Nathan Jones

melbournefc18

Posted

yes, and all those players you've mentioned are better now than they were then. Maloney isn't in and never has been in the same league. Re best 22 I stated a la Julia, moving foward. Don't care bout this year, next year or the one after. Near 50 years of mediocrity or worse. Hope we're building towards a winning a premiership not a repeat of 2000.

Um okay Tom Lonergon and Mark Blake can get a side but moloney or jones not good enough... wtf?

• Replies 164
Posted

Um okay Tom Lonergon and Mark Blake can get a side but moloney or jones not good enough... wtf?

Poor contrast.

Both are two completely different teams.

Posted

He looked very sore last week when talking to the foxtel reporter also he didnt play for casey today we dont have to play injured like in the past I,d say its precaution he,ll be back

Posted

BTW, what's the deal with Jones not even mentioning he was dropped on his Twitter account. You'd think he might say something about it, but he hasn't. Makes me think he'll be a late inclusion.

Posted

Jonesy has been a great workhorse for 4 and a bit seasons.

He continues to improve and develop his game.

He is out injured this week, as displayed by the fact he didn't appear for Casey.

Many of his possessions are in the guts under extreme pressure as the extractor. I don't have any problem with this. Judd turns it over quite a bit too under the same conditons (and i am not saying Jones is the next Judd, just the positional comparison).

He (along with Moloney provides that strong body in the guts. Something we will need for a few years before the latest batch have develped fully).

He will be back in the team before the end of the year and i have no doubt is an integral part of the depth and development going forward.

Posted

He is out injured this week, as displayed by the fact he didn't appear for Casey.

Many of his possessions are in the guts under extreme pressure as the extractor. I don't have any problem with this. Judd turns it over quite a bit too under the same conditons (and i am not saying Jones is the next Judd, just the positional comparison).

He (along with Moloney provides that strong body in the guts. Something we will need for a few years before the latest batch have develped fully).

He will be back in the team before the end of the year and i have no doubt is an integral part of the depth and development going forward.

Well said, mate. :)

The Miller talk around here has been making me queezy, so on that fine note of yours... it's time I hit the hay to get ready for a pub lunch at The Cricketer's Arms followed by the MCG clash! :)

Sweet dreams ya'll! ZzZ

Posted
We know his kicking is ordinary at best.

I hate that "at best" phrase. Especially when it's used incorrectly.

"At best" Jones' kicking is excellent. He's had games where he's hit tough targets over and over and slammed goals regularly from fifty. "At worst" it's unreliable and up-and-under.

It's not like he's Dorotich, who I'm currently watching in the 1986 Grand Final on footy flashbacks.

He can have very poor days, and some very good, even match-winning days. There's been plenty of players that sit comfortably in B-Grade territory, then the penny drops and they find a great second half to their careers. Jones won't get a whole lot bigger or stronger, but by gee he can get smarter as a footballer. I'll never understand why people assume a player won't improve just because they've cracked 50 games. If he was traded, I reckon we'd all be looking over our shoulders waiting for him to find the right mentor/fire in his belly to improve by leaps and bounds as a player.

Posted

I don't think injured as there was some comments that he trained with the main group yesterday- he is a designated emergency!

Interestingly his tweets have been a lot quieter- it must be hard to be dropped.

Posted

People are being mistaken as to why he was left out of the side. Him not playing for Casey today should be enough to convince people like you why Titan.

Given that there's no word from the club that he's injured, it could be just as likely that they're holding him over for today as Moloney might be a strong chance to be withdrawn.

I hate that "at best" phrase. Especially when it's used incorrectly.

"At best" Jones' kicking is excellent. He's had games where he's hit tough targets over and over and slammed goals regularly from fifty. "At worst" it's unreliable and up-and-under.

True. But 'at best', Paul Johnson could win a brownlow. Problem is that best is seen once in a blue moon.

I was talking about a general trend, and as a skill, Jones' kicking isn't very good. I think my point was clear.

