• Replies 255

Posted

Ok so I owe Brent an aplogy. Im sorry I believed what i heard in the news and on media websites. The thing that concerns me is his drinking. He said when he drinks he has trouble stopping. Binge drinking is a serious issue but hopefully the club and aflpa and hinself can sort it out. It sounds like he was the one to make the decision to stand down. Id rather him stand down than have him miss a week. He will get back in.

Also just an issue with mmm hot breakfast if you get a caller with a story check it out before you run with it. I know it a breakfast show and they wouldnt have been able to find out the facts but maybe clarify before you report it. Also dont trust your callers so much. Remember when shaw ran away when he crashed his car a few years ago and people said Didak was with him and Eddie didnt believe them and turned out he was wrong and was made to look stupid. Well now he has done the opposite and it wrong. Im not entirely blaming eddie but what the public tell you isnt true all the time.

Anyway the punishment has been done lets move on and focus on beating the suns.

Posted

at the end of the day its his word against the bloke who called into the radio. He may well have [censored] on the bar, he might not remember alot from last night!

I think the penalty is fair. Glad he's still available for selection though. I'm sure being stripped of the VC will only spur him on to trying to make amends on the field. watch out Suns!!! :lol:

Well apparently the nightclub went through camera footage and confirmed he did not urinate on the bar.

Posted

Well apparently the nightclub went through camera footage and confirmed he did not urinate on the bar.

Hope they catch up with the 'caller'.

Posted
Im not entirely blaming eddie but what the public tell you isnt true all the time.

Nahhh, I say blame him all you want. I'm still [censored] off about the Scully crap and then he does this. I really wish he was a dog so we could get him de-barked.

Posted

I think the right decision has been made. Brent did the wrong thing (very wrong) But is still part of the team.

If he works hard at winning games for us, he may one day get back his captaincy role.

Now, at least he knows how hard it will be to earn it Back, & players on the list will also take on board what happens.

BOYS, if you want to have some drinks after a win....do it at home if you must do it.

We need Beamer in the centre, working hard.

I am tipping Beamer will play a Blinder up in Brisbane next week, He loves this Club and i know he will be kicking himself right now.

But he has the chance to redeem himself & become even better.

Posted

I think the right decision has been made. Brent did the wrong thing (very wrong) But is still part of the team.

If he works hard at winning games for us, he may one day get back his captaincy role.

Now, at least he knows how hard it will be to earn it Back, & players on the list will also take on board what happens.

BOYS, if you want to have some drinks after a win....do it at home if you must do it.

We need Beamer in the centre, working hard.

I am tipping Beamer will play a Blinder up in Brisbane next week, He loves this Club and i know he will be kicking himself right now.

But he has the chance to redeem himself & become even better.

a thumbs up like facebook thingee

Posted

Confucius say "man who get 36 possessions should not show public he's cocky".

HaHaHa, thats what we need, a bit of, er, levity. This is too disappointing in a exciting year where we can enjoy the young talent coming through out club and team. Yesterday in spite of the struggle was encouraging in that we were able to fight back, and Beamer is a huge part in that recovery, and is a huge part in teaching these boys the Right way. He'a had a blot on his Resume'. I'm sure he won't be happy with what he has done himself, and what he has done to players and supporters belief in him.

I feel absolutely confident that he'll put his head down, as he's been doing, and his proverbial arse up and knuckle down quietly going about his business.

He's a great player and leader, and needs to get himself sorted and back on track. The season has barely begun.

Posted

Nice one Herald sun, having banner "Maloney ....." but a photo of Brad Green

(has been corrected)

Rupert has probably outsourced it to India, I'm surprised they didn't put an image of a car in.

Posted

Very disappointed with my favourite son getting into trouble and setting poor examples for his teammates. But there's no doubting he's been one of our best, arguably BOG in 2 of our 3 matches this year. Stripping him of his leadership position will make him even more hungry and desperate to make amends, so as long as he's available for selection this week i'm happy. I'm very nervous about this match, don't want to make history and be the first team to lose a home and away match to that mob.

Fine him, strip him of his title, give him a harsh peer review this week... and let's all roll on to next week and smash the Suns with Beamer up, firing and with a point to prove.

Posted

I've seen worse.

I've had someone [censored] on my leg in a bar in greece.

Anyway, the decision is what I have a problem with, it's a really poor one, and it's a direct result of his extreme intoxication, which is my point of contention.

Mind you, I'd be more concerned if he'd decided to do it stone cold sober!

Like dog,,, oh, sorry mate, thats funny.

I had a blue with 2 barmen in the bar @ Mykinos, back in '92... They stole my change too many times and I demanded it back. It was like an ol' Western movie. Then a Swiss, grabbed me and took me to the Swiss bar, but I thought better of it, and returned to the original bar, where we (barmen) promptly shook hands and settled it. Then they short changed me again. I just shook my head in amazement.

Thats just how they do it over there.

Posted

Yeah. Reeks of the "Chinese whisper" thing. Someone says they saw Beamer [censored] at the bar of a nightclub, and next thing it's being broadcast he had a [censored] at the bar!!

