Skip to content
View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

POSTGAME: Rd 06 vs Brisbane

2 hours ago, adonski said:

If you were trying to create a jibbering, blubbering mess, you picked the right target!😂

11 hours ago, Demonland said:

I was thinking about that today . 3.15 was the “graveyard” game but it’s also a perfect tv viewing time & as the weather gets colder ..it becomes more so. With the type of game we are playing we are getting lots of neutral supporters watching. A lot of talkback which was positive was from neutral supporters. The AFL had done us no favours but if we keep playing like this..it elevates our profile ..hopefully gets a few more supporters to sign up & maybe attract some new ones ..,

afl.com.au
No image preview

The AFL's Most Watchable Players, ranked 15 to 1

Cal Twomey ranks the most watchable players in the competition right now

Edited by GawnOfTheDead

Reggie literally walking on air…

86464003-23fd-4958-958c-c3022e215096.jpeg

well, hovering, anyways 😂

Edited by Ghostwriter

18 hours ago, adonski said:

Kolt...unlocked?

Kolt and Howes really good in that play. Along with Turner, Bowey, Taylor and AMW, and that's your back half, all 24 and under.

44 minutes ago, Deestar9 said:

I was thinking about that today . 3.15 was the “graveyard” game but it’s also a perfect tv viewing time & as the weather gets colder ..it becomes more so. With the type of game we are playing we are getting lots of neutral supporters watching. A lot of talkback which was positive was from neutral supporters. The AFL had done us no favours but if we keep playing like this..it elevates our profile ..hopefully gets a few more supporters to sign up & maybe attract some new ones ..,

Will be interesting with Junior Footy season starting this weekend the effect on crowds. There are a lot of Melbourne supporters at my club / suburb we head upstairs to the social club to watch the game on TV leading into coaches corner.

13 hours ago, dees189227 said:

I'm starting to enjoy these 3:15 games

And I get to take the boy along. He's 4-0 this year and has even started watching the game at times. 😆

1 hour ago, jnrmac said:

Raynor's mark that hit the ground?

Did it hit the ground - i wasn't sure

3 hours ago, Ghostwriter said:

Brings a tear to the eye, Ghosty. Thanks. ❤️💙

Can you please have a word to Guerra about it being a permanent fixture? As an Essendon (former) man he should know.

Edited by Adam The God

42 minutes ago, GawnOfTheDead said:
afl.com.au
No image preview

The AFL's Most Watchable Players, ranked 15 to 1

Cal Twomey ranks the most watchable players in the competition right now

Latrelle will be top 3 within a few years as well.

3 hours ago, Ghostwriter said:

Couldn’t agree more, Adam. I didn’t notice how many people were dancing and waving scarves/caps until I watched clips from Insta and FB. It looked spectacular. But…

I’m not sure how that would go when we’re losing badly, which is gonna happen.

I reckon you just have to go with it in the good and bad times. We have that rich Irish tradition as a club anyway, we should lean into it. Might even convert some Irish backpackers to the redlegs. 😆

3 hours ago, Clintosaurus said:

Lions fans really are nuffies. Claiming the umpiring was totally against them. Must expect the glazing they get at the Gabba to apply everywhere.

The 12 meter kicks (speculation with my 'rose glasses' on) of the Lions being called marks, making it easier to force holes in our defensive structure. Yet, we get called several times to play on for the same distance. I would say those adjudications against us may have led to the turnovers by Petts and Kolt who had to look for hits between and over defensive Lions, as we wouldn’t lead down the line for them.

59 minutes ago, Deestar9 said:

I thought something similar when i heard two different commentators mention how exciting we are to watch atm and that we are making the Sunday 3:15 slot our own.

The Sunday games we've played thus far have been box office - and that has to be great for the club and sponsors.

With the Sat night game no longer on free to air (an unbelievably stupid decision by the AFL i reckon given that for many footy fans who are not fanatics and/or can't afford kayo - or simply don't want it - watching a game of footy on a Saturday night part of their weekly routine) the late Sunday arvo game is a more valuable free to air slot than in previous years.

And this year neutrals, including many kids, will often watch us play an exciting brand of footy.

2 hours ago, rpfc said:

Sometimes things that work should be left to work how it’s worked.

Another tshirt @DubDee

It's catchy, that's what I like about it. @rpfc

I'll add to our business proposal. Investors have been admittedly, slow to jump on board

2 hours ago, rpfc said:

If we did the Irish music after every goal we would ruin the whole thing. It worked because it is joyful and different and we won. And kicked 16 goals. Do it every week and it will not be seen as that.

Sometimes things that work should be left to work how it’s worked.

Another tshirt @DubDee

Were you there? Needs to stay or something variant of it.

12 hours ago, Demonland said:

The irony is, this will lead to less Sunday games and more Thursday/Fri night games

I prefer Sunday games tbh

1 hour ago, Hatchman said:

Langford free was 100% there. McCluggage went straight for the block in the contest and never even looked at the ball.

Free kick all day every day and as noted, he absolute knew it

Agree but I would be ropable if it was given against us.

Firstly for when it happened, usually the whistle is put away in the last in close games

And secondly that shepherding around goals is usually given a lot more leeway compared with around the ground

No doubt, we had the rub of the green with the umps overall on Sunday but it's about time!

21 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

Were you there? Needs to stay or something variant of it.

I was there. It was great fun.

If we do it every week it will very quickly lose its lustre.

It doesn't "need to stay", nor do we need a variant of it weekly (although we do have a "variant" I suppose, with songs after goals). As I said above, the other three MCG games we've played, including the Carlton game which was an away game, have had fantastic atmosphere without the Irish jig.

21 hours ago, Gorgoroth said:

Yes it was a poor kick, but I hated the decisions of taking the ball off Half back and hitting the goal square, that does not open the game, but makes it worse

Me too. I don't know much about the tactics and strategy of footy but I know one thing for certain. The switch of play that goes backwards, is central and doesn't lead to a quick next kick is one of the worst decisions you can make in modern footy. It puts you in a worse position in just about every regard. Maybe the only time it's worth considering is when you know you have literally seconds to go and it's the safest option.

I love the way we're playing at the moment, but sometimes I think a long kick down the line, which, yes, became pathological under Goodwin, remains the best option.

46 minutes ago, binman said:

Did it hit the ground - i wasn't sure

Definitely.

Last year I was constantly bemused how Sharp was an emergency for the Lions’ last grand final win… but now it makes sense

1 hour ago, Ghostwriter said:

Reggie literally walking on air…

Interesting colour combination with the socks and boots. Was he trying to keep all the Irish folk happy?

Furthermore, we've had an Irish ruckman. It's time for an Irish rover.

4 hours ago, adonski said:

Jeffo's OOTF from 30m is the reason he won't make it.

He cannot be relied upon for those 50/50 goal shots.

This is a fatal flaw for someone with a limited skill set.

2 minutes ago, Cranky Franky said:

Jeffo's OOTF from 30m is the reason he won't make it.

He cannot be relied upon for those 50/50 goal shots.

This is a fatal flaw for someone with a limited skill set.

Back on your meds please Franky

1 minute ago, adonski said:

Back on your meds please Franky

Back to your delusions please Adonski.

4th year on an AFL list & still barely scratching around.