Addam Maric

frawley for captain

If we can keep him fit he will absolutely flourish. He has talent and a terrier like attitude. He looks a natural and skills will improve even more, along with strength and endurance, as he matures. Keen to see him do well.

I really hope he has a good year. The few times I saw him play last year he was very unimpressive. I accept that he is young and inexperience, but the people on this site rated his skills so highly that I was massively disappointed. It wasn't just when he was under pressure, he seemed to miss targets more often than he hit them.

So, as I say, I really hope he has a great season and lives up top the hype and the expectations of the fans.

Still have vivid memories of that goal he kicked against WC at Subi last year. Late in the last quarter with the game in the balance he marked the ball in the centre, took a couple of bounces and kicked a sausage roll from outside 50!

Sounds like he's had a good pre-season and would be aiming for a round 1 spot given that it's his 3rd year.

I haven't seen enough of him to make a final judgement, but he has never impressed, HOWEVER, Bails gave him a veiled rap at the AGM so there's hope for him yet.

Roll on the intra club and the NAB Cup and we might be able to talk more sensibly about the youngest blokes on the list.

I haven't seen enough of him to make a final judgement, but he has never impressed, HOWEVER, Bails gave him a veiled rap at the AGM so there's hope for him yet.

Roll on the intra club and the NAB Cup and we might be able to talk more sensibly about the youngest blokes on the list.

Happy to go on record as saying he will be the surprise of the year. Has all the talent, is fit, strong, has a few games under his belt and knows where the goals are. Break out year.

He is only 12 months older than Tom Scully. Maric was a bottom age draftee, and like many other in years past (Bate is a great example) they tend to take a bit longer to shine at the top level.

Maric and a few others are really playing to be a permanent part of this team. There are several spots up for grabs and Maric is hunting for one of those spots. I hope the faith the coach and supporters have in him is an indication he can be the player we need. I think a fit Wonna and a developing Jetta are going to make it harder for Maric to crack the rotation soon, that is not to say he won't this season.

2010 is definitely the year for Maric, one way or the other.

Biggest disappoinment of the last 2 years IMO. But he definitely has age and reputation on his side.

In for a big year, no matter what.

Really? His body was that of a TAC cup FP. He needed to develop his body to be able to compete.

When he gets the ball and gets to the right spots he is clean and makes good decisions.

So far he has not managed to get to the right spots due to a combination of poor fitness and reading of the play.

A couple of seasons were always going to be needed to improve these things.

Just another kid we have to be patient with; getting them on the list is only the first step.

Biggest disappoinment of the last 2 years IMO. But he definitely has age and reputation on his side.

In for a big year, no matter what.

Your first sentence has to be one of the most flippant comments I have read on this site in the past two years. Lets get to the guts of what your trying to say. In a team that has finished on the bottom of the ladder two years running. In a team that has been beaten by over 100 points on numerous occasions, a team that still carries the burden of over $1 million dollars worth of debt, who is still at the mercy of the AFL. A team plagued by injury, lack of consistency and seriously under performing players, Addam Maric a 19 year old kid whose played 5 games is, in your opinion, your Biggest disappointment.

Titan I want to know did you just type this or do you really mean this? In your opinion is Addam Maric really our clubs Biggest disappointment? And if you do mean it, do you mean it from the pit of your guts, or off the top of your head?

I'm interested because I'm yet to decide what we're all getting from this. Do we just want to share each others passing remarks about players or do we want to in a constructive way discuss our club and make it into a better one?

Your first sentence has to be one of the most flippant comments I have read on this site in the past two years. Lets get to the guts of what your trying to say. In a team that has finished on the bottom of the ladder two years running. In a team that has been beaten by over 100 points on numerous occasions, a team that still carries the burden of over $1 million dollars worth of debt, who is still at the mercy of the AFL. A team plagued by injury, lack of consistency and seriously under performing players, Addam Maric a 19 year old kid whose played 5 games is, in your opinion, your Biggest disappointment.

Titan I want to know did you just type this or do you really mean this? In your opinion is Addam Maric really our clubs Biggest disappointment? And if you do mean it, do you mean it from the pit of your guts, or off the top of your head?

Well deconstructed, fork.

Let me clarify. By 'biggest disappointment', I meant draft/youth/new players wise. Not overall, Melbourne Football Club wise. Badly written by me.

I feel as though, for a player who came to the club at pick 21, and who had massive wraps over such traits as kicking ability and reading the play, neither of which have been demonstrated so far in his fledgling career, he has been a disappointment. Furthermore, when I compare Maric with the other kids we've drafted over the last couple of years, I rate Maric beneath our other draftees based on where he was drafted and the reasons why he was brought to the club. But, like I said, and like everyone else has pointed out, he is only 19 and he's only played a handful of games. You don't get massive wraps for nothing. So there's still plenty of time for him to develop.

