Team

kieranbj

• Replies 55

Can someone fill me in as to why playing Frawley at CHF is such a laugh? We have been told Bailey has a knack of developing players (and we've already seen it in action), so why does naming a 193cm developing player sound so silly?

We are obviously looking to the future... lets see what Frawley has got to offer us down in the forward-line. If he doesn't show much, then that's fine... what have we lost from trying? However, if he does do alright... how good would it be in 3-5yrs time knowing that the kid can actually hold his own in the forward-line should we ever need him to be thrown down there because of injury or whatever.

2-3yrs ago people probably would of laughed at the thought of Rivers playing down forward... "blah, blah, blah... leave him down back... blah, blah, blah... don't mess with the kids development", yet after seeing him thrown down forward on the odd rare occasion, we have seen he can actually do alright down there as well.

I am really impressed from what I have seen from Bailey so far (in terms of developing the kids)... so personally, I am one supporter who looks forward to seeing the team-sheet and seeing who is playing in a different position to normal. I think that there is no harm in trying things whilst we are going through a re-build.

You never learn from the chances you never take.

i'd like to see davey frawley and cj in.

although frawley and carol will be a toss up. however frawley would have played last week if not injured while carol was consigned to the twos.

i spose wheelan could get a run for bell, but i think wheelan and cj are fighting for the same spot this week.

when you consider we already have bode and bartram running round our backline, and mcdonald has played a few roles down there this year too, im not sure there is a spot for wheelan yet.

Mate, honestly I reckon Chopper has been given a raw deal. Played on guys way bigger than him in a team that is struggling. He is a half back flanker/forward. I've said it before, he reminds me a lot of Martin Pike and should be given a go in the forward line. He was played there a couple of seasons ago and did really well. But as soon as we lose a couple of tall backs he gets thrown down there again. I'd hate to see him delisted or traded and flourish at another club.

He was played there a couple of seasons ago and did really well.

I haven't missed too many Dees matches or Sandy match reports.... i can't remember Carroll being up forward. Do you mean in his time for Claremont? even then i remember Mark Riley talking about how he was a tough no nonsense backman.

Sorry, I should have been more specific. He played on a half back flank woorking up to the wing running off hiss man. Idon't think he has played on the forward line before, but it should be tried. He has a nice set of hands and can take a good grab.

ahh i see, Carroll has a lot of good attributes, his biggest problem has been he is a couple of cm's short to be able to really hold down full back. Unfortunately I doubt his skills are of the standard to allow him to play a more creative role further up the ground.

It hasn't stopped Bruce! Ha Ha Ha :lol:

Mate, honestly I reckon Chopper has been given a raw deal. Played on guys way bigger than him in a team that is struggling. He is a half back flanker/forward. I've said it before, he reminds me a lot of Martin Pike and should be given a go in the forward line. He was played there a couple of seasons ago and did really well. But as soon as we lose a couple of tall backs he gets thrown down there again. I'd hate to see him delisted or traded and flourish at another club.

i wouldnt worry too much if he flourished else where because he has played well here, but never been a stand out star.

i still think he is a 3rd defender, prob competing with frawley at this stage, seeing garland and warnock seem capable of taking 1 and 2. unfortunately for chop he doesnt have age on his side, and we've seen his best. his best is ok, but long term i think there are hopes frawley could be better...

I am wondering, do the Frawley baggers in this thread work? If you do, were you as good at your job in your first few years as you are now? How do you think you would have gone competing against senior and more experienced managers in your first couple of years of work? I know I would hate my whole career to be judged by the work I did in my first year or two.

There is absolutely no justification for selling a young player who is learning the game down the river. It is just rubbish grandstanding. If he lairised, was slack on the training track, or didn't take his turn, fair enough to have a go at that. But all these people writing him off should remember that their Mums could have done the same to them before they could walk, talk and write stupid blog posts.

Official team.

Ins are Davey, CJ and Frawley.

