View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Viv Michie

Out of contract at the end of the year and unfortunately has just done his knee. 185 cm mid/HF who has had an outstanding year in the WAFL but just couldn't crack into the the Freo midfield due to how well they're travelling.

Young Victorian boy, I reckon we should have a crack. There are a few clips on youtube from the WAFL and I saw his debut game against the Cats a while ago. He's a goer with better skills than most I've named below.

I'd certainly have him on the list ahead of Bail, Nicho, Magner, Couch, Rodan and Byrnes.

I reckon he's a good target.

might get him for nothing as a delisted free agent?

I have seen the kid a couple of times and he is a good user of the ball, poised in tight and knows how to find it, tragedy for the kid, Freo have a top line midfield and he would get a gig (when fully fit) in most midfields.

Maybe Rookie if available although he is highly rated at Fremantle

Out of contract at the end of the year and unfortunately has just done his knee. 185 cm mid/HF who has had an outstanding year in the WAFL but just couldn't crack into the the Freo midfield due to how well they're travelling.

Young victorian boy, I reckon we should have a crack. They're are a few clips on youtube from the WAFL and I saw his debut game against the Cats a while ago. He's a goer with better skills than most I've named below.

I'd certainly have him on the list ahead of Bail, Nicho, Magner, Couch, Rodan and Byrnes.

I reckon he's a good target.

Perhaps a chance - don't forget that Freo have got to try and fit in Morabito next year....now there's someone I wouldn't mind getting!

But 3 knee recos...gee.

Good spot.

Michie would be a good target, but I think the club may go for players who can come in & contribute straight away.

• Author

If it's only torn cartilage as one poster suggested then I think he'd still get in a decent pre-season.

Apparently he had a great pre-season for the 2013 season but as stated, hasn't been given the opportunity to play regular senior footy because of how well Freo's midfield is faring as well as the team in general.

These are the players we should be on the lookout for. He looks good and I hope we have a crack at him.

• 1 month later...

http://www.fremantlefc.com.au/player-profile/viv-michie

185cm, 85kg, will turn 22 before the start of the new season.

Good over head, sound decision maker and good skills.

As mentioned, Freo do rate him but he's out of contract so I reckon we could get him with a swap of third round picks. 36-51.

After about the first 25-30 picks in this draft the filed has a blanket over it so don't think we're missing out by making that type of a trade. Roos & Lyon have a good trading history together. Schneider & Dempster moving from Sydney to St Kilda.

A no from me!

Was reports on trade radio today that we are into him. Averaged 26 disposals this in the WAFL and won Peel Thunders BnF. Poled really well in the sandover and I was very surprised he wasn't getting much of a go this year. Huge big bodied ball winner who runs and spreads hard. something we lack.

Some footage here.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UCbuOn47wwo

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lAYod-sB9jY

maybe Ross Lyon can scratch his old mate Roosys back since they just got Sylvia for free

Edited by hogans_heroes

Can't open the above videos but had a look at some of Viv's WAFL highlights. He looks a really smooth mover with a strong body. Quite suprised!

He is the perfect example of a Roos/Kennedy scenario. identify fringe players with the scope for improvement and provide an opportunity.

Seen him play for Peel and rate the kid, he would be break into a lot of midfields in the league but Freo's midfield is hard to get into, would be a good pick up for the right price.

Would love our third rounder (#36 although that will most likely be #39 after compensation picks are factored in) to get the deal done

Mods please merge with dazzledavey36's thread.

Trade Jetta & swap of 4th round picks. Want our 3rd round pick for Cameron Giles.

Mods please merge with dazzledavey36's thread.

Done

Souce?

You know if it's likely to be in exchange for a pick or player?

For free, ie as a delisted free agent, or via trade?

As I said earlier, Freo supporting mate rates him really highly, saying if it wasn't for injury he'd be in their best side.

He's also not a happy camper re Sylvia being acquired, he wants players who look for targets then kick, not just blaze away up ground the second they get the ball.