View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Why we will beat Sydney

Well, like my name says, are you 'dee'lirious champ??? We got no hope, but your case is reasonably well put forward. And I ask you this question La Dee-vina Comedia, what about the other 20 players who play for Sydney? Get real, first win won't be for a while......

We will win because IF our players are

- tough

- uncompromising

- disciplined

- united

0/4

Just saw Watts, Rawlings and Brown @ Carl v StK...

Sure hope none of them were smiling on camera....

I'm the black caviar of dumb threads!

I started one in the preseason posing the prospect of us being final contenders.

If you're the black caviar of dumb threads, I am the phar lap :P

Lol at this thread by the way.

Sure hope none of them were smiling on camera....

I saw them they looked like they should have looked on Friday night

GLUM

Would love it to happen as I'm heading up there, no chance if we play like we did v Hawks, insipid 3 quarters. Having said that, if they have a good hard crack and hunt the footy, who knows.

Dear Mr. Neeld, just tell everyone to get out of the forward 50 and leave Clarke against Richards. :)

If it's a wet and soggy night, the stars MIGHT align. But when they did last (Bulldogs, Saints), we still couldn't get over the line.

Realistically, I think it's going to be a 6-7 goal loss.

We have a shot in this game believe it or not. But jamar needs to tap to advantage not just randomly.

Thank god someone picked this up, has been doing my head in all year.

I reckon we can get close and maybe get a sniff. Im hoping for a Port v Rich a few years back kind of scenario.

Sydney are the cancer of the afl, i hate them (mind you I hate everyone)

Even if we lose I hope we belt Richards and Lewis Roberts Thompson those guys have faces I just want to see in pain

Yeah, sounds like homework to me.

Hopefully having a good look at the way Riewoldt runs.

• Author

Form aside, there is one very good reason why we will not win... I'm going to the game.

If I'd known that, I may have been more circumspect in my predictions!

My OP might be outrageous, but there's no point coming on here next week if we win saying, "I knew we were going to win". Of course, if we lose, there may be no point me saying anything ever again.

Reason for edit: spelling corrections

Edited by La Dee-vina Comedia

We will win because IF our players are

- tough

- uncompromising

- disciplined

- united

So essentially, if we choose a team of anti-Colin Sylvias, we win?

Good luck to all the Sydney Demons, get to the game and give em Hell!!

I wouldn't say I am confident, or buoyant, or overly hopeful but I also reckon we do have a genuine chance here. Goodes out is huge in our favour and I reckon player by player we are equal to them. It is the team-work where we struggle. I feel better about this game than I have about most of the games this year so at least I will be able to watch it without knowing we will get done beforehand.

Yep I will never forgive myself for starting that thread. Boy that one bit me in the backside. Am I in for a chance of dumbest thread of the year?

Mate, I was all over it as well. As the week went by the feeling that we were going to win grew & grew.

Backing the Dee's & encouraging others too as well.

Not sure where that confidence came from but it has been well & truly extinguished.

Swans - easily

Terrific,

Neeld's new game style is suited to a venue we play once a year.

If at all.

Form aside, there is one very good reason why we will not win... I'm going to the game.

Leave your son home mate have mercy on the boy, I am sure he does not deserve saturday

I am still waiting

for the coach to get the team and the plan to match the actual opposition we confront

for the players to respond with some passion and pride for the game they are playing (not for the future they think they may have)

for the club to address our apparent difficulties with tackling and holding the ball (We seem to be on the opposite end of any umpiring decision in either case)

for a repeat of the effort against the saints for a complete game

For players to be placed in positions more suited to their skill and those skills to be exploited for the benefit of the club

oh wtf for anything positive!!!!!(other than Mitch)

I am still waiting

for the coach to get the team and the plan to match the actual opposition we confront

for the players to respond with some passion and pride for the game they are playing (not for the future they think they may have)

for the club to address our apparent difficulties with tackling and holding the ball (We seem to be on the opposite end of any umpiring decision in either case)

for a repeat of the effort against the saints for a complete game

For players to be placed in positions more suited to their skill and those skills to be exploited for the benefit of the club

oh wtf for anything positive!!!!!(other than Mitch)

Gee mate I hope you are not holding your breath.

That has not happened it would seem since the practise match against the Pies.

As to the last one I am not at all sure that is in the game plan.

But I am struggling with what the game plan is trying to achieve so what would I know.