Enough with wanting to pick up other clubs rejects

Posted

I wish we didn't have to, but we need to face facts, no on wants to come to MFC, our only means of attraction is cash. Once we use cash to become a little more successful then we can start attracting the guns.

yes Stuie but let's not attract the wrong ones...it's only day 1.

We will get a forward.

Posted

I wish we didn't have to, but we need to face facts, no on wants to come to MFC, our only means of attraction is cash. Once we use cash to become a little more successful then we can start attracting the guns.

True, but we don't want to be seen as desperate and a laughing stock either....although the latter is probably the perception at the moment.

This club has had a horrific 2012 and it'll take some time to convince others..but, not just ANY reject.

I'd rather the FD give a go to some mature age from the VFL who has busted a gut to try and make it, not someone who's played 90 game in 8 years...

Posted

True, but we don't want to be seen as desperate and a laughing stock either....although the latter is probably the perception at the moment.

This club has had a horrific 2012 and it'll take some time to convince others..but, not just ANY reject.

I'd rather the FD give a go to some mature age from the VFL who has busted a gut to try and make it, not someone who's played 90 game in 8 years...

Yeah, I should clarify, I didn't want all those players I listed, just an example.

Posted

yes Stuie but let's not attract the wrong ones...it's only day 1.

We will get a forward.

Hope so. But hope we get some players who can get the ball to a forward first.

Posted

It's a matter of getting what we can, some clubs (most perceived to be a big finals chance next year) are going to benefit greatly from FA, I mean these players still have to want to go to Melbourne and it's a matter of making our club and our culture appeal to them. Some people here have sat and complained about all these players won't fit and won't send the right message etc., it's not about that. Look at what Mitch Clark showed, and how he played. If David Rodan had that attitude and gave his heart out at Melbourne, I'd be happy, because he's shown to be a good player in the past, as has Shannon Byrnes

Posted

yes. But we need a mature key forward to begin with.

IMO we should get a few mids before more forwards, not point having them if there's no one to get the ball to them!

Posted

IMO we should get a few mids before more forwards, not point having them if there's no one to get the ball to them!

we think in reverse. I am sick of our mids having nothing to kick to!!

Posted

They've gotta get the ball before they can kick it!

yeah i know. But mids are easier to get than key forwards.

We will get both. But a forward must be first priority i reckon.

Posted

I've been quite hooked on reading the possible trade and rumor threads. Its like trying to guess what Santa is going to bring.

However I think that some people are in fantasy land(and I say that with the utmost respect as this forum is made of peoples hope) We currently have the dollars and draft picks so lets buy 1 or 2 big fish if we can coax them and draft the best kids. I dont think we are in a position to get players that cant get a game in a top 8 club and hope they become players that will take us to finals. I know people will say what about Josh Kennedy etc. Yes it happens sometimes but we cant afford to take a chance.

We need proven contributors and kids that NEELD can mould into his thinking.

I hope Santa brings something! Goddard's gone to Bombers. Do we have any chance with Lynch? Never mind about Neeld's thinking. Does anyone want to come to Melbourne full stop?

Posted

yeah i know. But mids are easier to get than key forwards.

We will get both. But a forward must be first priority i reckon.

We'l have to agree to disagree. I defintely think another big forward, and one or two quick forwards for pressure is important, but I think clearance players and run/spread players are first priority, in saying that, we need ALL those things.

Posted

Stuie Son!!!

Cheers for the Post. Need a Gun forward first.

Collingwood easily have the best mid set up with Beams, Pendel, Sidebott, Swann, Wellingham, Thomas and more..GUNS!! Cloke and Dawes are OK but didn't have good years.

