Posted

I'm not sure we need any more former MFC players meddling in the club's affairs. If Lyon has taught me anything, if the Ox is to come back, it shouldn't be in an advisory capacity. I love him, but we need successful people and external people to take this club forward. I'd be happy with him taking, say, a position on the board though.

Posted

This is someone we need at the club in an official capacity, bleeds red and blue, very honest and passionate, all the things the Melbourne football club should but sadly doesn't currently stand for.

Brent Moloney?

Someone who bleeds red and blue does not pot the coach in public like that. Most unhelpful.

He is entitled to his opinion and its no different than many in the media who don't bleed red and blue.

Neeld has to go. The sooner the better. His position at the club is most unhelpful.

Posted

I'm not sure we need any more former MFC players meddling in the club's affairs. If Lyon has taught me anything, if the Ox is to come back, it shouldn't be in an advisory capacity. I love him, but we need successful people and external people to take this club forward. I'd be happy with him taking, say, a position on the board though.

You don't want any more ex MFC players meddling in Club affairs but you'd be happy with him being on the Board. Go figure!

Love the Ox. He would be a good Coterie draw card. But hell I would not have him on the Board. If there is to be a representation of ex players in such an important role then surely there are candidates that are more suited.

Posted

I thought this interview was pre-recorded. The comments regarding MN may have come soon after the big Bomber defeat... just a thought.

and nothing has changed since then

Posted

I thought this interview was pre-recorded. The comments regarding MN may have come soon after the big Bomber defeat... just a thought.

They directly refer to the GWS game do it was after the GWS game.

Posted (edited)

Brent Moloney?

He is entitled to his opinion and its no different than many in the media who don't bleed red and blue.

Neeld has to go. The sooner the better. His position at the club is most unhelpful.

I am not posting as regular as usual because I believe trying to counter the negative posters on here is a waste of my time

But the Ox only cares about the Ox, if you support a Club, and supposedly bleed red and blue, yes have an opinion , but why pot the coach in a public forum, that is not on, lost what little respect I had for him

It hints of sour grapes, he has already been into the Club, perhaps the Club did not take up his offer of help because what he could offer was of no value, coach? what qualifications does he have, you need them these days, assume he is already enrolled in a coaching course, I doubt it, too busy trying to raise his media profile.....must have another book out soon

Posted

One thing is for certain, our Club wouldn't 'lay down and be walked all over' if David had anything to do with the matter.

Just like he sat there and let Sheedy stick the boots in to the MFC on AFL Game Day a couple if years ago? Didn't challenge him, just sat there and copped it. Weak as pi$$.

Posted

I am not posting as regular as usual because I believe trying to counter the negative posters on here is a waste of my time

But the Ox only cares about the Ox, if you support a Club, and supposedly bleed red and blue, yes have an opinion , but why pot the coach in a public forum, that is not on, lost what little respect I had for him

It hints of sour grapes, he has already been into the Club, perhaps the Club did not take up his offer of help because what he could offer was of no value, coach? what qualifications does he have, you need them these days, assume he is already enrolled in a coaching course, I doubt it, too busy trying to raise his media profile.....must have another book out soon

Absolutely ridiculous post from start to finish.

The extent to which he "potted" Neeld was answer a question on whether he thought he would be coaching in 2014, and questioned if the players were playing for him. He never took any shots at him or even his coaching ability directly. It was more a comment about the current situation not being sustainable for too much longer.

Posted

The extent to which he "potted" Neeld was answer a question on whether he thought he would be coaching in 2014, and questioned if the players were playing for him. He never took any shots at him or even his coaching ability directly. It was more a comment about the current situation not being sustainable for too much longer.

Your opinion and you would know about that sort of thing

That is a pot, how would he know the answer to either question, he should have played a straight bat, this guy is "not the Messiah", where was he four or five years ago, didn't see him standing shoulder to shoulder with Jimmy Stynes then, let's compare with another players who "bleeds red and blue", Robbo, must be hurting on the inside like the rest of us, but never shows it, he has stepped in and up, does a lot of work unheralded, and always puts a positive face on for MFC

All I am seeing from the Ox is cheap talk

Posted

Agree, he was asked a question and answered it truthfully.

Did not pot Neeld, just said he did not think he would be there and like 98% of the media and football public does not think the players are playing for the coach.

I believe you read what you wanted to instead of what was actually said Satyriconhome

Posted (edited)

If we get any former players back at this club in a coaching capacity my pick would be Brett Lovett as senior coach if Neeld doesn't work out which is looking more and more likely.

Edit: Spelling

Edited by Tall Defence
Posted

Grab his phone number give it to Jack Watts, be a mentor to a young bloke that is lost and needs some one. This is for two reasons, first of we cant find the key to Jack we will lose him at years end and you reckon moloney on sunday hurts, wait till Jack goes to another club and kicks five against us, he is a big talent that is lost. the ox is the man he has faced huge hurdles in life from a young kid to his footy injuries, to his gambling, it takes good character to face such adversity and to get out the other side a better person. Jack Watts can benefit from someone like the ox on his corner.