The guy stuffed up, and is now reaping the results. I feel for him. But, was stupid to be out at that hour before a recovery session, getting blotto and leaving himself open to the typical media frenzy. Sure hope he learns his lesson, and gets on with his job of helping the MFC win games!

Posted

Like dog,,, oh, sorry mate, thats funny.

I had a blue with 2 barmen in the bar @ Mykinos, back in '92... They stole my change too many times and I demanded it back. It was like an ol' Western movie. Then a Swiss, grabbed me and took me to the Swiss bar, but I thought better of it, and returned to the original bar, where we (barmen) promptly shook hands and settled it. Then they short changed me again. I just shook my head in amazement.

Thats just how they do it over there.

The Greek Islands are a strange place.

There are bars where that was open slather. There was even a term for it - "firetrucking".

Bloody footballers...

Guest Gotzy15
Posted

This is being blown way out of proportion.For goodness sakes the guy had 36 disposals yesterday and a million clearances yesterday. Its been confirmed he didnt urinate on the bar after a thorough investigation. He went out to let his hair down, maybe drank a lil too much but didnt cause any trouble whatsoever. He turned up to recovery today and will be looking forward to a big week on the track and a big game on the weekend. End of story.

Posted

Not worthy of the beat up. He will KILL it against the suns. He will rebound from this more focused than ever. Talkback radio caller... Gezus! Slow news day! Probably some drunk thinking that Beamer looked at his girl for more than 2 seconds.

Posted

Haha, wow.

Posted

I'm satisfied with the clubs response to this it has been swift, brutal and transparent. I'm expected and would've been comfortable with giving him a week off, but if that's the result I reckon he'll be gutted he's out of the leadership group.

Not happy Beamer!

Posted

This is being blown way out of proportion.For goodness sakes the guy had 36 disposals yesterday and a million clearances yesterday. Its been confirmed he didnt urinate on the bar after a thorough investigation. He went out to let his hair down, maybe drank a lil too much but didnt cause any trouble whatsoever. He turned up to recovery today and will be looking forward to a big week on the track and a big game on the weekend. End of story.

No AFL player expected at a club recovery session should be out until 2.30am that morning getting blind drunk. It might be okay at the Frankston thirds but not at AFL level. End of story.

Posted (edited)

If you want to see crazy bars, theres none worse than those I saw in Yugoslavia back in the Commie days in Eastern Croatia. Same area where they did some of the genocide killings in the 90's. All the drinkers when they finished their beers smashed the bottles on the floor or hurled them against the walls. By the end of the night there was broken glass 2 inches thick all over the floor. Anyone that fell over would have been in trouble. No one batted an eyelid or payed any attention even though bottles were flying about everywhere. Saw that in a few places.

Posted

The fact that he is out late - non issue. He is an adult and can use his time any way he likes as long as it does not affect his work, which in this case is footy. Too many people precious about footballers and curfews.

As for getting drunk (if true). Yep, this affects his fitness, mental health and therefore his footy.

As for urinating in a bar. You have got to be kidding!!! If this is true, it is much worse than urinating outside like Fev or those others a couple of years back. It is inside, there are people all around, and a lot of people find it offensive. Oh, and by the way, it is also illegal on health grounds.

You're a leader Brent and this is ridiculous for someone of your stature at the club. Pathetic for a senior player and club leader. Should be called to give account to the playing group. 2 weeks out of the game penalty.

I can't believe one of that our players has stooped to this after all the St. Kilda stuff over the break, Fevola, all the Collingwood stuff with Didak and Shaw a few years ago. Our first win now tainted with this.

Fair suck of the sav! He's obviously got a bladder problem causing incontinence. The club should refer him to one of our Collins St urologist members..

Posted

Who ever was James who was on Triple M this morning you dirty lier. Eddie probably told him to say he peed on the bar

Posted

The only person I am angry at about this is bloody Eddie Maguire. Putting an unsubstantiated rumour on the radio like it was gospel about someone pissing on a bar when it didnt actually happen. Next thing you know the little paper has blown it all out of proportion with sensationalist headlines. That collingwood muppet should know better, and the guy who called up and started the rumour should be on the radio tomorrow apologising to Beamer.

Posted

Its a really crud leadership example in a side that lacks leadership when a senior player and VC goes on a 7 hour bender the day before a recovery session. Really poor stuff. Neither MFC or the nightclub are claiming the urination issue. MFC is publicly disappointed at the lack of judgement, decision making and example set by Moloney. He was right to publicly commit to counselling.

No AFL player expected at a club recovery session should be out until 2.30am that morning getting blind drunk. It might be okay at the Frankston thirds but not at AFL level. End of story.

In a nutshell.

The only person I am angry at about this is bloody Eddie Maguire. Putting an unsubstantiated rumour on the radio like it was gospel about someone pissing on a bar when it didnt actually happen. Next thing you know the little paper has blown it all out of proportion with sensationalist headlines. That collingwood muppet should know better, and the guy who called up and started the rumour should be on the radio tomorrow apologising to Beamer.

Well done on completely missing the point. B)