Posted
Exactly. So why you had to raise a fictitous claim about why you were warned in the thread is puzzling. If you still dont understand why you were once again warned then PM me. Otherwise focus on your own variable behaviour.

Fictitious? The posts are still there as far as I know so people can read for themselves. I called a poster a pretty tame name after he sledged a well known established fellow poster. In the past I have been known as a bit quick to anger, and maybe that has clouded your judgment.

Anyway, let's get back to the topic before we BOTH get warnings for spamming hey mate!

Posted
A fair few witnesses have said how pi55ed they were, and you don't make beer cup snakes and throw cups at people if you're drinking tea...

I've done it myself whilst still sober enough to drive...

The security guards might come down hard on it, but it's hardly anti-social behaviour.

Posted
I've done it myself whilst still sober enough to drive...

The security guards might come down hard on it, but it's hardly anti-social behaviour.

I'm on the fence with this one. I don't think they've done anything wrong as such, just a dumb look.

Posted

In all likely hood a storm in a tea cup or more realistically a plastic schooner cup. Certainly not smart behaviour but who ever said these guys were smart?Their footballers for christ sake. Who amongst us hasn't been tossed out of a nightclub or boozer for some completely juvenile behaviour. Some of us conveniently forget the folly of their own youth and are as quick to judge as a hack journo or an AFL administrator. Yes they earn big bucks and yes in today over analysed game they are supposed to be role models, but they are first and foremost young men. Testosterone and biology has something to do with all of this and unless we start neutering our young draftees this isn't the last time such stupidity will raise it's ugly head. Footballers as role models has always been a dubious concept. The very qualities we admire the most in a footballer on the field are also the same qualities that can and do cause some of them trouble in society. Lets not make them hate being footballers because we are willing to deprive them of the same rights of passage that we all enjoyed. I reckon a couple of extra 400's at the end of each session for a month should do the trick .On a brighter note it is heartening to know that our resident bad boy "COL" has not been mentioned in despatches. Well done Colin!

Posted

I'm still not sure they were tossed out for being p...d, who knows apart from security and the boys themselves. It may well have been for the better to move them on as them being there was causing friction in the crowd, nothing more, nothing less. Be interesting to hear the MCC take on this.

Posted

The Age reports that Howe was ejected by security whilst all the others left voluntarily which seems to be a mature and responsible move on their part.

Talk about a media beat up and a complete over reaction by many forum posters :wacko:

Posted

C'mon Smitty, they didn't get mature and responsible till one of their number got kicked out.

I would have like to see mature and responsible before they decided to head to bay13 to get on the pizz.

WTF did they think was gonna happen?

Posted

I was in the members today and am pretty sure I spotted Howe just behind me looking very sober

Posted

They got kicked out for a bit of argy bargy and throwing empty plastic beer glasses at people around them (Ricky Pettard) and then rivers, pettard and howe got in that argy bargie previously described.

it is very easy to get kicked out of the MCG now days - just ask the bloke with the fake money stappled on his jacket for Sculldog. Gone are the days when people would get absolutely blind and then [censored] their pants while they sit (which used to happen among other things in bay 13).

But at the same time if you want to get [censored] and run amok as an AFL player you'd think you'd chose to do it in private.

As for Frawls being rude when asked for a photo you can kind of understand why he reacted that way and why the fan got annoyed by it (if a paying member).

Posted

I wish Frawley would just concentrate on getting a kick. Had a pathetic year and has now partied at the cricket like a bogan yesterday, and at Eve on Saturday night. People will say 'they're on holidays' but the elite players don't get on the [censored] twice in 3 days. Appears to strut around the night clubs like a dead set [censored] whose AA year has gone well and truly to his head. Just get a kick chip.

Posted
C'mon Smitty, they didn't get mature and responsible till one of their number got kicked out.

I would have like to see mature and responsible before they decided to head to bay13 to get on the pizz.

WTF did they think was gonna happen?

No harm done was there TD ?

Surely they are entitled to a few beers on boxing day be it bay 13 or anywhere else.

We expect too much from these young blokes IMO.

Posted

If Aaron Edwards, a serial alcoholic who got locked up in the tank 2 days before he joined Richmond, escaped with only a suspended suspension, then surely Rd 1 suspensions will not be entertained.

Posted
No harm done was there TD ?

Surely they are entitled to a few beers on boxing day be it bay 13 or anywhere else.

We expect too much from these young blokes IMO.

they are more than welcome to hand back their monies and go find a regular job.
Posted

Some pie champ( arent they all) marley williams has been charged with assault in WA, should take the wind out of this story :)

Posted

Their footballers for christ sake. Who amongst us hasn't been tossed out of a nightclub or boozer for some completely juvenile behaviour.

That's the issue right there.

They're professional, high-profile footballers (with wages and responsibilities to match). They're not "who amongst us".

Posted (edited)
I think we can expect the club/leadership group to repond with suspension & fines

Probably true but I don't know if the players were responsible for the incident nor if they were ejected for their behaviour or the behaviour of others .

There is probably only light or mid beer available .

If you have ten you just get a headache .

Let them all have a life for a few days.(However low-brow it may appear to us perfect souls)

Get your own if you think its big news.

Rivers and Mclean are not our issue.

Howe was watching his cousin play for Australia.

At least they are watching sport and not smoking ice like the Tiggers and certain Collingwood guys.

If we suspend Howe I will have a sh!t fit .

Edited by Biffen
Posted
Boys will be boys? Idiots will be idiots, bogans will be bogans, discipline will be metered out!

I hope the punishment is not "metered" out in inches, or even meated out in chops.

Posted
Suspend them for round 1? Fine them? Naaaah. Make 'em really suffer. Send them back to Darwin for another full week of training. That's enough punishment for anyone.

Or worse, make em spend a week in Adelaide & walk home. ^_^

Posted

A trivial incident that doesn't offend me one iota.

The dedication of AFL players as young men is extraordinary, so I won't condemn them on a lapse of judgment on a public holiday on one of Australian sport's iconic occasions.

It's a no biggie for me. But it doesn't surprise me that many on here wet themselves over it.

Posted
I wish Frawley would just concentrate on getting a kick. Had a pathetic year and has now partied at the cricket like a bogan yesterday, and at Eve on Saturday night. People will say 'they're on holidays' but the elite players don't get on the [censored] twice in 3 days. Appears to strut around the night clubs like a dead set [censored] whose AA year has gone well and truly to his head. Just get a kick chip.

you have got to be kidding..

p.s onya boys!

Posted
A trivial incident that doesn't offend me one iota.

The dedication of AFL players as young men is extraordinary, so I won't condemn them on a lapse of judgment on a public holiday on one of Australian sport's iconic occasions.

It's a no biggie for me. But it doesn't surprise me that many on here wet themselves over it.

it somewhat surprises me you condone poor decisions , a lack of judgement and bogan behaviour.

Each to their own I suppose