Posted

We also put up with you posting on here as well, so in comparison it's not too bad

Roh Bail's efficiency is over 60%, so I would say not the worst we have ever had what's yours? 3km is not an endurance run, Trengove was probably in the top 10 alongside Watts, Howe

Mine is 100%, like your players stalked efficiency.

Posted

Trengove was probably in the top 10 alongside Watts, Howe

If you don't know the answer don't answer the question. We all know where he ''probably'' was.

Posted

If you don't know the answer don't answer the question. We all know where he ''probably'' was.

Stalkerconhome got tired after the first km and dropped off, Trengove was probably in the top 10 at this point so it was probably an educated guess.

Posted (edited)

I really like Nicho after this effort.

He must know it's going to be hard for him to crack more games going forward but I love the way he always seems to give it everything he's got which you can't help but admire.

Even if he is not getting a game he sets the fitness bar high and makes people chase him all the time which at least is a positive.

Same as Bail, they mightn't be quite good enough but at least they are fair dinkum in giving it there all.

Edited by deeko
Posted

You and others spend much of your lives defending ordinary footballers.

I'm not defending him Ben. I'm discussing his attributes and making a comment. I know it's not your style.

Where is the defence in "he's obviously on his last chance" and " I agree he doesn't use it which is a major issue".

You've got a serious comprehension issue lately.

Posted (edited)

AAAAhhh....feel better now....quick break from busy work day....rattle couple of cages.......if you want to post about a topic why not post something that is relevant like discussing why the do a 3k run as most midfielders average between 10 and 12k a game, is there relevance in the modern game?...... rather than just bagging certain players.....sorry forgot can't manage two way discussion

Posted

Most clubs have a couple of effort guys who finish top 5 in the running but aren't great footballers.

Just like Blease (pace) and Strauss (kicking) are on the list for other attributes.

At least Cross and McDonald are two best 22 in the top 4.

What I want to know is who was 5-10 and hopefully that they all ran quick times.

I'd be hoping it would be N. Jones, Trengove, Vince, McKenzie and good times from the likes of Viney, Tyson and Michie. More than anyone I'd would love to know where Watts finished and whether he's done a huge PB.

Posted

Seeing some great camaraderie watching vision of our time trials. Watts collapsed at the finish line and Crossy goes over to him, grabs him by the arm and helps him up.

Lots of team work, great to see.

Posted

AAAAhhh....feel better now....quick break from busy work day....rattle couple of cages.......if you want to post about a topic why not post something that is relevant like discussing why the do a 3k run as most midfielders average between 10 and 12k a game, is there relevance in the modern game?...... rather than just bagging certain players.....sorry forgot can't manage two way discussion

Oh so you're admitting you're constant standing up for bad players is just your form of trolling.

As for the 3k is a good measure of endurance and speed. Some clubs have moved to 2k to get more focus on speed. Either are more relevant than 10-12k because players do that distance over 2 hours with plenty of rest. Testing a straight up 12k would be useless

Posted

I really like Nicho after this effort.

He must know it's going to be hard for him to crack more games going forward but I love the way he always seems to give it everything he's got which you can't help but admire.

Even if he is not getting a game he sets the fitness bar high and makes people chase him all the time which at least is a positive.

Same as Bail, they mightn't be quite good enough but at least they are fair dinkum in giving it there all.

Really?

What did you expect, Nicholson and Bail to just fall back to the pack and stop doing the one thing they are both good at?

Having newfound respect for either them is completely nonsensical.

They're just doing what they do, what they have always done.

Not regressing out of fear for their job security isn't something I'd be patting them on the back for.

It might be different if I saw them putting in extra hours on the track fixing up their skill issues.

Posted

Oh so you're admitting you're constant standing up for bad players is just your form of trolling.

As for the 3k is a good measure of endurance and speed. Some clubs have moved to 2k to get more focus on speed. Either are more relevant than 10-12k because players do that distance over 2 hours with plenty of rest. Testing a straight up 12k would be useless

He's trying to claim that, but I doubt anyone is silly enough to believe it.

There's only one cage that gets consistently rattled.

Posted (edited)

He's trying to claim that, but I doubt anyone is silly enough to believe it.

There's only one cage that gets consistently rattled.

The one in his basement where he keeps ex players many of us have forgotten about? Edited by Deestroy All
Posted

3 km Time Trial results

1st Daniel Nicholson

2nd Tom McDonald

3rd Rohan Bail

4th Daniel Cross

Pretty impressive that a tall defender in Tom McDonald can come in second. Good player and valuable asset for the MFC.

Posted

Really?

What did you expect, Nicholson and Bail to just fall back to the pack and stop doing the one thing they are both good at?

Having newfound respect for either them is completely nonsensical.

They're just doing what they do, what they have always done.

Not regressing out of fear for their job security isn't something I'd be patting them on the back for.

It might be different if I saw them putting in extra hours on the track fixing up their skill issues.

Yep, really.

Posted

I'm getting a bit sick of the constant criticism of Nicholson and Bail's kicking. Firstly, while neither are great kicks, I don't think either are as bad as they are sometimes stated to be and secondly, by keeping themselves super-fit the coaching staff can spend more time working with them on their kicking and less getting them to the fitness level required.

Wow. And let's bring back Simon Godfrey and Luke Williams while we're at it, because it's still not too late to learn how to kick.

Nicholson and Bail are nothing but list cloggers mate.

Posted

Glad to see Daniel Cross run well. Bit harsh of the herald sun to say the veteran recruit showed up many of his younger teammates and they have a picture of Watts. I'd say that is credit to Cross for keeping himself in good nick and we know he wasnt finished as a player last year.

How did Blease go? We know how fast he can sprint but what about long distances. Also good to see Tommy Mac still showing the way. He has a great tank

Posted

Saty so why do they not do a 12k fartlek time trial based on position on the ground and how far that position runs, jogs, walks on average over a season?

Because a 3km time trial measures improved fitness accurately enough for the purposes of the footy dept?

Surely you're correct that it could be measured better, but I doubt that level of accuracy is required.

Posted

Wow. And let's bring back Simon Godfrey and Luke Williams while we're at it, because it's still not too late to learn how to kick.

Nicholson and Bail are nothing but list cloggers mate.

Plenty of revisionism goes on here. Simon Godfrey's disposal was significantly worse than either Nicholson or Bail...and he was also much slower. I don't recall Luke Williams having particularly poor disposal but he probably didn't play enough games for a fair view to be formed one way or the other.

Nicholson and Bail may be list cloggers and they may never improve. But the point still stands - if the club doesn't have to waste time getting their fitness up to scratch, they can spend that time improving their skills.