Dean Bailey Diagnosed With Cancer

Dean, good sir all one can say is i hope you are able to fight his horrible disease and win and you go on to live a long life in the joy of your family, friends and the MFC community as you are one of us.

Wishing you a full recovery Dean.

All the very best to you and your family.

Always thought you were a terrific bloke Dean and thought you had us going somewhere.

The players adored you and played for you that in itself says it all to me that you were a fine character.

All the best champ

Terrible news. I hope you get better news soon, Dean.

Okay.

I'll apologise right now as I've obviously offended some people. Almost everyone is touched by this dreadful disease.

Only today, whilst I'm in Vic, I've visited my cousin who is 37 years old and absolutely riddled with it. She has a son who is 4 years old and he has no chance for a sibling because the doctors have removed everything from the inside of her in order to limit any chance of it spreading. She still has tumours growing, still on chemo and who knows what other drugs. She looks like she's 60 years old, as thin as a rake. She's a beautiful woman who's in a battle for her life. In much deeper than Dean Bailey.

In hindsight, sharing an opinion on what causes cancer was not right. Connecting it to footy related stuff, not real smart.

Once again, apologies.

Just announced on SEN, all the best and get well soon, Dean.

I feel so sorry for Bails. a really nice fella. I hope he comes thru this, whatever it is, with flying colours.

Get well Bails...

Okay.

I'll apologise right now as I've obviously offended some people. Almost everyone is touched by this dreadful disease.

Only today, whilst I'm in Vic, I've visited my cousin who is 37 years old and absolutely riddled with it. She has a son who is 4 years old and he has no chance for a sibling because the doctors have removed everything from the inside of her in order to limit any chance of it spreading. She still has tumours growing, still on chemo and who knows what other drugs. She looks like she's 60 years old, as thin as a rake. She's a beautiful woman who's in a battle for her life. In much deeper than Dean Bailey.

In hindsight, sharing an opinion on what causes cancer was not right. Connecting it to footy related stuff, not real smart.

Once again, apologies.

Hopefully none were offended McQueen, understand where you are coming from, but it's such a difficult situation to discuss as it affects so much. Sorry to hear your story, it's stuff like that, that makes you think how lucky you, I, we are and how we complain about Pedersons 2 year contract and other unrelated crap it really does put it in perspective. All the best to her.

No offence Pal, but in an anonymous forum like this I'll take Googles credentials over yours.

no worries mate

Edited by tarzan16

Coaching Melbourne will do that do you they reckon

Having serious cancer - Bad. Having serious cancer when you are 46, pretty fit, just had a crap year due to a ridiculous suspesion for just doing your job - even worse. Haven't that cancer announce itself via a complication and in the lead up to xmas - well that's just plain rude.

Feeling for Dean and his family and even feel a bit sorry for the crows. He's well liked by all the players over there just as he was here.

Terrible news, best wishes to Dean and his family, all demons crows and afl fans will be hoping for a speedy recovery.

Google "stress and cancer" and read plenty.

Or use the correct database "PubMed".

Then read the original scientific articles, interpret the data and make your own evaluation of the experiments.

Google is not a good means for entirely factual data as it simply cites websites written by the common person.

Edited by ignition.

I wish all the best to Dean Bailey, I hope they have caught it early to make his fight as easy and as successful as possible.

Then read the original scientific articles, interpret the data and make your own evaluation of the experiments.

Google is not a good means for entirely factual data as it simply cites websites written by the common person.

Btw McQueen please don't take this as an attack and I was not offended by your original post. If you are interested use this database and search the word review along with whatever you're interested in (textbook for example are about 10 years out of date). A really good set of reviews on cancer are done by two men named Hanahan and Weinberg.

I myself work in the field of medical researc as a biochemist trying to understand the mechanisms of cancer invasion.

Edited by ignition.

Okay.

Once again, apologies.

Again as you have found out McQueen people don't take too kindly for speculation in these types of threads and rightly so. And I don't want to speculate too much either because it's wrong without more information but judging by what we have so far it might well be that Dean is in just as deep as your cousin it's only your cousin has been swimming for much longer. Anyway best of luck for your cousin as well as Bails.

Sensible advice should be acknowledged.

I acknowledge

As for your cousin I too wish them all the best. I saw a a seminar from Grant McArthur the other week and he showed some examples of some severely effected (stage IV) patients going into remission after combination therapy. So there is always hope while they fight their fight.

Terrible News Bails

Absolute champion bloke with a heart of gold

Thoughts are with you and your family

and I wish you all the best in your recovery