WELCOME TO THE MELBOURNE FOOTBALL CLUB - ALEXIS GEORGIOU

Maybe we have another Paul Prmyke on our hands.

Paul was about 195cms as I recall and Alex is 187cms. Paul was also a run off type and Alex is more a lock down negator type.

Very impressed with his game last night though and he adds to our depth.

Dare I say it, but to me Alex looked like a real 'footballer's footballer'. Smart, very disciplined, team oriented and played within his limitations, just like Brett Lovett did for so many years. I'm not calling him as the next Brett Lovett just yet, but Roosy loves players of that ilk, and I have a gut feeling that he might be around the MFC for a fair while.

Georgiou is a great addition to the team for those who were worried about our key position back depth

and he is surely taller than the 187 he is listed at?

A new favourite. I have a soft spot for defenders.

Looked really good, super composed!

Think I heard on the commentary that his kicking efficiency is surprisingly high. Not pretty, but effective.

I reckon he will be elevated. I loved his work, looked like a veteran. I think he has the game to transfer to the real stuff. Physical player and he did hit targets, sometimes under real pressure.

Very handy.

we need all the physical players we can fit into the team early season. we've got to take the chance now to instill a real 'physical' & 'disciplined' value requirement, to win a game in the team.

the disposal skills can follow after the contested & physical values are set in Stone.

Think I heard on the commentary that his kicking efficiency is surprisingly high. Not pretty, but effective.

84% they said.

Consider this, Georgiou's kicking action is right, everyone else is doing it wrong.

It's high because he makes good decisions and works within his limitations.

Already I feel really relaxed when he has the ball in his hands.

It's high because he makes good decisions and works within his limitations.

Already I feel really relaxed when he has the ball in his hands.

I'm waiting til we play a team who puts us under real pressure so he gets a proper test. And I'll still be nervous when he's under the pump to make a difficult kick not just having to chip it around. I know the Roos game plan of getting numbers back and spreading is going to help him a lot more than if he was playing in the Neeld days.

I'm waiting til we play a team who puts us under real pressure so he gets a proper test. And I'll still be nervous when he's under the pump to make a difficult kick not just having to chip it around.

Even then, his kicking efficiency in the SANFL for the entire 2013 season was 84%.

He's composed and makes good decisions under pressure. The evidence is already there that he's reliable.

Could he be the upgrade for Riley being on the LTI list? Might get more game time leading up to round 1 with Garland injured.

For someone who was picked up almost as an afterthought in the rookie draft, he came remarkably well-credentialled - dual premiership player in the SANFL, top FB in that league - and it's already apparent that he is required defensive depth. Depth, not fringe, and it's easy to imagine him establishing himself in the starting 22 within a couple of years.

Even then, his kicking efficiency in the SANFL for the entire 2013 season was 84%.

He's composed and makes good decisions under pressure. The evidence is already there that he's reliable.

Nine marks as well. Very good use of his body.

I thought the defence looked better organised when he was on the field than when he wasn't. The thing about him is his positioning. He rarely got caught out of position defensively, he made great position when we had the ball, he backed up really well, and he uses his body positioning really well in one-on-ones, even against much bigger opponents. It's that unmeasurable "footy nous" factor again; he plays like a veteran.

Think he we pan out as one of the more inspired selections of recent times.

A very capable, effective and thinking backman. Cool and calm under pressure. Not a lot more youd ask for.

I like this bloke. Hope to see more of him.

My new favourite player. It's the combination of short height, horrible kicking action & quiet confidence.

If some 187 cm kid on the rookie list said he'd be happy to play on a resting ruck man you'd think he was delusional.

With Georgiou, it's just a fact.

He really protects the ball drop well this bloke, his smarts help him make up for perhaps a slight lack of height for a key defender, certainly think he has the capacity to be a solid AFL level defender

When we drafted him there were 2 big issues:

1. Kicking

2. Who's he going to match up on

As a SANFL player and premier defender who's rarely beaten you had to expect he knew how to use his body and play. If he was soft or couldn't defend there's no way he'd be drafted.

Kicking - I think he's answered this one to an extent. Technique is very average with the double hand drop but he makes smart decisions and doesn't rush. We need to see more of him under pressure but so far it's not the end of the world

Match ups - this one we haven't seen. Sure he can guard bad resting rucks but what about West Coast if they have Cox and Nic Nat, I wouldn't have him on either of those guys. I'd be reluctant to pick him as the third tall defender for a team that has 2 big forwards and a third guy who is either a quality ruck or a quality marking tall. Against Geelong and Hawthorn I'd play him on a range of talls.

St Kilda in round 1 are likely to have Riewoldt (Tommy Mc), Tom Lee (Frawley) and Rhys Stanley as the second ruck (possibly Dunn or Georgiou) and then maybe small forwards and resting mids. We need to work out if he's good enough to take a Rhys Stanley as a 200cm ruck/forward and if he doesn't have the size then whether he can play on smalls as well in a lock down mode.

I don't think the plan will be for him to take the resting rucks when we start playing the real stuff.

I reckon he will be used for the tricky match ups, the ones that Garland often takes. Garland may be released into a more attacking role perhaps?

Great forum name El Gordo. .......

Are you Spanish ????

ps

I'm gonna love Georgiou !!!!

On the basis of his game last Friday, I am surprised he wasn't selected in the national draft. He was cool and composed, self assured, had good vision and knew where to position himself.

We lost absolutely nothing when he was on the field.

Good recruiting MFC. Elevate him asap.

if anyone bothered to watch the game in a slightly different light with regard to Gadgetman he instigated a few happening with intelligent use of the ball.

He knows how to use his body

He knows how to negate the oppositions body

He knows where the drop of the ball will occur ...

...and has ready made options as to what to do with it

Doesnt shirk, doesnt second guess, is cool, calm and collected

Hes NOT mag cover material....so who cares

He just a fair dinkum footy player.... ffs weve been crying out for them. players who just DO the job. Good teams have them, Premiership teams have them.

Not directly comparing but he reminds me in a sense of Doull...just goes about a job...no nonsense