Posted

On the 'AFL match centre' Jones is included and Johnson isn't listed

Late change: Jones for Moloney

Posted

Well hasn't this been a waste of a thread. Shortest omission ever.

Truest thing you ever did say.

Posted

BTW, what's the deal with Jones not even mentioning he was dropped on his Twitter account. You'd think he might say something about it, but he hasn't. Makes me think he'll be a late inclusion.

On the 'AFL match centre' Jones is included and Johnson isn't listed

Bingo. Ten points for me.

Posted

I think you need to find better uses for your shovel.

Like.. Dig myself a hole, build a pool, float around in the sunshine and watch Jones vie for B.O.G.

Yeah, that'd be nice..

Would he get a game in Geelong's midfield ? Would he have got a game in Brisbane's triple premiership team ?

As you say, time will tell.

Would moloney get into geelongs midfield atm? In fact, geelong didnt rate him enough to be apart of their team, yes?

Would James-mac get into Geelongs or Brissies prem midfield?

Would Bruce, Davey, Slyvia?

Its a dumb question. Take out, according to you, those that wouldnt make the cats or brissies prem midfields and only davey and slyvia (arguably) are left..

Tell you what time told me today.

It said, 'Jones would be the 2nd closest right now, after todays and recent efforts, out of anyone else in our midfield, to getting a gig at the Cats.' (Slyvia, despite a shocker today, probably the 1st)

Lets hope he can keep it up.

Posted

Had another great game today.

He probably hit more targets than most in our team and again was fantastic in the clinches.

Jones has improved his kicking immensely. Don't know why some people still think he is "ordinary at best".

Posted

Nathan Jones proves AGAIN why he is one of our most valuable players....his ability to pick the best target and hit it on the nipple by foot particularly, is becoming ever more frequently exquisite, and second only to Aaron Davey. I am completely non-plussed by those on Demonland who can't see his value. And that doesn't even begin to touch on his obvious value as a 'club' man.

Posted

Nathan Jones proves AGAIN why he is one of our most valuable players....his ability to pick the best target and hit it on the nipple by foot particularly, is becoming ever more frequently exquisite, and second only to Aaron Davey. I am completely non-plussed by those on Demonland who can't see his value. And that doesn't even begin to touch on his obvious value as a 'club' man.

Agreed.

and he attacks every pack and every contest with ferocity that is first rate. I love his hardness at the pill and that is just one more reason why he is in our best 22.

Posted

DemonDan, another massive fail for you.

Nothing much changes, you're missing the point again.

Posted

Agreed.

and he attacks every pack and every contest with ferocity that is first rate. I love his hardness at the pill and that is just one more reason why he is in our best 22.

Bang on. Jones' hardness is oh so sweet. I love his tenacity and ferociousness. Never say die attitude. Doesn't care if he ends up with a broken neck crashing through a pack to dive for the ball. It's that exact attitude of his that will teach the kids that this is AFL football and it's a supreme opportunity. Jones is a valuable asset to the playing group and today he showed us why.

On a side note... sounds like Jonesy has had some personal issues. He tweeted, "Tough couple of days personally, therefore my lack of tweets haha sorry all! Stoked to play though & get a win, thanks all for the support".

Personal issues.

Posted

Did a bloody good job today.

One of our best.

Who will make way for Moloney next week if he is up to it??

Posted

On a side note... sounds like Jonesy has had some personal issues. He tweeted, "Tough couple of days personally, therefore my lack of tweets haha sorry all! Stoked to play though & get a win, thanks all for the support".

Personal issues.

Pretty sure he was referring to being dropped, and hence the "stoked to play" comment.

It would have been a big slap in the face for him to be dropped, given he has played every game this season. But the reality of where we are at the moment is that the competition for spots is so tough, most players who miss out will be unlucky.

If Brad Miller doesn't get a game next week, and he may well not, he would be the stiffest footballer in history.

Posted

jones ability not to take the first easy option but to kick it long to advantage is his one of my favourite things about him.