Skip to content
View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

POSTGAME: Rd 06 vs Brisbane

15 hours ago, layzie said:

Brisbane had 129 uncontested marks for the game. I honestly thought 100+ and we'd be beaten convincingly. Just goes to show you everything means nothing.

It's where they get them the game against the dons they allowed them to march the ball passed the wing and then transfered across the ground.

25 minutes ago, Waverley said:

What a sad life to live in the negativity, roos was talk about you the vile of negativity

Speak English please...

19 hours ago, Bang Bang Bang said:

How about Trelle’s pass to JVR in the last? Electric.

I had a couple of early doubts about the kid, but not anymore. He belongs.

Trelly is still only getting a small number of possessions butOMG he is smart, and knows how to deliver - that low spear to JVR was a work of art.

Imagine when he gets more match fitness and another season under his belt - he could be just anything.

19 hours ago, Chook said:

Knowing us, the tribunal will cite and convict both Pickett and Mihocek, and they'll be sentenced to 10 years hard labour in the salt mines.

It is very obvious that the "independent" Magpie MRO does have it in for Pickett, but even he surely couldn't conjure anything out of that.

5 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Tom Morris on SEN this morning reckons Kozzie Pickett will get off.

Tom Morris not stoking the fire and leading the charge of the worst casers..?! Hell has frozen over.

6 hours ago, BDA said:

Saw footage on first crack last night of a collision in a marking contest in the second quarter. Looked innocuous at the time. They reckon that collision caused concussion. That’s their opinion. Hasn’t been confirmed by the club yet

That still doesn’t explain his terrible kick in the first where he gave it straight to a Lions player who then kicked an easy goal. After his ‘collapse’, I was left wondering whether he had some other issue such as Vertigo or Arrhythmia.

Edited by hardtack

16 hours ago, demon3165 said:

Well, bad luck, I don't live in fantasy land, and I'm free to comment.

15 hours ago, Superunknown said:

Just dropping in for the obligatory good kicking is good footy

12.0 from set shots?

That wins it all for us in 2023.

I think whose training balls Williams invented were duds, and had a negative impact, you got train with what

4 hours ago, RedBlueandTrue said:

I honestly believe that Essendon last week is the best performance against us this season. They have a lot of undderated talent on their list, were getting players back from injury and building continuity. Our wins have been amazing but I think both GC and Brisbane were quite a bit under their best, while Essendon gave us their best performance in probably 2 years.

Obviously we were a bit down last week, but I think it said a lot more about the underated strength of Essendon. I tipped them against GC and wasn't too far off being rewarded and I believe they'll start to win a lot more games. I also tipped us yesterday as I just don't rate Brisbane's ability to match up well against us like Essendon do. I'm glad that Essendon had the poor start they did or I think they'd be another side competing with us for a finals spot - I rate their level of talent as much higher than Tigers, WC, Port, GWS, Collingwood and Carlton.

Nah it just a temporary lift from the bummers Brisbane not there best please, if you think that's our strongest side, bowers qq111¹11111

34 minutes ago, demon3165 said:

It's where they get them the game against the dons they allowed them to march the ball passed the wing and then transfered across the ground.

Speak English please...

Please stopping being cancer

21 minutes ago, hardtack said:

That still doesn’t explain his terrible kick in the first where he gave it straight to a Lions player who then kicked an easy goal. After his ‘collapse’, I was left wondering whether he had some other issue such as Vertigo or Arrhythmia.

That one was a straight up shank, even some of the best kicks on the best teams will shank one across goals every now and then. Guys like Sicily, Stewart, Zorko do it plenty of times.

As long as it’s the right kind of switch and not a wild aggressive kick into the corridor (the list of our players we trust to do that should be very short) we need to keep taking those kicks on.

25 minutes ago, hardtack said:

Don’t know HT. He’ll undergo his assessments by the clubs medical team and we’ll hear in due course.

2 hours ago, Roost it far said:

I too didn’t think his kick was the right play either. He had Pickett down the line who you’d back to win or square the contest with his man or force it OOB.

It was shade of big AJ having a ping vs GWS last year.

There was a moment to go to Langford just 15m away on the 50 but Harvey was badly winded by a late hit in the play to get it to JVR. That could’ve been great but also could’ve gone badly wrong.

And there was a backwards kick to Lever but he hadn’t chewed up much time and then Lever would’ve only had a few seconds to probably just dump it in the pocket.

So ultimately it was have the shot or chip to the pocket. Maybe the tall not on Harris could’ve led to the skinny side pocket and effectively tried to get a mark or boundary throw in.

In regards to the Petty kick, I said this in the game day thread before noticing the trouble he was in.

Yes it was a poor kick, but I hated the decisions of taking the ball off Half back and hitting the goal square, that does not open the game, but makes it worse, if you are to switch it cant go closer than say 25-30 from goal so the second disposal is the other HBF/Wing area.

I hope we don't try and do that in game again.

15 minutes ago, Waverley said:

I think whose training balls Williams invented were duds, and had a negative impact, you got train with what

Nah it just a temporary lift from the bummers Brisbane not there best please, if you think that's our strongest side, bowers qq111¹11111

15 minutes ago, Waverley said:

Shouldn't you be at school? Holidays are over. Next time, I will contact your mother to let her know you are raiding her liquor cabinet.

5 hours ago, RedBlueandTrue said:

I honestly believe that Essendon last week is the best performance against us this season. They have a lot of undderated talent on their list, were getting players back from injury and building continuity. Our wins have been amazing but I think both GC and Brisbane were quite a bit under their best, while Essendon gave us their best performance in probably 2 years.