Melbourne Team

B: J.McDonald, C.Garland, M.Warnock

HB: B.Green, P.Wheatley, C.Bruce

C: C.Sylvia, B.McLean, L.Dunn

HF: J. Bode, J. Frawley, C. Bartram

F: P.Johnson, B.Miller, A.Wonaeamirri

Foll: J. White, C. Johnson, N.Jones

Interchange from: A Davey, M. Bate, C. Morton, A. Yze

Emergencies: N. Carroll, M.Whelan, M. Jamar

Guest Schtacker
Melbourne Team

B: J.McDonald, C.Garland, M.Warnock

HB: B.Green, P.Wheatley, C.Bruce

C: C.Sylvia, B.McLean, L.Dunn

HF: J. Bode, J. Frawley, C. Bartram

F: P.Johnson, B.Miller, A.Wonaeamirri

Foll: J. White, C. Johnson, N.Jones

Interchange from: A Davey, M. Bate, C. Morton, A. Yze

Emergencies: N. Carroll, M.Whelan, M. Jamar

Matty Whelan please come home. Will have missed 27 of the last 34 matches after this week.

Ins/Outs:

Davey for Moloney

CJ for Bell

Frawley for Rivers

The 'ins' don't stack up too badly compared to what we saw from the 'outs' last week.

I'm disappointed Whelan didn't make it into the side, as I enjoy watching him play and he's had a frustrating run with injuries.

Still, dropping Bode after one match wouldn't help his development...although I'm not sold on him.

That half forward line is the most powerful I have seen in the modern era.

Three absolute gamebreakers who will combine for 15 goals.

Seriously though, I think we will [censored] the Tigers.

I just hope they win a couple more game after this week to lose their Priority Pick.

Can someone fill me in as to why playing Frawley at CHF is such a laugh? We have been told Bailey has a knack of developing players (and we've already seen it in action), so why does naming a 193cm developing player sound so silly?

We are obviously looking to the future... lets see what Frawley has got to offer us down in the forward-line. If he doesn't show much, then that's fine... what have we lost from trying? However, if he does do alright... how good would it be in 3-5yrs time knowing that the kid can actually hold his own in the forward-line should we ever need him to be thrown down there because of injury or whatever.

You never learn from the chances you never take.

Good post. I agree.

FWIW Frawley hasn't shown as much in his time in defence as many would have hoped for from a highly-rated junior, specialist KP defender and 1st round draft pick. At times he's been beaten in one-on-one contests a bit too easily, and hasn't looked as natural a reader of the play as Garland and Warnock, who have now overtaken him in that prospective FB/CHB position.

I think that DB has identified young Spud has been struggling in defence, and with the rise of Warnock/Garland, has noted that if Frawley is going to be a player, it'll have to be in a different role. I've read James played most of his junior footy as a backman, but its ridiculous for some people to suggest that at 20, and being a highly rated pick, he has no future in the AFL and is not worthy of playing in the forward line, because he has been poor in the backline. At least try it out, what have we got to lose? With Rivers out i must say it seems unlikely that he will play forward, but if we can't find an immediate match-up for him, i like the idea of trialling him at CHF.

Whether DB is playin coaching mind games or not, we wont know until game day, but I'm happy to see him named at CHF and genuinely hope he's given a chance to play there. One thing that irritated me most during the Daniher years was our inability to find flexible young KP defenders, capable of playing forward or back, because, with the exception of Brad Miller, none of our KPP's have ever had a go playing at the 'other end of the ground'. It's fair to say we haven't had enough quality young talls on our list in the first place to swing them around, but a guy like Frawley who has struggled as a defender at AFL level, is a perfect opportunity for the club to try develop a KP forward and do something different to what has been done in recent times.

im surprised Yze magic got the team exactly right in a post yesterday night!!

good guess

No guessing involved.

My knowlegde of football is widely renowned as the best in the country.

Who gets Richo if he plays on the wing?? I reckon Garland should have a crack wherever he plays. One of the only talls that could match his pace?? Thoughts anyone?

Agree, though if he settles deep forward maybe Warnock should move onto him as Garland might struggle one-on-one for size.