Posted

It should be:

This is a whole new season that starts this week. Forget every single thing that's happened in 2011. That's pre-season, and pre-season always has ups and downs. Our season starts on Saturday. We have a few tough games to start, but here's how we're going to absolutely let them know they're playing a tough team.

We need to win four games this season, and we are going to, starting this week. This will be a season they talk about for 100 years, because of what the Melbourne Football Club was able to achieve. Just four wins to make it all happen.

It starts now.

Posted

Simple. Replay the video of Mitch Robinson suggesting that we play bruise-free footy. Follow up with a pointed 'if you don't tackle, you don't win, and if you don't win, you don't play for the MFC under me.' Demand nothing but contested footy all the time.

Posted

Put it on the players. You have a massive debt to repay Dean, Jimmy, and 36 odd thousand others, if you dont come off bruised and battered you havent gone hard enough. let the leaders come to the fore and expose themselfs, and only then will you be able to look each other in the eye!

Posted

Simple. Replay the video of Mitch Robinson suggesting that we play bruise-free footy. Follow up with a pointed 'if you don't tackle, you don't win, and if you don't win, you don't play for the MFC under me.' Demand nothing but contested footy all the time.

If they don't show that clip, they are failures from day one. I would expect that anything they can show to fire this apathetic mob up would be there, and the clip of Robinson would have to be at the top of the list.

Posted

Have a [censored] crack you weak bastards.

It's Passion & Love,,, that drives the strongest of emotions. and the fiercest of Desires. Fear, Anger & Hate, only burn for a short time before they're exhausted.

Now, Q: How do you feed the Passion of LOVE ??? Does anyone have any Ideas regarding this motivation factor?

Posted

It's Passion & Love,,, that drives the strongest of emotions. and the fiercest of Desires. Fear, Anger & Hate, only burn for a short time before they're exhausted.

Now, Q: How do you feed the Passion of LOVE ??? Does anyone have any Ideas regarding this motivation factor?

My Hatred of Carlton will never die...i promise you that.

I want to hear the team warming up whilst i am sitting on Level 2 in the MCC Reserve this saturday....This Saturday will show what this club does stand for...I know it takes longer than i game, but if the team is not breathing fire this week....it may never do it again.

Posted

I understand your point mate, but I have had it with this club after the last week or so. The only bloody person at the club* who seems to give a [censored] is a very sick man who should be focusing on his health. If the leadership group had a tenth of the heart of Jimmy, we wouldn't be in this situation.

*There others, but I will generalise a bit here.

Posted

The world will be watching how they perform this week. Every minute every quarter.

Your next coach will be watching this week. It's your career. Play like a team. ANd win.

Posted

Emotional issues play their part but that's only part of the story.

Carlton is a top four team and we are a rough chance of making the eight if we can get our act together. As Garry Lyon said on FC - "they need to compete and compete like animals."

Posted

Bruise free stuff should be irrelevant. I don't care about some player weeks ago who made a comment which turned out to be very true. It shouldn't be our motivating factor, we have bigger things on the agenda.

This week is about pride and respect:

Respect for our club

Respect for your teammates

Respect for yourselves

Posted

Bruise free stuff should be irrelevant. I don't care about some player weeks ago who made a comment which turned out to be very true. It shouldn't be our motivating factor, we have bigger things on the agenda.

This week is about pride and respect:

Respect for our club

Respect for your teammates

Respect for yourselves

Yep. Respect for the jumper as well.

Posted

Apologies if someone has already mentioned this:

On the radio yesterday, Billy Brownless suggested to Viney that all the supporters were going to come to the game against Carlton wearing a white headband. I think he was joking, but I reckon it is a top idea. At the very least, it is a distraction from all the other crap that is going on. Top way to show our support for Viney too. I am off to the local sports shop.:)

Posted

As to the nature of footy as opposed revering the club I see Todd's influnce for the remaininder of the season to most likely follow a simple tenet. And thats simplicity itself.

Go and play straightforward footy, dont try to get too cute ( at present some skills will kill us if tried) Play what you know. the ol' KISS strategy. Look after the basics. Wear you r man, or guard your space. Deny the ball, or go after it if they have it dont let them do anything with it. Lay the tackles, make them stick. Contest teh ball and then contest teh afterplay ...and do it all again. Be tenacious. Dont put fellow team mates under the pump ...i.e dont play hot-potato !!

Play with what you have unttil you can better other skills.

and last but not least..... if youve left anything on the field.....dont show up monday !!

Posted

You know what will really bug me this week. If we come out and have this great win agianst the blues because the players wnat to respond. Its typical of the playing group this season that when the heat is on us we come out and win but then when it isnt we play crap footy.

Forget the fact we are playing Carlton it wouldnt matter if we were playing the gold coast the fact is if we win the media and Dean Bailey will be asking where was this performance last week.

Dont get me wrong a win would be great because we are still in the finals race and it would be good for toddy but I dont want to see Green grab his jumper or any other player to grab theres to show there love for the club.

Also if I could say one thing to the players i'd be saying your president is literally dying for this club and its a shame you boys cant do the same.

Posted

There would without dount be a particularly distasteful tinge to things in a fashion. It shouldnt matter. If yo can play, and win , you ought to be irregardless of whats going on. That it continually requires.. a calamity or end of world sceanrio to get these guys to just play football properly is a real worry.

Posted

You know what will really bug me this week. If we come out and have this great win agianst the blues because the players wnat to respond. Its typical of the playing group this season that when the heat is on us we come out and win but then when it isnt we play crap footy.

Forget the fact we are playing Carlton it wouldnt matter if we were playing the gold coast the fact is if we win the media and Dean Bailey will be asking where was this performance last week.

Dont get me wrong a win would be great because we are still in the finals race and it would be good for toddy but I dont want to see Green grab his jumper or any other player to grab theres to show there love for the club.

This sticks in my throat aswell .

We've already been in this situation at least twice this year alone and now this game for a 3rd .

Pathetic .