death or you don't, something very profound would have to occur for you to change your mind on the subject.

I'm not sure about that. While I don't have any evidence to back it up, I suspect more people change religions than change AFL teams.