Posted

Some tweets coming through from the boys suggests the entire team had a big dinner at the prince Patrick hotel in Collingwood tonight. If they had given me a bit of notice I would have made myself available.

Posted

There's always an exception to the rule mate, but for every Cox there are 10 Paul Johnson's.

Spencer's been in the system now for 4-5 years. At what point do you stop using the same old dean cox example and start to question how much longer this project runs? After all, when you get into a premiership window you can always take a Ben Hudson very cheaply as back up. It just doesn't seem worth a six year investment to get, best case, a handy back up ruck.

One of the reasons I refer to Cox is the fact I live approx 1500m from Medibank Stadium and saw Cox regularly for East Perth playing and training and he looked like an absolute crab for two years at WAFL Level he played understudy for Gardiner and was nowhere near AFL Level. Gardiner did his PCL against Port in 2003 Cox struggled but by mid 2004 started to come good by 2005 he was excellent and by 2006 he was elite.

On initial first appearances Mark Seaby was streets ahead but Cox surpassed him by hard work.Cox was a rookie to which is why I was dead against us using pick 3 or 4 this year on Grundy. So I agree on the cheap pick up of ruckmen

Posted

Thank you again to all of you who have the time to go to training and can then be bothered to write a report about it.

The rest of us really appreciate it.

Hopefully we continue to get some good reports throughout the summer.

I'll be checking up on the progress of Mitch Clark from Europe. I believe that this is a totally legitimate reason to be checking your iPad obsessively at every free Wi-Fi spot.

Posted

I'll be checking up on the progress of Mitch Clark from Europe. I believe that this is a totally legitimate reason to be checking your iPad obsessively at every free Wi-Fi spot.

Good luck with finding a free wi-fi spot in Europe outside of your hotel ...

Posted

FNQ Demon Report – Wednesday, 28 November 2012

........... his knees are the best they have ever been. The patch on his knee is due to a grass burn that has got infected. He admitted he is not as quick but feeling fantastic. Again, he trained really well. MN was taking with his constantly and his field position, kicking was excellent. The players continue to use him a lot.

I spoke at length with Mark Neeld; he is very happy where the guys have come in 12 months. He said the recruits would join the main group in Darwin. The current training is putting down a base level of fitness prior to Xmas, and then they will really step it up. He is very happy with what was going on and the attitude of everyone.

Overall a fantastic session.

FNQ Demon

I know this is repetitive , boring ,,,, and late - but I have to add my thanks to FNQ for a brilliant report. However many times you post here mate - your 18th post will take some beating !

Posted

Hi All, this is a question to everyone who was down there yesterday; did any of you notice Gillies or Pedersen? It occurred to me that they appeared to be missing.

Posted

Hi All, this is a question to everyone who was down there yesterday; did any of you notice Gillies or Pedersen? It occurred to me that they appeared to be missing.

Didn't notice Gillies but I did see Pedersen rock up toward the end of the session.

Posted

Good luck with finding a free wi-fi spot in Europe outside of your hotel ...

Maccas and Starbucks don't offer free wifi in Europe? They certainly do throughout Asia.

Posted

There's always an exception to the rule mate, but for every Cox there are 10 Paul Johnson's.

Spencer's been in the system now for 4-5 years. At what point do you stop using the same old dean cox example and start to question how much longer this project runs? After all, when you get into a premiership window you can always take a Ben Hudson very cheaply as back up. It just doesn't seem worth a six year investment to get, best case, a handy back up ruck.

It took Jamar a long time to make the grade. I suspect we were still unclear whether he would make it when he was 23.

And 'best case' for Spencer isn't to become "a handy back up ruck". 'Best case' would be for him to be the #1 ruckman. (I could argue semantically that 'best case' would be that he's the #1 ruckman, who becomes All Australian, wins a Brownlow and a Premiership all in the same year. But I accept he might not ever actually make that definition of 'best case' - I'd be happy with just the Premiership.)

Posted

Re Spencer, it was already mentioned in the article on the Club website when Spencer signed his new contract that he was seen as part of the succession plan for Jamar and he will be 25 or 26 when Jamar reaches the end........or sooner.

The fact that we now have a monster player who seems to be continually improving and developing will also ensure that Jamar plays at his abosolute best each week coz if he doesn't I am sure Neeld would have no hesitation in swapping him for Spencer

Posted

Thanks to all for the training reports. If they can carry what they are learning on the track into game day, we might do better than expected.

What we dont need, and its been happening year after year for many years, is injuries to our important players,the ones we need the most.

Our luck is overdue for a turnaround.

Perhaps we can chip in and get FNQ a flight to Darwin, his GF relationship seems on the rocks now after standing her up to get in another report.

Posted

And more_OMG4899.jpg

I get pumped reading these reports, great reports - thanks guys. Great shots Outside fifty.

Now I feel like playing eye of the tiger and punching out a gym session. Or run the tan with the Rocky theme on the ipod, whilst casually knocking a few Pies players over in the process.

I like our clubs new training tops.

I want one.

Posted

Could easily mistake the Dees for Carlton.

When I first arrived I had to look close to make sure i was in the right spot.

Has anyone seen the Crows clash jumper for 2013?

Must be close to the worst effort I have seen in a long time.

IMO makes our old silver one look wonderful.

Posted

Re Spencer, it was already mentioned in the article on the Club website when Spencer signed his new contract that he was seen as part of the succession plan for Jamar and he will be 25 or 26 when Jamar reaches the end........or sooner.

The fact that we now have a monster player who seems to be continually improving and developing will also ensure that Jamar plays at his abosolute best each week coz if he doesn't I am sure Neeld would have no hesitation in swapping him for Spencer

I think Spencer's biggest upside at the moment is how determined he is too improve. When you see him train, anything from marking practice to tap work to kicking on the run, he gets dirty on himself when he makes mistakes. He has come along way in the last 12 months. It's just unfortunate he hasn't had gawny there to push each other.

I'd be hoping for something similar to a Mumford in the end, but his work rate means he will give himself every chance of getting there.

Posted

I think Spencer's biggest upside at the moment is how determined he is too improve. When you see him train, anything from marking practice to tap work to kicking on the run, he gets dirty on himself when he makes mistakes. He has come along way in the last 12 months. It's just unfortunate he hasn't had gawny there to push each other.

I'd be hoping for something similar to a Mumford in the end, but his work rate means he will give himself every chance of getting there.

I agree 100% Saw all of what you describe yesterday.

I know this guys family.

I Think he was coasting under the previous FD.

This one has inspired him to believe he can be the Dees no.1 ruckman.

It is the next two years or never for Jake.

He knows he has to improve substantially over the next two years or AFL is done.

Time will tell if he has the skill But I don't think he will falter because of a lack of endeavour.

Believe me he wants it badly

Posted

I saw Gillies but only walking, he could've been fully training but I didn't notice. Didn't see Pedo at all. Might've been in his van.

Posted

I saw Gillies but only walking, he could've been fully training but I didn't notice. Didn't see Pedo at all. Might've been in his van.

I think he was back at aami packing bags of lollies for Xmas

Posted

Has anyone seen the Crows clash jumper for 2013?

Must be close to the worst effort I have seen in a long time.

IMO makes our old silver one look wonderful.

Agreed! Looks like someone took a white jumper and dropped three blobs of paint on it. Pathetic effort. Think I read somewhere that the players had some input into the design. If so, me thinks they should stick to footy...! LOL

Posted

Interesting measure. I'm having difficulty actually visualising what "half a yard of speed" looks like.

Dane Swan could show you...