Skip to content
View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

POSTGAME: Rd 06 vs Brisbane

7 minutes ago, Dee Vinci said:

If I was a Lions fan.....that fiddling would have made me so angry.

Loved it.

…and we didnt have to listen to ‘country road take me home’ ad nauseum.

18 minutes ago, The Taciturn Demon said:

Not sure what to make of that after Essendon last week. Brisbane had almost double the number of marks as us, which would suggest they completely controlled the game, and yet we kicked sixteen goals! Sixteen! And some of them were the result of such attractive running footy! To my eyes we also got thrashed at centre bounces, but it didn't seem to matter.

Someone mentioned in the week our system wasn't all that much different from last year. To me, it looks like chalk and cheese.

Would it be fair to say Howes had Cameron and Tholstrup had Raynor for most of the day? If so, two really good defensive games. I thought the whole backline was strong after looking so brittle against Essendon.

The MCG is becoming a fun place to visit again!

I honestly believe that Essendon last week is the best performance against us this season. They have a lot of undderated talent on their list, were getting players back from injury and building continuity. Our wins have been amazing but I think both GC and Brisbane were quite a bit under their best, while Essendon gave us their best performance in probably 2 years.

Obviously we were a bit down last week, but I think it said a lot more about the underated strength of Essendon. I tipped them against GC and wasn't too far off being rewarded and I believe they'll start to win a lot more games. I also tipped us yesterday as I just don't rate Brisbane's ability to match up well against us like Essendon do. I'm glad that Essendon had the poor start they did or I think they'd be another side competing with us for a finals spot - I rate their level of talent as much higher than Tigers, WC, Port, GWS, Collingwood and Carlton.

1 hour ago, 640MD said:

The second of our Pickets, is to tying in really well, I love jus run, and the bounces. He also looks for options like the pass to jvr rather than a shot from the boundary. And the pair working together is magic stuff. Pleased with the win. Unexpected !

Great call, after watching the replay this was Trelly's best game yet. Was involved in a lot more stoppages, got his hands on it and used his pace and skill. He just looked comfortable and confident today.

12 hours ago, Nietaphart said:

Latrelle was important in the last quarter. He had many touches playing upfield. Not match winning, but important when it mattered. The Pickett boys either look for each other, but me thinks they know each other. It comes natural.

Jeffo had some good moments, but he seemed more focused and attacked the ball. To me he had the confidence to go hard. For a man who isn’t known to be hard, I was impressed by his confidence and attack.

Small wins from two inexperienced but talented men.

Kolt had his best game.

It’s all about development and I’m proud of Jeffo and Kolt. Two whipping boys who improved on today’s performance.

How good was Latrelle darting the ball from the right pocket to JVR I think.

Buller to his chest on 90 degree angle.

Good luck defending that.

I really feel for Petty, he has had a number of concussions now including one in the pre season which the club was extra conservative and gave him extra weeks to be safe.

I imagine we won't see him for a while and my fingers a crossed for him as he's a really good fella who is always generous with his time and happy to have a chat.

10 hours ago, waynewussell said:

Lip reading, I thought Petty said “I’m effed, I can’t see” to Howes

I'm no lip reader, but the "I can't see" I thought looked more like "I'm dizzy"

They showed some behind goal vision on one of the shows last night and after he took the mark in the square just prior to the missed kick, he appeared to stumble a little bit, so was probably already feeling the affects of whatever was going on.

Hope he is ok.

15 hours ago, Bang Bang Bang said:

How about Trelle’s pass to JVR in the last? Electric.

I had a couple of early doubts about the kid, but not anymore. He belongs.

He may not get much of the ball, but when de does... just so dangerously creative. He's definitely ironed out the debut rookie nerves now. That hanball-tap-handball play he tried with Kozzie...oh man, when that clicks, look out.

1 hour ago, The Taciturn Demon said:

Would it be fair to say Howes had Cameron and Tholstrup had Raynor for most of the day? If so, two really good defensive games. I thought the whole backline was strong after looking so brittle against Essendon.

It would be very fair to say that.