Posted

Here it is:

Thanks GT Grimes - great little interview

Love the Ox - really interesting story and he seems like a good bloke.

I think the club needs all the help it can get - unsure what Ox would do though

Posted

Grab his phone number give it to Jack Watts, be a mentor to a young bloke that is lost and needs some one. This is for two reasons, first of we cant find the key to Jack we will lose him at years end and you reckon moloney on sunday hurts, wait till Jack goes to another club and kicks five against us, he is a big talent that is lost. the ox is the man he has faced huge hurdles in life from a young kid to his footy injuries, to his gambling, it takes good character to face such adversity and to get out the other side a better person. Jack Watts can benefit from someone like the ox on his corner.

Love that call Dr Drake

Posted

Agree, he was asked a question and answered it truthfully.

Did not pot Neeld, just said he did not think he would be there and like 98% of the media and football public does not think the players are playing for the coach.

I believe you read what you wanted to instead of what was actually said Satyriconhome

This is what I say about this board, "oh no he has disagreed with the small majority we have on here", he can't be right, he can't have a differing opinion, .............. we are right, David Schwarz is the Messiah, get him in now"

He has no idea whether the players are playing for the coach or not, (we have not got a functioning or experienced enough midfield at the moment, that is the problem at the moment - personal opinion)

I didn't want to read anything into it, I listened, again where was he 5 years ago?

We have had Barassi front and centre with Jim, Leoncelli, Robbo, Greg Healy, Todd Viney, Gary Lyon.....so don't quote we need ex players in.......I just want him to either put up or shut up,....we are ringing around tonight again, maybe he can pop in and give us a hand, (arrange a couple of cameras)........that way he can actually show he wants to help the Club, would be a good small step

Posted (edited)

Love the call that a some of the problems Schwarz faced were self inflicted

You're entitled to your opinion and you are correct in what you say - I don't see how that makes the Ox any less valuable to the club. He took on his addictions and has come out a better person. Something to be proud of i would have thought, and I also would have thought he'd have some valuable experience on and off field to share with the current crop of players.

Edited by Unleash Hell
Posted

I can't be f'd debating this issue

I'd welcome Ox to the club - if he commits so be it, if not I really don't care, but this club needs all the help and support it can get at the moment

Posted

You're entitled to your opinion and you are correct in what you say - I don't see how that makes the Ox any less valuable to the club. He took on his addictions and has come out a better person. Something to be proud of i would have thought, and I also would have thought he'd have some valuable experience on and off field to share with the current crop of players.

Debate...tiresome....sums up this Board really doesn't it.....on field, hasn't played for what 10 years, game gone....off field - the players are much better informed these days, and besides which the Club brought him in to chat to the 1st year players early in the preseason.

His media persona says he is now a better person

Most people who have faced real adversity, not self inflicted financial problems, do not need to broadcast their triumph against it

Posted

One line he uses that i absolutely love and has me sold that he should be involved in some way is -" i will do whatever it takes, i just want to help"

lets be honest, fixing the Melbourne football club is going to take a long time, it's going to require hard decisions, honest people and the comps most loyal supporters

the ox will provide those things, Not so bothered about Mark Neelds feelings at this point, i like him as a coach, he is very methodical believes in structures and setting high standards which we need, unfortunately i feel that there is something he is missing, not sure what that is, and unfortunately i think that will cost him his job, and that he knows as well as the ox that if he doesn't pull off something special he won't be there next year.

3-4 wins against expansion teams won't and shouldn't be enough i don't think.

Having said that there is no way the ox should be senior coach next year either!

Posted

One line he uses that i absolutely love and has me sold that he should be involved in some way is -" i will do whatever it takes, i just want to help"

lets be honest, fixing the Melbourne football club is going to take a long time, it's going to require hard decisions, honest people and the comps most loyal supporters

the ox will provide those things, Not so bothered about Mark Neelds feelings at this point, i like him as a coach, he is very methodical believes in structures and setting high standards which we need, unfortunately i feel that there is something he is missing, not sure what that is, and unfortunately i think that will cost him his job, and that he knows as well as the ox that if he doesn't pull off something special he won't be there next year.

3-4 wins against expansion teams won't and shouldn't be enough i don't think.

Having said that there is no way the ox should be senior coach next year either!

Then let's see him do something tangible rather than keep talking about it, I'll wait for him to turn up tonight and prove me wrong

Posted (edited)

Debate...tiresome....sums up this Board really doesn't it.....on field, hasn't played for what 10 years, game gone....off field - the players are much better informed these days, and besides which the Club brought him in to chat to the 1st year players early in the preseason.

His media persona says he is now a better person

Most people who have faced real adversity, not self inflicted financial problems, do not need to broadcast their triumph against it

Mate you have a problem with the Ox - good for you, thanks for sharing.

I'll refer you to post 45 - i don't care if he contributes or not

I personally think he is an inspriation though - guess you need to know what hard times are to understand how hard it can be

Edited by Unleash Hell
Posted

Then let's see him do something tangible rather than keep talking about it, I'll wait for him to turn up tonight and prove me wrong

How about you do smoething tangible and call Ox up on SEN and invite him down - afterall it's polite to ask