Obviously we were a bit down last week, but I think it said a lot more about the underated strength of Essendon. I tipped them against GC and wasn't too far off being rewarded and I believe they'll start to win a lot more games. I also tipped us yesterday as I just don't rate Brisbane's ability to match up well against us like Essendon do. I'm glad that Essendon had the poor start they did or I think they'd be another side competing with us for a finals spot - I rate their level of talent as much higher than Tigers, WC, Port, GWS, Collingwood and Carlton.

A lot of those marks were Bris chipping it back & forward trying to exit our forward line. Thought we defended the space really well forcing them to kick boundary side. Melb def identified at half time the issue of marks & tidied that up . Why would you say Bris was under their best. Don’t talk about missing personnel before or “in game”. They are back to back premiers ..very comfortable on the G ..comparably we had 4 players come in with 24 games of experience. Maybe we just bought our best game this week

As with the games v the Dons, we saw ourselves vitally exposed right through the middle quite a few times.

On occasion it happened at lightening speeds.

But yesterday we had our fair share of returning the favour.

KP was not at his best IMHO but still very impactful and hypnotic to watch sometimes and still really, was so instrumental in our win.

Do we have the depth though to cover players like Steele, Langford and KP and Windsor who can play midfield?

Sparrow has showed some good form for two full games and again a little bit more yesterday.

Can Latrelle play there regularly ......is he strong enough?

I don't think he is.

I wouldn't mind seeing Chin there a bit more along with Bowser who isn't strong but very quick by hand a definite ball magnet who uses it very well. I know it's a strange option but worth a trial.

We need Viney back but maybe his age and injuries are catching up with him.

I'd definitely like to see another trial....AMW for example.

Rivers was good there for a while but fell out of form so we need to try a few things to cover injuries and form issues.

Our fast attacking style of play has shown how important the corridor is for our game plan, so we need lots of options .

The back line was sketchy yesterday but we now know Petty was probably out of form from a bump early on.

However Lever was in good metal and Turner in the first half was excellent.

Maybe Tmac still has a bit to offer?

Perhaps we could have held onto May but seeing Tracca and Oliver go was nowhere near as the worry I thought it would be.

Olivers stats sheet shows how he does well in collecting his usual 30 odd touches.

But I've watched him a bit this year and both his handballs and kicks often not just miss their marks but get turned over. His handballs are not sharp and direct....often an effort to get out of tackles or are too high and long or hospital ones.

His kicks lack precision so his 30 disposals in real terms can often be only around 20 if he's lucky. He gives away a lot of frees and rarely kicks goals.

How many times for us did he make a good effort to get his hands on the pill and without looking just bang it forward seemingly out of danger only for it to go to an opponent or a three to one competition against us?

He seemed to regained his ability to accumulate possessions only to somewhat lose his footy IQ.

Tracca is more of a loss especially since for some strange reason his goal kicking prowess has definitely improved.

But like at Melbourne he's still a very slow starter. Most of the time always has been.

He may average 27 touches but usually 20 of these for some strange reason have consistently been in the second half. Handy but he needs to be more consistent. He's slowed a little too.

So Im just saying they're not the huge loss many thought they would be. There just not the Batman and Robin of 2021.

So at the moment with some good players waiting to come back in. .......things at the Mfc are not too shabby. Our coach change was a great move. I still very much appreciate Goody's work to win us a flag but maybe we should have got two. Although Melksham and Gus were two big factors out of his control.

I had almost written Jvr off yesterday, but as usual just when that happens they play really well.

At present he's not far from 2 goals a game. His best season average yet.

Fritta too, turned things around and Brody is a handy addition. I hope Jeffo stays in but if Milkshake is better it's a tough call.

I know the tigers are the current contender for the spoon.....Anzac Eve game is a big occasion and things can happen.

So it's not in the bank. Nevertheless if we win we go top six i think but a big challenge thereafter at the Scg against the best fwd line in the comp.

We will have to win that from the middle.

It's exciting to be Dees fan again that much i know.

cheers.

Edited by Dee Vinci

6 minutes ago, Deestar9 said:

A lot of those marks were Bris chipping it back & forward trying to exit our forward line. Thought we defended the space really well forcing them to kick boundary side. Melb def identified at half time the issue of marks & tidied that up . Why would you say Bris was under their best. Don’t talk about missing personnel before or “in game”. They are back to back premiers ..very comfortable on the G ..comparably we had 4 players come in with 24 games of experience. Maybe we just bought our best game this week

I think we were probably a 4 goal or so better team on the day, performances from Andrews and their stars at times getting them very close at the end. A great Melbourne performance and probably our best of the season. But for whatever reason I think they were pretty clearly down on their best form. Their pressure was far below what they're capable of. They laid 31 tackles - their only players with more than 2 tackes were Dunkley with 4 while washcroft and lohmann had 3. This is a wildly low number for an AFL team. Even last week when it felt we couldn't get near them at times, we still laid 54. If we had done this we'd be furious and would see it as us being down and a lack of intensity rather than the ability of our opposition. Both can be true that we played a great game, maximised our strengths and minimised theirs, while they were also down on their best output.

Edited by RedBlueandTrue

Looked to me like Brisbane thought they could do it all on talent and kicking skills slicing us apart, without having to do as much of the tough stuff - which in fairness to them they nearly did...but our lads played out of their skins amazing considering we had 12 players 50 games or less. Least experienced Demons side in a very long time.