Howes is doing everything you want in this role and most importantly when it counts. There was a moment where they put a high ball into 50 in that last quarter and he had to think of two Brisbane forwards, he could have easily been turned inside out but he never lost awareness of the ball and managed to get a fist to it into an area which gave enough time for the cavalry to get back and assist.

Tholstrup has had some big ticks this year but you can easily make an argument that this was his best so far. Up against quality opposition and ending up with 26 possessions (24 of them effective). I also really enjoyed him taking the after behind kick-ins. We finally got to see the territory he is able to achieve on a regular basis. He's turning into quite a handy Swiss army knife.

And Turner continues to amaze me. I really think he is the next captain.

7 hours ago, DutchDemons said:

I’m getting the same excited feelings I got in 18 and 21. We’re actually the most watchable team in the league at the moment. There’s so much growth to come too. I definitely think we’ll tire towards the end of the season, but there’s already so many more positives out of the first 6 weeks of this season than the last 2 years of footy.

Too bad we have Gerard Healey commentating every match, he’s a goose. Matt Hill and Corbin Middlemas however were brilliant.

Coming off a low base, but I thought Gerard was a little more positive towards us on the weekend. However, his repeated slamming Langford for his kicking was annoying given the overall game Langford played and is only a second year player. Disclosure - I was at the game so watching the replay knowing the result has probably skewed my comments. Generally, he cannot help himself say something negative about the club or a player after another commentator says something positive (example - Langford's kicking).

2 hours ago, Redleg said:

Not sure why all the anger about Gerard Healy, as he is accurate and actually praised us several times during the commentary.

Would take him any day, over the ocker screeching of Kelly Underwood.

nails scratching GIF by South Park

11 minutes ago, Dodos Demons said:

Coming off a low base, but I thought Gerard was a little more positive towards us on the weekend. However, his repeated slamming Langford for his kicking was annoying given the overall game Langford played and is only a second year player. Disclosure - I was at the game so watching the replay knowing the result has probably skewed my comments. Generally, he cannot help himself say something negative about the club or a player after another commentator says something positive (example - Langford's kicking).

Yeah, he was 100% more positive than usual.
Even when we were down early game he continued to talk us up.
As commentators who sit through neutral games every week I reckon he's just a stoked to be entertained watching us.

It's Eddie Betts voice when he chimes in that I'm struggling with.
And when he does chime in it's rarely with anything inciteful.

36 minutes ago, layzie said:

I also really enjoyed him taking the after behind kick-ins. We finally got to see the territory he is able to achieve on a regular basis. He's turning into quite a handy Swiss army knife.

He has remarkable depth to his kicking. He's making better and better decisions, as well.

36 minutes ago, layzie said:

And Turner continues to amaze me. I really think he is the next captain.

He's a gun, isn't he?

I feel it's down to him and Chandler.

7 hours ago, DutchDemons said:

Too bad we have Gerard Healey commentating every match, he’s a goose. Matt Hill and Corbin Middlemas however were brilliant.

Matty Hill and Corbin are a breath of fresh air. They’re professional and they can focus on the game at hand rather than reminisce about the past and regale folks with endless anecdotes. Jason Bennett is also great for the same reason.

1 hour ago, John Crow Batty said:

Just wondering whether he had a mini stroke? They can affect eyesight.

More likely a vagus nerve response as part of the delayed concussion. Dizziness, tunnel vision - it can be delated but come on suddenly, and resolve fairly quickly - hence why he looked so great after the game. Hopefully the docs can work it out and it's 'just' concussion.

2 hours ago, The Taciturn Demon said:

Not sure what to make of that after Essendon last week. Brisbane had almost double the number of marks as us, which would suggest they completely controlled the game, and yet we kicked sixteen goals! Sixteen! And some of them were the result of such attractive running footy! To my eyes we also got thrashed at centre bounces, but it didn't seem to matter.

Someone mentioned in the week our system wasn't all that much different from last year. To me, it looks like chalk and cheese.

