The Nathan Jones Appreciation thread.....

Posted

This year blows we all know that. I'm as negative as the rest of Demonland at the moment as there is not much to love except for the little bald bloke who busts his gut every week and makes me want to go to games and he makes me proud to be a dee with his efforts every week. If I were any of the younger players who can't figure out what to do to become a good player I would follow this bloke around all bloody year. I heard how he was waking up every few hours to ice his calf when he was injured some weeks ago. Could you see Sylvia doing that? I Love your work Jones you can hold your head up high every week mate! So share the love if you want to. If not, I know it might be hard to find but if you dig deep there are some who to sack threads floating around.

Disposal average 2012: 24.7 Kicked 14 goals and averages 90 supercoach points.

I'm on board . One of only a handfull of players at the MFC that should be on the 'Will not be considered for trade' list.

Has all the skills and produces every week.

Will easily win the Bluey and has had it in the bag for a while.

Edited by the real deelirium

It was only a few years ago that he seemed lost under Bailey. Last year he was back to playing good footy and this year he has really taken it to another level.

I've been really impressed with his kicking this year. I noticed he is really starting to perfect his low penetrating kicks which reminds me of Goddard and Hayes.

Nathan Jones is the only reason that I still believe that players can develop at Melbourne. Our young players seem to start off playing well and stagnate but Jones seems to be the only exception. Would be good to see young players follow Jones' example in pre-season similar to what Lewis Jetta did with Kieran Jack this year.

Chunky has been getting better each year for at least the past 3....tough committed and tireless. In a counter intuitive way he gives succour to any anti Neeld critics because he exposes the lie about the clubs apparant fitness levels being the reason the team is so shyte this year.

Its not the coaching that has made Jones a better player, its his attitude and that was apparant even when the spuds ran anti Jones threads during the DB years..

Now Beamers boxing camp has gone perhaps recruits should go down to Bells with Jones for MFC induction.

• Author

His durability is often underplayed, he has only missed a handful of games since he was drafted.

It just shows what a professional he is. Obviously we need a standard at our club and he is it. Players should do everything he does to prepare themselves for AFL footy. Hell if i was Neeld i'd be telling them all to shave their heads,get tatts and go surfing. Once they all leave the room to do that i'd pull Mitch clarke aside and tell him not to worry about it.

Hell if i was Neeld i'd be telling them all to shave their heads,get tatts and go surfing.

In all seriousness, paddling around in the cold waters of Victoria would be pretty good for the body I would imagine.

Honestly, heaps of people swear by it. The body feels awesome after it, great for recovery.

edit: I must say his kicking to advantage or to target has improved so much so he is one of - if not - the best kick at our club this season.

In the seventies and eighties when things were bad,the only joy we had was to watch another number two busting his gut and giving every thing he had week in week out.

Funny how history repeats itself.

Jonesy heart and soul of the MFC.

His a gun and has had a great year and seems to have been one of the good stories under Neeld. Ive always liked him and he's come on.

Edited by Norm Smith's Curse

Is now A-grade!

I share this love - Nate has always been one of my favorites.

I will join this love fest - Jonesy has always been one of my favorites. Gutsy performances week in, week out.

Love him and his style so much I posted twice!!!

Is now A-grade!

A group of us were discussing this yesterday (MFC and non MFC supporters) and general consensus was he is now definitely in that category. Even his quiet games now have impact. He has learn to play to his strengths and improved those areas that were deficiencies in his game. He is now very much a well rounded midfielder who has been improving year on year but I believe has thrived under the elite standards motto of camp Neeld/Craig.

Edited by big_red_fire_engine

Big tick Nathan.

He is a shining example for some of the more talented but underperforming guys on the list to emulate - shows what bloody hard work and dedication (rather than just going out and having a good time, eh, Col and others) can achieve.

Others, take a long hard look at yourselves.

Would love to see how he might flourish in a midfield where he had a couple of others to take the heat off him.I genuinely believe he can be as good a player as Dane Swan just through sheer hard work and willpower. Has definitely taken his game to another level over the last couple of years.

• Author

Would love to see how he might flourish in a midfield where he had a couple of others to take the heat off him.I genuinely believe he can be as good a player as Dane Swan just through sheer hard work and willpower. Has definitely taken his game to another level over the last couple of years.

He will be an all Australian only if as you said he has some players around him the opposition can't tag them all but for now they only have to tag him

With Jack Viney in the team next year, I believe he'll rise to elite class.

All the young incumbents must grab hold of his shirt tail in October and hang on!

Thoroughly deserves the Bluey coming his way. Without him we are 4 goals further behind.

Good to see a positive thread too ;-)

Will join the club. Love his work. So much so, I shave my head! ;)