What I wanted to say was that I rate Maric as the biggest disappointment of our drafting/blooding of new players in the last 2 years. But thankyou for bringing my attention to this, because I haven't done a very good job with this one.

I'm interested because I'm yet to decide what we're all getting from this. Do we just want to share each others passing remarks about players or do we want to in a constructive way discuss our club and make it into a better one?

This I don't like.

This is a forum designed to facilitate discussion about the Melbourne Football Club. Not for posters like you to decide which opinions or 'passing remarks' are OK and which aren't. Yes, my post was crappily written and failed to express what I actually wanted to say. My fault. But if I have the opinion that Addam Maric has disappointed me, this is a place where I am free to voice it. Discussion is always encouraged and takes place every day. And I doubt there are any posters here who don't want to see the club become 'a better one'. So please don't insinuate that when someone posts something that comes across as totally negative or as hyperbole, or just something that you disagree with, that they might as well not post at all.

Well deconstructed, fork.

Let me clarify. By 'biggest disappointment', I meant draft/youth/new players wise. Not overall, Melbourne Football Club wise. Badly written by me.

I feel as though, for a player who came to the club at pick 21, and who had massive wraps over such traits as kicking ability and reading the play, neither of which have been demonstrated so far in his fledgling career, he has been a disappointment. Furthermore, when I compare Maric with the other kids we've drafted over the last couple of years, I rate Maric beneath our other draftees based on where he was drafted and the reasons why he was brought to the club. But, like I said, and like everyone else has pointed out, he is only 19 and he's only played a handful of games. You don't get massive wraps for nothing. So there's still plenty of time for him to develop.

What I wanted to say was that I rate Maric as the biggest disappointment of our drafting/blooding of new players in the last 2 years. But thankyou for bringing my attention to this, because I haven't done a very good job with this one.

This I don't like.

This is a forum designed to facilitate discussion about the Melbourne Football Club. Not for posters like you to decide which opinions or 'passing remarks' are OK and which aren't. Yes, my post was crappily written and failed to express what I actually wanted to say. My fault. But if I have the opinion that Addam Maric has disappointed me, this is a place where I am free to voice it. Discussion is always encouraged and takes place every day. And I doubt there are any posters here who don't want to see the club become 'a better one'. So please don't insinuate that when someone posts something that comes across as totally negative or as hyperbole, or just something that you disagree with, that they might as well not post at all.

Thanks for your thorough explanation of your original post. It's helpful to have clarification for reasons which I'll get into.

I certainly wasn't trying to decide if your remarks were OK or not. I was merely trying to discover from you, being a regular contributer to Demonland, something I ask myself a lot of the time when I'm on here: Does the poster really believe in what they have just contributed to the discussion? Or is is something that comes to mind and keeps the conversation rolling? I, like others I know, find myself scrolling through masses of posts written by people who really don't value or own what it is they are writing. It is tiring occasionally as often, just when a conversation is starting to get interesting and in depth, in comes the snipers with thoughtless one liners who hijack peoples attention into the same old game.

When I first joined Demonland I read each post throughly, I considered each opinion and it really got me thinking. But after a while observing the way some people post, I have found most discussions to be full of flippant, off the cuff remarks, poorly thought out and therefore presented. It makes discussing topics, any topics on here, really problematic. Now this is obviously a problem I have with these forums, I understand that not everyone comes on here for meaningful discussion about footy. I think it's fine to crap on about most topics. But when players, their lives and their jobs are discussed with the same flippancy, it stirs me.

I have merely used your post as an example, not as a particularly bad example, more one that just shone out because of it's potentially damaging (if the player were to read it) nature and because you are a poster who I am not used to reading this from.

For the record your post didn't come across as negative, it was negative. I am not trying to suggest you or anyone else shouldn't post, I am really just trying to provoke an across the board lift in peoples attitude and effort when posting.

Cheers Titan, please don't take this personally, as it was not how it was intended. Trust me mate if I was into emoticons I'd do a little smily one, but I hate the damn things and promised myself I'd never use one.

Edited by the fork

At this stage he's a VFL specialist ala Valenti and Newton

I reckon there's about 6 or 8 spots up for grabs for the 14 players drafted in the last 2 years and I'm not sure he'll be good enough for one... really can't see him getting in our midfield at all, which only leaves FP, for which Ozzie, Davey and Jetta should keep him out

Early days though

At this stage he's a VFL specialist ala Valenti and Newton

I reckon there's about 6 or 8 spots up for grabs for the 14 players drafted in the last 2 years and I'm not sure he'll be good enough for one... really can't see him getting in our midfield at all, which only leaves FP, for which Ozzie, Davey and Jetta should keep him out

Early days though

He's very young

Has had some serious injuries since arriving at the club

Has only played a handful of games

He was a very highly regarded junior

Was a high pick in a strong draft.