Cloke may struggle the next few years and Dawes is similar to Jamar but worse.(Jamar potentially can kick butt in the Rucks)

Am sure you've played football? If so interested to know who for and when? (if it's not too personal)

You would know that if Mids including Rucks know there are targets they will lift out of there skin to get it down there? Could make heaps of analogies but a little late at night. IMO If Mitch Clark played for Collingwood this year and didn't get injured the Pies would of won the Flag and either Swann or Beams the Brownlow. Good Mids transform to very good mids if they have a target but if there's not much on offer down there then motivation drops off. Makes sense? We miss a Neitz type forward for the Davey types to run wild around. Crucial stuff here Stuie. Go Stuie and Go Demons.

Posted

We'l have to agree to disagree. I defintely think another big forward, and one or two quick forwards for pressure is important, but I think clearance players and run/spread players are first priority, in saying that, we need ALL those things.

Sad thing is stuie is we lots of everything

Posted (edited)

Stuie Son!!!

Cheers for the Post. Need a Gun forward first.

Collingwood easily have the best mid set up with Beams, Pendel, Sidebott, Swann, Wellingham, Thomas and more..GUNS!! Cloke and Dawes are OK but didn't have good years.

Cloke may struggle the next few years and Dawes is similar to Jamar but worse.(Jamar potentially can kick butt in the Rucks)

Am sure you've played football? If so interested to know who for and when? (if it's not too personal)

You would know that if Mids including Rucks know there are targets they will lift out of there skin to get it down there? Could make heaps of analogies but a little late at night. IMO If Mitch Clark played for Collingwood this year and didn't get injured the Pies would of won the Flag and either Swann or Beams the Brownlow. Good Mids transform to very good mids if they have a target but if there's not much on offer down there then motivation drops off. Makes sense? We miss a Neitz type forward for the Davey types to run wild around. Crucial stuff here Stuie. Go Stuie and Go Demons.

Woah.... Few bevys tonight mate? Haha You're alright bro!

Well, Mitch played for the Dees, (at least for half the year) and our mids didn't get any better... Nice theory though. We need both, but we're slightly more desperate for ball winners and users at this stage IMO.

Edited by stuie
Posted

Sad thing is stuie is we lots of everything

Very true. It's not that we need some things and don't need others, it's more the amount of need per type.

Posted

Thank the Lord you aren't involved in list management.

You better buckle up because more NQR's are going to be shown the door over the next few years.

you're right Roost. don't thank God though! Something real please :) Tough call on Rivo? NQR??? Has given tremendous service and had rarely put a foot wrong. Played out of position much of this year when nothing would have been lost blooding Watts forward more often. Rivers is a good solid back man.

Am right with Stuie re his comments on Clark and Rivers.. Again some respect called for for Jared Rivers.

Posted

I'm trying to ignore the sinking feeling in my stomach after Day 1 of FA...

Maybe we should get Mitch on the phone doing the hard sell.

Posted

I'm trying to ignore the sinking feeling in my stomach after Day 1 of FA...

Maybe we should get Mitch on the phone doing the hard sell.

I, on the other hand, am not at all perturbed by day 1.

As a matter of fact I'm rapt that the scum are paying Goddard $725K pa for the next 4 years when StK dropped their July offer to him significantly. I'm also pleased to see the 2nd most scored against defender in the last 33 rounds off to tigerland.

I'm really also rapt that we aren't being suckered into making big offers to players that don't suit us.

Posted

I, on the other hand, am not at all perturbed by day 1.

As a matter of fact I'm rapt that the scum are paying Goddard $725K pa for the next 4 years when StK dropped their July offer to him significantly. I'm also pleased to see the 2nd most scored against defender in the last 33 rounds off to tigerland.

I'm really also rapt that we aren't being suckered into making big offers to players that don't suit us.

I agree in part, but Wellingham and Pearce wouldn't suit us either? I would beg to differ.

The only player we've been remotely linked to is the big Q and he looks all set for black and white.

I realise it's premature but I think we have to face the reality that we are not an attractive prospect right now, and pulling a big name seems highly unlikely. When we conned, um, convinced Mitch, we had some results to use as a basis for claims we were a team on the rise. To someone on the outside, the club is a shambles going nowhere.

All we have now are bags of cash.

The fact Riv is out the door and the ramifications of that for this season is another matter.