I can only guess that Fagan watched Essendon play the posession game and looked to do the same.
What was great compared to previous years, seems to be that we learnt from it last week and the Lions were getting pinned with the ball in their back 50 and by the time they went to the wings or centre, we had them covered for a contest really well for a large part of the game.
I reckon you could put it down to learnings (hahaha)
At least the learnings were implemented and we adjusted. That's exactly what you want from the coaches and players.
It brings me a lot of joy to see that we seem to be re-calibrating during games now. Not going into our shells.
No more bunny in the headlights!

1 hour ago, demon3165 said:

If only they could become like the Krakouer brothers.....

1 hour ago, demon3165 said:

If only they could become like the Krakouer brothers.....

I had that thought too - Krakouer brothers.

Exciting times ahead.

One thing I thought was quite a poor decision was JVR late.

He got that mark with maybe 1.10 left.

He used the full 30, which was perfect.

But then he took a shot on goal which I’m sure landed on Harris Andrews head for a mark. Giving Brisbane a chance to take the ball up the middle or wing.

I think in that situation, JVR should have used the full 30, and then passed it to whichever demon was on his left, open.

I’m certainly no expert at tactics, interested on thoughts of those who are.

What’s the right decision there?

We were I guess skilled enough and fortunate enough to stop them getting through one last time but it’s a 50:50 that thankfully went out way.

1 hour ago, GawnOfTheDead said:

How good was Latrelle darting the ball from the right pocket to JVR I think.

Buller to his chest on 90 degree angle.

Good luck defending that.

They had some great vision of that as a set play out of Gawn's ruck work. Latrelle came from space way back behind the ruck around the boundary at pace. Both the Pickett lads are just getting better and better at squaring the ball to players in space instead of blazing away. It adds a lot to our accuracy and goal kicking from more central locations. Lovin it.

28 minutes ago, TRIGON said:

nails scratching GIF by South Park

Exactly how I feel when he is the commentator. Rightly or wrongly I think he cannot resist saying something negative about the club.

11 hours ago, Kev said:

We are a much better team on the G. No lethargy today. Quick out of the gates, unlucky not to be in front in the first.

We need to create some central corridor runs. Smart coaching as we made some quick ball movements, especially the third, allowed the forwards an advantage. I thought everyone took their opportunities when called upon (other than a few with clangers).

Loved our pressure game, we chased well, including Fritsch. I think they were asked to try to unsettle Harris (good to watch his skills, as well as Neal). Some of the Bears ball movement was great, though they had trouble when they switched. We did well to regularly pressure them and get to that groundball first.

Sparrow keeps doing well under King, works so hard. Langford is growing into an important player for us. Chandler, with leadership and impact. Langdon off the half-back works. Turner leading the backs well. Latrelle continues to grow exponentially. King is a brave coach and won't die guessing, he 'has' the players.

I don't get the short of 15m kicks that got called marks. Makes it difficult to defend when they get those regular short, stop and start options.

Glad we did them (we know how to win), good discipline, structures, effort and fitness.

Will the media take us seriously yet?

The big thing now is to back it up against Richmond who we are expected to beat just like essendone.

Fingers crossed we have learned our lessons.

5 minutes ago, Dingo said:

I had that thought too - Krakouer brothers.

Exciting times ahead.

Matty Whelan said this during preseason while we were watching Koz and Trelly at Gosch’s. He said they don’t have to see one another to know where one another is.

2 hours ago, Redleg said:

Not sure why all the anger about Gerard Healy, as he is accurate and actually praised us several times during the commentary.

Would take him any day, over the ocker screeching of Kelly Underwood.

Agree Red. I thought GH praised us more than anything during the game. Underwood don’t get me started 🤮

1 hour ago, John Crow Batty said:

Just wondering whether he had a mini stroke? They can affect eyesight.

Possibly could be the onset of a migraine as that also affects eyesight for some people.

Really hope he is ok, he looked fine in the circle singing the song and hopefully the club gives us an update soon.

2 minutes ago, DemonOX said:

Possibly could be the onset of a migraine as that also affects eyesight for some people.

Really hope he is ok, he looked fine in the circle singing the song and hopefully the club gives us an update soon.

Could be low blood pressure, low blood glucose levels if he’s diabetic which we wouldn’t know.

Could be a range of things.

Hopefully it’s something simple, and he’s all good.