I wouldn't call him a specialist at anything yet,

however,

He's just about to complete his first full, uninterrupted preseason since coming to the club and should be given at least the next 2 years to prove his worth to the club. I would be surprised if he isn't in our best 22 in a couple of years. I am one who rates him very highly and expect him to have a much improved season.

Edited by Roost It

We havn't seen much of Addam, but I have to say that in his limited game time, I have seen a few snippets which really excite me, particularly his decision making and poise under pressure. Based on what I've seen and heard, he needs to develop a bigger motor and a stronger body, as well as a stronger defensive side to his game, and of course consistency. However, as others have pointed out, he is still very young, and I expect that these aspects would have been high priorities for the current pre-season. I am confident that he will deliver on the potental he showed as a junior, and if he can remain fit, I'd be surprised if he doesn't establish himself as a 'regular' as the season progresses.

Cheers Titan, please don't take this personally, as it was not how it was intended. Trust me mate if I was into emoticons I'd do a little smily one, but I hate the damn things and promised myself I'd never use one.

Sweet. Great to get that sorted out.

FWIW, I don't think we'll see a lot of Maric this year, as I think Jetta and Wonaeamirri could play the same role but better. Hopefully they'll all keep the pressure for spots on each other and force themselves to work and improve.

I'd be disappointed if Maric was kept out of the side by Aussie and Jetta. Maric is infinitely more talented than either of them but his issues have, in the past, related to his workrate. But his ceiling is much higher.

Often players just don't understand what working hard means until they finally do it. Jurrah is an example of one of them, Sylvia is another. Watts and Maric are examples where it hasn't yet clicked, but the reports from preseason suggest that Maric is working very hard which is very positive.

Cheers Titan.

This is the beginning of what our side is hopefully going to see more of, players competing for spots, our forward line needs this desperately.

I'd be disappointed if Maric was kept out of the side by Aussie and Jetta. Maric is infinitely more talented than either of them but his issues have, in the past, related to his workrate. But his ceiling is much higher.

Often players just don't understand what working hard means until they finally do it. Jurrah is an example of one of them, Sylvia is another. Watts and Maric are examples where it hasn't yet clicked, but the reports from preseason suggest that Maric is working very hard which is very positive.

Whilst I respect your judgement,I feel that Wonaeamirru would be just a little in front of Maric, if both were fighting for the same position, being forward pocket with an occassional run on the ball.However, I do rate Maric and his upside may be better. This year should sort him out. I do feel he has more natural ability than Jetta.But Jetta has shown real commitment.

I'd have Maric and Jetta in the team and Wonamaearri damn close to being in the team. That's the beauty of these 3, very evenly matched on talent. Who would I want lining up for a match winning goal - Maric. Maric in a pocket, Jetta on the wing, Wona on the bench

weve seen what Aussie can do...and possibly build upon... Im pretty sure we havent yet seen Marics best. Im fervently hoping as others suggest that this is his break out season. Hes just got something... with the body and fitness he might well feel more confident and able to deliver.

On his day he will turn opponents inside out and upside down and all the whiles has that built in goal sense. Stick Maric in one pocket..Aussie in the other..and let Davey have a filed to play in.

Could be very exciting times ahead if these guys can get switched on.....very !!!

I think people need to realize AFL players usually start to play there better footy around the 24-28 year mark.

I no where still looking for signs and expect some to see some exciting games but Addam is 19 i would hope that he is still around for at least another 2-3 years to prove himself.

As long as they show they are capable they must be given time.

Also as for this breakout year, what do we expect in this for a 19-20 year old who has play only a handful of games.

Edited by Carn dees

I'd have Maric and Jetta in the team and Wonamaearri damn close to being in the team. That's the beauty of these 3, very evenly matched on talent. Who would I want lining up for a match winning goal - Maric. Maric in a pocket, Jetta on the wing, Wona on the bench

I think we could see all three in the team at various stages. Wonaeamirri is not a bad kick for goal either lining up. Kicks very straight, with penetration needing some improvement. All three I think have upside if they work hard to get the best out of themselves. All three could play small forward or rotate through the middle at various stages, giving Bailey options. Playing kids in different positions last year and making them adapt better by fast tracking their learning curve on certain positions will be beneficial.

as an aside to all this.. i dot see a need for a classic forward set up...i.e traditional positions. What you need is a forward unit that works together and orientates itself to the fall and incoming nature of the ball. Basically you need three taller and three midsize and then you can contest the air and dominate the crumbing all the while linking to a common purpose.

its all about possession and movement... no static domains and unnecessary specificity in role