View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

PRESEASON TRAINING: Wednesday 4th February 2026

1 minute ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Its not a beat up mate.

Its simply noise and distraction we dont need. You honestly think Kingy is shrugging the shoulders and having a giggle thinking how much of a beat up this is.

A rookie coach putting his best foot forward after making significant cultural changes in the off season and yet again we find ourselves in the news for the wrong reason one which is completely out of his hand, but its still negative press being placed upon us.

In the news.. oh yeah..

Think about it

My God... are you that dim ?

Daz...tis the off season.... time to grasp at straws mate.

Disregard the noise... it's fugazi !! 🤔🤣🤣🤣

( the irony eh )

Edited by beelzebub

2 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Thanks to the trackers.

Id like some insight into how Steven King is like at training. What's his demeanour like? Does he actively engage with the players? VPulls them aside, vocal. etc..

Thanks.

Yes he is actively involved and he has empowered his assistant coaches. The assistants do most of the instructiing of individual players. Certainly more hands on than his predecessor but then this is his first year. Certainly everyone is expected to turn up and look and act the part. Today he stood chatting with Viney during the warm up drills. A couple of weeks back he was first out with his son having a kick to kick. I have also seen him putting out the cones.

4 hours ago, Fritta and Turner said:

As I exited Richmond station and was walking towards Punt Rd a woman asked me what bus do you catch to the MCG? Was keen to answer 31 but.....

One thing I have noticed about training this year is that the coaches are setup and in position well before the players hit the track.

Very strong wind blowing across the ground.

TMc first out with the Roo.

Absent White, McAdam, Bowey and May. (Ghosty still on holidays)

Henderson not wearing a rehab outfit and got a massive cheer from the squad as he ran past the group.

Viney and Campbell in rehab tops; Viney watched on and Campbell walked. Everyone else in training gear.

Vineys brother conducted a wrestling/grappling drill. They do look alike.

CJ had some strange velcro bandage? on his leg for a very short time.

CJ, Kentfield, Petty, AMW, Melky, Steele, Salem sometimes ran the boundary

Rivers had some minor discussion with a trainer and did some extra drills.

Ed did some weird stretching exercise in the goal square which turned out to be 'watering the sands...'

Tom Matthews took part.

Chappy yelling out positioning advice to XT during a sim.

Fritta played like his opponent was Easton Wood.

Kossie is so good sometimes I reckon he should not participate in some of the sims.

Jeffo looking better and better at each training session. Playing with confidence.

As the kids are back at school the track watchers have a veteran look about them.

I like people that have eyes 👍

Good call

Edited by beelzebub

1 hour ago, old dee said:

Hmm thanks Kev. I don't think he will make it. I hope I am wrong.

I think his one good feature is that he looks a lot like the actor that played Les Norton in the T.V series

11 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:
10 hours ago, Demonland said:

Half court match SIM has started.

Kentfield and Petty not taking part and doing one on one work with a trainer.

AMW also not taking part.

Be interested to hear if:

1) Melksham has graduated into the main group (and what his issue actually is)

2) if Viney has made any any significant progress this week, or whether it’s looking likely he’s out for the early rounds.

3) How Salem is looking. Has he done a soft tissue injury?

we are doomed I can tell

1 hour ago, beelzebub said:

In the news.. oh yeah..

Think about it

( the irony eh )

It’s the 4th of Feb and we are already at the denial stage of the grief of the season.

2 hours ago, DubDee said:

I was not a fan of the trade at the time but getting Steele could be an absolute master stroke especially with Viney injured

Steele will turn a ten goal loss into an 8 goal loss

And I am being genuine

• Author
10 hours ago, chook fowler said:

must have employed the bombers fitness staff from the way things are going

I think that some players are being pulled from performing some of the more contact intensive drills not as a direct result of an injury or recovery from an injury (although this probably is the reason for some) but in an effort to manage certain "senior" players loads particularly on their bodies in high contact drills. Just an uneducated guess.

Lastly, leave Kade Chandler where he is. He is one of the few players in their prime playing well in a position that suits him. He is a penetrating kick and is a pro.

So that magnet stays where it is.

1 minute ago, rpfc said:

Lastly, leave Kade Chandler where he is. He is one of the few players in their prime playing well in a position that suits him. He is a penetrating kick and is a pro.

So that magnet stays where it is.

At Casey! Doesn't do enough for long enough, overated IMO

10 hours ago, thirty-one said:

Trelly is going to be an interesting pickup. He did some pretty nuts fending off and feinting during that last match sim.

Yer I saw that too. One of the most impressive things I’ve ever seen at training. He baulked and spun around about 4 or 5 players, sort of like Kosi but better and faster. The whole ground watching just gasped in shock. He’s going to be some thing special.

1 hour ago, picket fence said:

I think his one good feature is that he looks a lot like the actor that played Les Norton in the T.V series

High praise pf!

1 hour ago, beelzebub said:

( the irony eh )

We don't want any sort of noise though, bub

However ...

I doubt that Steven would have been a high priority for selection especially if we want to build a backline for the future (and there's plenty of candidates for the 3 tall backs required)

If anything, the decision has now been made easier (not picking him)

Remembering that he was told to look elsewhere in the off-season, so that doesn't mean he'd be assured of selection anyway. In fact, my reading of that is that he's playing in the 2's unless we get a rash of injuries

The watertight contract means the money is assured, but playing seniors?

And with the longer contracts being handed out League-wide, there are going to be plenty of veterans still contracted when their use-by date is expiring.

That's pro-sports

Apologies for the very late report:

Absent: May (now announced publicly) Bowey, McAdam (see below) and White (?).

Rehab - looking some time away, Bowey, McAdam (see above) Viney, Campbell (walking only in neck brace) and Henderson (although he began running today to a great cheer from the main group).

Rehab - but not too worried - Salem, CJ, Laurie, Melksham, Johnson.

Gawn, Matthews and Sharp back in business today and Rivers (as reported on) doing some work away from the group, but looks OK.

That leaves 38 of the 44 still fit and available if my "not too worried" boys come good.

Comments: MAY I agree that from what we have seen at training so far May was not in the first 23 anyway - TMac, Turner and Lever ahead - with Adams available if necessary.

AMW - seems to be following his program, reckon he plays on Feb 20, if not before, maybe in the intra-club.

Worry about small backs - see above re AMW, Howes, CJ and I still prefer Rivers back (given we have so many other mid-field options)

The interesting issue for me is whether anyone is moved to the LTI group pre-season. This time last year Culley was training the house down and he was lucky enough to take AMW's spot at the last moment. I did not see any train-on players there today....

2 hours ago, beelzebub said:

In the news.. oh yeah..

Think about it

( the irony eh )

Makes some sense first, then come back to me with a proper response. 👍

1 hour ago, Tex said:

Yer I saw that too. One of the most impressive things I’ve ever seen at training. He baulked and spun around about 4 or 5 players, sort of like Kosi but better and faster. The whole ground watching just gasped in shock. He’s going to be some thing special.

He takes Chandlers spot then

13 hours ago, Gorgoroth said:

No, it was a dumb trade before we got him and its a horrendous trade with what's transpired.